We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food - disappointing room!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Avonbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avonbridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Malmesbry
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food - disappointing room!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We reserved a room at the Avonbridge hotel for 1 night as we had to take my elderly Mum back to Hamilton after Christmas we called at the hotel and had an early supper - pasta all round,lasagne for Mum and I, Seafood Pasta for my husband. Thoroughly enjoyed by all, tasty and well cooked -looked like we'd made a good choice when booking a hotel.
We took Mum home and returned to the hotel and our room. How odd to be given the remote control for the tv along with our room key?? How disappointing! Room 17. Very small, could just about walk round the bed. Strange arrangement of multi coloured material at the top of the bed,however could only switch the bed side lights on or off from one side of the bed! I was on the side nearest the window and would have had to climb over to the other side to switch the light on or off! made me think that the room was really a single. This thought was reinforced by the fact that only 1 set of towels was in the room! To be fair, we very quickly received additional towels when we asked - just as well we noticed the shortage before using the bath or shower!
Breakfast was very good, nicely cooked to order, though coffee was served in a small tea pot so didn't stay hot,
Based on our experience of room 17, we wouldn't stay here again - but may well visit the restaurant when we're in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel were noisy due to traffic noise, but this did quiet down later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    102
    68
    20
    27
See reviews for
95
94
6
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

On arrival at the hotel it was gale force winds and heavy rain. There was very little parking at Reception but we managed to squeeze into a space. We were given our room key and remote control (first time for everything!) and told that we were in the Annex furthest away from the hotel called the Kirklands. We drove to the Annex where there was ample parking near the entrance. We had room 209 which was very big but that's the only plus point! I had booked an "executive room" and the only luxury was the dressing gowns! The room was very dated, the floor uneven (the wardrobe rattled as you walked past) and the bed (including pillows) was brick hard! The decor and furnishings were very dated and chinsy. The bathroom was down three or four stairs and was also dated. However, the shower was powerful and hot in the morning. We had pizza and drinks in the Milano Bar which was nice but we ended up driving round because of the weather. If walking its really not that far.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel unless they spent a bit of time and money modernising it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueldocDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed for one night whilst in Scotland on business. Room was clean and comfortable. Nice bar area with sofas etc. Reception staff helpful. Large on site car park. Free wifi that was easy to log into. Would always consider this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed for one night last week on business, this hotel is ideally placed for visiting Glasgow, but far enough away to be calm, and peaceful.

On entering I was pleasantly surprised, everything seemed really nice, the booking in process was not very good the receptionist was not at all friendly, just seemed to want to get rid of me, did not even ask if i would like to book a table for dinner, so i popped in to town to eat, just hears your key, and your room is that way....., a smile is free after all.

The room was just great, nice size, with crisp clean bed linen, and lots of tea and coffee, even small biscuits.
The best bit was the bathroom, complete with the jacuzzi bath, nice soft towels, and piping hot water.
The only down side to the room was it looked out on to a cut through for the staff, so I had to keep the curtains closed, and they were not participially quite at times, but I had a really good night sleep.

The breakfast was great, nice fresh food served, and lots of selection well worth the money, the only down side if you stay on business don't expect an early start, breakfast don't start till 7.15am, could do with being a bit earlier.

Over all a nice stay in a comfy hotel,.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for the 2nd time last week, the rooms are not massive but they are comfortable, the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

The star is the food, the restaurant could hold it’s own without the hotel but it is an added bonus having such quality there waiting for you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked this hotel as a stopover on our way to the islands.

Easy check in after a long trip up the M6. Room warm and clean.

Lovely meal in the restaurant - good, simple food done well.

What more could we want? Nothing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here while working in Cambuslang for a few days. Very convenient and an excellent value. This place provides nearly all of the mandatory items for a great stay - comfortable bed, hot/strong shower, good towels, flat screen TV, spacious room. Restaurant is a big plus - the menu has a lot of variety, so you could eat dinner here all week and not get bored with the menu. Breakfast is free! Also a sports bar on site. Only negatives (minor) - (1) no US channels on TV; (2) automatic bathroom fan ran way too long before shutting off, so I had to get a hanger from the closet to reach up to the switch on the ceiling-mounted fan and turn it off; and (3) the ironing board was one of those mini ones you put on the bed, except the cord wouldn't reach to the bed, so I had to balance the ironing board on the two arms of a chair. I read a previous review about Room 12 not being a good room. Check out my photos - no problems at all!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you want quiet. If your room is above the function room, make sure there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
3.2 mi away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
605 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
417 reviews
4.3 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonbridge Hotel

Property: Avonbridge Hotel
Address: Carlisle Road, Hamilton ML3 7DB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avonbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Avonbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avonbridge Hotel Hamilton
Avonbridge Hotel Hamilton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing