We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quids Inn”
Review of Days Inn Hamilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Hamilton
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Easington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quids Inn”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Now, as you may see from my few, yet honest reviews, I'm not one to throw mercy upon people but I do give credit where credits due!

The days inn Hamilton is a prime example of this.

You get exactly what you pay for, that you cannot grume or argue with!

It's a nice little place, easy to get to (if you're coming from the south) and its a half decent location in relation to Glasgow!

The rooms themselves were clean, neat and tidy, it had its own kettle and coffees/teas etc which you can fill your boots with. It's own hair dryer and freebies TV etc.

The beds were crisp and clean, well made.

The location itself isn't too bad if you're driving around the are, however as we only went for the one night we, being me and the girlfriend, decided to taxi in.

The receptionist was more than helpful giving us hints and tips as to where to go into Glasgow and she even called the taxi for us!

It cost £17 in which is a fixed fee by a local taxi firm called wellman cars.

BE WARNED! (Not about the days inn so don't panic!)

If you're staying there for a gig at hampden park it will take you AT LEAST 3 HOURS to get a taxi back. Complete gridlock. We had the small mercy of warmish weather and a stroke of luck in a taxi as his care was a no show. My word of advice is to head into the city centre and go for a few beers once its over because there is sweet FA in hampden with the exception of merry Glasweigians!

To conclude: worth a stay if its only short.

Now don't get me wrong; it's no Hilton, but it is a good stay if you're stuck for a place to stay!

Thanks in advance!

Adam & Anne-Marie

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamBentham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    76
    48
    28
    14
See reviews for
72
69
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

PROS: Reception is extremely nice and helpful. Theres a big shopping centre 10 minutes walk away with everything you could possibly need. My room was large and you cant hear the highway. parking on site, free Wifi in the rooms, 12noon checkout. Cons: No soap/ shampoo in the bathroom, the sofa bed was badly stained with god-knows what, torn/ fraying etc, it looked like they got it off the side of the road on council clean up day. The room was a little dark, even with all lights turned on, and breakfast is extra - they charge 7.50 for a 10 pound food voucher at the Road Chef next door, however, if youre travelling alone, its cheaper without the voucher! ask reception for directions to the local resturants instead. Lastly, theres not much around, this is really just an overnight stop for a bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillycorleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton D, Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not 100% happy with your stay.The team strive to exceed customer expecations, and we are aware that some of the rooms could do with refurbishment but the housekeepers work very hard to keep the rooms spotlessly clean. I do hope this will not deter you from staying again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed here early January and enjoyed the stay. I had booked the room via the Roadchef website and got an excellent discount rate. The room was basic, however it was clean and tidy with all bedding and towels in good condition whilst there was very little noise from the motorway during the night. Discount vouchers are available from reception for use in the main building and the breakfast was not too bad. Overall it was a good stay and I would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton D, Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We have lots of different discounts / promotions throughout the year, so keep checking our website when you want to stay , and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My friend and I shared a twin room which had exceptionally comfortable beds. The rooms were clean as was the en-suite. Reception staff very friendly and attentive. I am a great believer of you get what you pay for but this was a really surprisingly good experience.

Well done Days Inn

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkvokes75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton D, Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

This Days Inn is a little shabby in places but the most important thing the bed was very comfy. For £25.00 you cant complain however, Services shuts at 22:00 so if you arrive after your screwed for some food. If you like posh then not for you but if its just a place to kip to break a long journey then its just the job.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttynoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton D, Manager at Days Inn Hamilton, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with usand liked your comfy bed. The services do shut at 22:00 but the reception team can provide you with details of local restaurants and take- aways, which still serve food late at night. I do hope you choose to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Days Inn Hamilton for one night in July on the way to Scotland. It is a bit run down, the beds uncomfortable. However he receptionist was friendly. There was no tv remote in the room. There was no phone in the room so my husband had to go to reception then keep his eye on the reception whilst the receptionist went to another room to fetch one. There was a sign on the bathroom door that kept falling off. We weren't sure if the smoke alarm was working as there wasn't a light that was flashing. We purchased the evening meal and breakfast deal - not recommended. The meals at Road Chef were cheap and poor a lot cheaper than the Days Inn vouchers. After breakfast we went for a walk and found a Pizza Hut and Burger King within a 10 minute walk - suggest you eat there. Insult to injury came about 4 weeks later when we got a parking fine of £80 for overstaying the 2 hour parking limit. When we arrived at Days Inn we asked the receptionist if she needed our number plate and she said "no, we know you are staying with us". It took hours of sorting this out as there were no contacts apart from where to pay. Eventually Road Chef sorted this out for us and we did not have to pay. Don't think we will stay here again unless everywhere else was full.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stonewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Days Inn Hamilton last night and rather tired today! When we arrived, the friendly receptionist said hotel full of people attending a dog show. The soundproofing wasn't great - we could clearly hear people talking in the corridor outside, doors slamming, and other guests' barking dogs, flushing toilets and TVs. We had booked a room for three adults but only the double bed was made up and we had to ask for linen to be provided for the sofa bed. This was provided promptly, but the duvet we were given for the sofa bed had no cover (not v hygienic!). Both soap dispensers in the bathroom were either not working properly or were empty. The double bed mattress was very uncomfortable, sagged heavily in the middle and was very thin with little support - not recommended for people with achy joints or bad backs. Our room overlooked the access road at the back of the hotel, so we were woken up by trucks roaring past down to the lorry park, all through the night.
On the positive side, the free wi-fi internet access was quick and easy to use and very helpful to have.
We booked the room through a special offer, so did not pay the full rate. Had we paid full rate I would have been tempted to ask for some money back; as it is, we definitely won't be staying at this hotel again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank theevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
367 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#8 of 9 in Motherwell
128 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hamilton

Property: Days Inn Hamilton
Address: M74 Northbound | Roadchef Motorway Svc Area, Hamilton ML3 6JW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Days Inn Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hamilton Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing