We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great walks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatelherault

Chatelherault
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great walks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

From walking your dog, to tiring the kids out to your hardened ramblers....this place is perfect. Yes you kind of need a car to get to it but it attracts a different clientele to the likes of strathclyde park. There's no boy racers or show rides just a great park for the kids. My son loved and ayed for hours. My mum regularly walks here and gets a great workout from the up and down hill treks. A place you'll return to faithfully.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mrandmrssxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    116
    24
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An iteresting piece of Hamiltons history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Lovely walks in the park a good cafe and enjoyable displays.The river gorge is very scenic especially in the winter.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We visited the cafe whilst waiting for Fraser who was at his cycling club in the grounds. I was amazed at the facilities - food was amazing and the visitor centre is interesting. I have lived in this area all my life and didn't know this was here behind the big house. I've walked and cycled the many forest trails before which are beautiful. A great outdoor experience with a fabulous cafe/restaurant nestled behind the house. The slopes in front of the house are great for sledging when there's snow!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishMarvins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real Lanarkshire asset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Paths link to Strathclyde park and Clyde walkway, varied path lengths to suit any walk or run in in a stunning location.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BillHart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The surrounding area has lovey walks for the dogs and afterwards you can visit the nice tearoom with for some hot soup - also has a shop with interesting goodies.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank pollySccotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatelherault also viewed

 
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Lanark, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Chatelherault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing