We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was OK - great value Lunch menu”
Review of Cafe Eataliano

Cafe Eataliano
Ranked #3 of 114 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a family owned and run Italian Restaurant. We are very family friendly. Please feel free to call us for bookings and information. Thank you
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food was OK - great value Lunch menu”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

My hubbie and I turned up for lunch a few weeks ago - to be fair we didn't have a reservation and it was extremely busy and they did manage to fit us in - although the table felt like it was right in the middle of the restaurant which put us off at first but actually it wasn't too bad.

We ordered from the lunch menu which was great value - and good size portions. My husband got a pizza which he enjoyed but didn't love..it was slightly burnt underneath but not enough to complain. I ordered the lasagne - the sauce was lovely but the cheese on top a bit stodgy and cheap tasting.

We would return but I would perhaps try their a la carte menu which would be more expensive but the choice looked good and some dishes from there sounded lovely.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manio L, Manager at Cafe Eataliano, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you Jenny B for your review. I'm sorry that you had a few issues with your lunch. We are delighted that you will return and should you have any issues, please speak to your waiter/waitress so that we can sort the problem out as we are happy to change a dish if it is not to your liking. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    165
    50
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Lots of potential - need to work on their staff.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

After driving past the restaurant many times and wanting to visit we finally booked and went for their 3 course express lunch for a tenner which you can't knock. The decor of the place is great and the food fantastic value for money! Starter, main and dessert were all nice and we were certainly left satisfied. The down side was the constant attempts to 'up sell' - would you like a large drink? Another drink? How about another drink? and so on.... the worst one was when ordering sticky toffee pudding we were asked if we wanted ice cream with that? Naturally we said yes... only to find a nice extra £2 charge on our bill. When we indicated we were not pleased with this the staff member apologised, did not offer a refund, and then did not return our change assuming it was a 'tip'. Wasn't a large amount of money - however sometimes it is about principle.

Overall we felt the food was great value for money, however the constant attempt to get more cash out your wallet put us off. The place was busy so they really don't need to have that approach.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mr_and_Mrs_M_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manio L, Manager at Cafe Eataliano, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi Mr and Mrs M, thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us. However, I would like to clarify a couple of points. We do not employ sales staff, only waiting staff. It is their job to ask if you would like a large drink, if this is not what you would like, we have a medium drink size also. If your glass is empty, or nearly empty, it is only polite that we offer you another. If you do not want another, you can decline. Our lunch menu is £9.95 for 3 courses which as you said 'you can't knock it', is value for money. We do offer a variety of sweets on this menu, sticky toffee pudding is our most popular but a lot of customers like it with ice cream, and some don't. It is £1 for a scoop of ice cream which is also good value and again, you do not have to accept our offer. I apologise as the waiter should have advised the charge to you?I apologise again for you not getting your change, sometimes when it is busy, it can take longer than a few minutes as the supervisor may be dealing with another issue. I'm sure if you had come to reception, we could have cleared up the matter straight away. It is not our intention to get more cash out anybody's wallet, just that you have a pleasant dining experience with polite and attentive staff. We do hope that you can visit us again and see that that is not who we are. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is my favourite Italian restaurant. Totally authentic.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have eaten here a few times now. I rate this as one of the best restaurants I have eaten in outside Italy. The pizzas are delicious, so is the pasta. There is plenty of choice ( although maybe a few more interesting vegetarian pasta dishes wouldn't go amiss). My daughter, macaroni cheese expert, says they make the best she has ever eaten! The staff are always helpful and friendly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hantom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manio L, Manager at Cafe Eataliano, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi Hantom2, what a fantastic review and such complimentary words for our Pizzas, Pasta and kids macaroni cheese. If this helps, we make all our Pastas fresh in the kitchen. We would be delighted to make you a vegetarian pasta and we will do our best to add any vegetables and sauce you would like with it. We are always open to suggestions. Look forward to seeing you again and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our first visit to Eataliano and we were pleasently surprised. Food good with good selection on menu. Reasonably priced for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolbH1972CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manio L, Manager at Cafe Eataliano, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi Carol B, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad you came to visit us, enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good spot”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have eaten here a few times and the food is consistently good as are the staff. Mid price range and a nice selection the Italian tapas idea is great. Not sure about the Zebra though ( Mozzrella and back pudding) will be back and would recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teevoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manio L, Manager at Cafe Eataliano, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi Teevoss, thank you very much for your review. I'm not sure if you have tried the Zebra starter or have just seen it on the menu. It is one of our most popular starters. We look forward to seeing seeing you again and wish to thank you for recommending us. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Eataliano also viewed

Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Cafe Eataliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing