We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Butterburn

Butterburn
Ranked #39 of 116 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Bar
Restaurant details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Amazing time at the butterburn great food. Fantastic staff. Would highly recommend this place☺️ Xxxxx

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Az621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Arranged to meet a colleague here for a quiet drink and was delighted to get a great welcome from the staff and regulars alike. Very efficient service too.Will be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wee_monsieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Butterburn”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Went to the Butterburn for Mothers Day,We were told prior to going we had to book to avoid being turned away.Glad we did,Booked for 5pm for 4 people, the place was buzzing with activity,We gave our name were shown to our table then given a free glass of wine.The Service was amazing,while waiting for our food the waitress gave our Mother a gift,( which may I add my mum was delighted with ) The Choice on menu was one of the best We have ever had and the fact that this place didn't put prices up as other places do was a bonus. Can,t believe we got all our food plus gifts for £32.00 unbelievable WELL DONE THE BUTTERBURN ,Don,t know how you do it.The best value we have ever had .Will be back .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Nettie478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great all rounder!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Butterburn is, as someone else mentioned, the oldest pub in Hamilton. It has character and warmth and a good mixed crowd. The staff are always welcoming, and the food is great! There's many a whisky on the gantry for the enthusiast and plenty of options for those who are not!

Food: We've been a good few times on a Sunday and there's a deal running - 3 courses for £8 (cheaper for kids and senior citizens!). Where else would you get this? And the grub is great! Brilliant value, and great portion sizes!

There's music every second Saturday we were told, and occasionally on Thursday's and Sunday's - where a few local musicians have a jam session in the lounge. Yet to try but sounds like fun if you don't mind a Monday hangover!

Clientele is mixed - from wee old men to young couples. It's just a comfy wee boozer with great, friendly staff!

Love this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VMaxwell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

What a great place to come!spacious bar and great lounge!!met here with friends last week and always welcomed by friendly staff the owners are very nice!!

Will always come back can't see by this lovely pub with its beautiful hanging baskets!!

Keep up the good work

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smile_Happ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterburn also viewed

Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Butterburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing