We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Pir Mahal

Pir Mahal
Ranked #38 of 112 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Paid a quick visit a Friday night. I was aware of the 2 courses for £8.90 deal before 7pm but I'm sure the sign at the top of the stairs mentioned a buffet option too. However, no mention was made of this by the waiter as I was handed the 2 course menu or a la carte :S
I'm not a fan of the newish decor - too dark and lacking in atmosphere in my opinion.
The mixed pakora starter was freshly made and a decent sized portion. I waited a wee while for my main( although maybe seemed longer sitting on my own!). The portion of curry was sufficient and pretty hot for a tikka masala, but I felt there was not enough rice which was a pity considering the minimal cost .
The waiter asked if I was finished just as I took my final mouthful and I was asked by 2 waiters and the owner if I wanted tea/coffee ( a bit of overkill I think)
In fact, when I got home, I was still peckish and munched on some crisps!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coolhandluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    53
    9
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Never lets me down”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We are regular although not frequent visitors to the Pir Mahal. We chose the buffet alternative and we well pleased with what we were able to chose. It is always worth checking the other offers as well as there are often good deals available. Staff were friendly and attentive. It is a good middle of the road restaurant and it has certainly never let me down. I expect to be back again befroe too long.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airdrie scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Group on deal”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I feel pretty bad as i scored atmosphere as a 1, to be honest it was a friday at 2 and out of 20+ tables there were only 3 full. This was a group on deal and we probably wouldnt rush back. When we walked in the guy told us the buffet would be 5 mins, they then went and made it up fresh for just us. Nuts if they have asked we'd have chosen a meal instead of making a buffet for 2. The food itself was tasty enough and choice was good but experiance wise it wouldnt rate high on my list of fav places. The staff were helpful enough but the places lacks a spark.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank almercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“small portions”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Sorry pir mahal wife and I wont be coming back ,we have been regulars for many a year but your portions are just getting smaller and smaller,and your staff just change from week to week,sorry to say but a once good restaurant going downhill fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thebigfella007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Coped well enough in a power cut”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I do not know what I would award on a normal visit. This was certainly not normal as there was a power cut. I think they coped pretty well and think a 4 is in order but possibly generous. The food was lovely, service good in the circumstances, wine was of a good enough standard and toilets clean and in good order. We did not stay long, in and out buffet meal in under an hour. The darkness was not their fault.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L1NLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pir Mahal also viewed

Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Pir Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing