We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”

Peters Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 112 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The best restaurant in Hamilton. Been to most of the restaurants in Hamilton and after having the usual run of the mill food Peters was a very pleasant change.
We ordered from the set menu, 2 courses for £10.95. Excellent value for money and with a bottle of New Zealand wine just under £17 this was the icing on the cake !
Food freshly prepared unlike some with the freezer to the microwave type of cooking.
Very friendly chatty young waitresses
All in all a great night out, will certainly return

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    26
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Sorry but the King has no clothes on !”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Fans will hate me for this but just been to Peters tonite - for the 1st time - wont be back !
Heard so much about the place we arrived with high expectations. Surprised to find a sort of cafe type dining , no table cloths and although there were tea lights on the table none were ever lit.
We ordered a bottle of champagne which was nice but at no time did anyone offer to pour it. We were left to get on with it. Throughout the service was abrupt, sloppy and uncaring. Perhaps it was to do with the large table of 18 nearby. Only 2 people serving.
The food was, well , sort of average to poor. For a sea food restaurant the only fish on the menu for a main was Seabass or Salmon fillet(yawn). We thought this was a sea-food restaurant ? ?
My wife's Seabass came swimming in gravy , yes gravy not a sauce. My potatoes had so much garlic I'm safe from vampires for about 600 miles. Couldn't eat them.
Overall VERY disappointed in a place everyone seems to rave about. I don't do poor reviews, check my previous, but honestly, this place needs a shake up !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank as260478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small but great”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We booked for our 40th Anniversary and asked that they have oysters on the menu, and from when we arrived we were made very welcome. I was disappointed that they did not have oysters on the menu, only to be told they had 1 Dozen in for us. We also ordered the House champagne, only for Peter himself to come out and tell us he was giving us a free "upgrade " to Heidseick. the srevice was excellent and the food great, and as we live in Hamilton we will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing meal here. From start to finish staff could not do enough for us. My daughter always seems to want to change the menu and they accommodated everything she asked for without any problems. The surf and turf (lobster and fillet steak) was cooked to perfection. Can't wait to return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Had the most fantastic meal here! Food was amazing and staff were great. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great meal. Can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karamckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peters Seafood Restaurant also viewed

East Kilbride, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Peters Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing