We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place in the heart of Hamilton”
Review of Clydesdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clydesdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited here after winning a comp sponsored by them on Facebook.
Prices are very good, food is great and staff and owner were very nice to meet and speak too. I recommend the burger!
The hotel itself is very stylish and modern.
Will be returning again soon.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Clydesdale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 98 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

I recently had the oportunity to dine in this restaraunt of this hotel with a few girlfriends we had starter dinner and sweet the lady behind the bar was so helpful ann was her name nothing was a problem the meal was outstanding delious fantastic these were the comments from the table then the sweet well we thought heaven sticky toffee pudding we all thought this was tremendous we asked to speak to the chef we thought gordon ramsey would be walking out but to our suprise when a lovely lady walked out to a loud clapping janet thank you for our wonderful dinner we hope too see you again so if you are ever in the clydesdale you wont be let down too ann and janet happy xmas from the girls

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexander w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend and couldn't fault a thing. From the moment we walked in the door, even though we were, a couple of hours early, our room was ready, there was no waiting around, we could go straight to our room. Room 8 at the side was nice and quiet, nice room, shower and complementary tea and coffee and a tv in the room. The bed was comfortable. We went for a wander to find out where the train station was --only 5 mins away which was good as were going into Glasgow the next day. We later ate in the hotel and had a very good meal with plenty of choice and a good price as well. We had a good breakfast the next morning cooked to order which set us up for the day. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful and we will not hesitate to stay here again when we visit Glasgow

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCCCDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was in Glasgow for the weekend and did not want to pay the high prices of city centre hotels. Therefore staying here was convenient as it was only 20-25 minutes on the train to the centre of Glasgow (with around four trains per hour) and the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Hamilton West train station. My welcome at the hotel was good and the restaurant looked to be popular and with prices very reasonable. The bedroom was great. Everything worked as it should. Shower was excellent. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable I have slept in recently, so top marks for that. Free wifi worked well. In the morning, breakfast was rather a limited selection of cereals (no fruit or yoghurt), but the cooked 'full Scottish breakfast' was freshly made, hot and filling. Toast seemed rationed (four half pieces on Sunday, but only two on Monday!). Overall, the stay was good value for money, handy for the train station and with a really, really comfortable bed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hisimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A great little friendly hotel, ideally situated for the railway station (Hamilton West) and ameneties. Friendly staff, good vlaue. I would recommend it, but be carefull not to take the room key home with you as there is a hefty penalty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bayblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding in Hamilton for two nights. We only needed a place to crash, so decided to come here. I genuinely believe we got more than we paid for, so would suggest it's good value for money. Great staff and friendly welcome. Clean rooms, good bed and hearty cooked breakfast. They even have a great draft beer! Would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkWirralW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed three nights at the Clydesdale recently on one of my 'rail bashing' trips of Scottish railways. Hamilton is a convenient place to stay if travelling to the Glasgow area as National Express coaches stop there. The hotel is a five minute taxi drive from the bus station, (which is located adjacent to Hamilton Central train station), and is a five minute walk to Hamilton West train station which has frequent services to Glasgow Central. My single room (No 6) on ground level contained a very comfortable single bed, plenty of bathroom space, a flat screen tv with Freeview channels and the usual tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits. The cooked breakfast was tasty and adequate although the choice of cerials was limited, (no Weetabix!), whilst I would have appreciated a fresh fruit salad!. The bar area was convivial and the staff were very friendly. I tried one of their evening meals, Cajun chicken which was very tasty. As an alternative to the large chain hotels in Glasgow this hotel is ideal and I would certainly stay there again.
.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaddersCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
229 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
1.8 mi away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clydesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydesdale Hotel

Address: 12 Clydesdale Street | South Lanarkshire, Hamilton ML3 0DP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range: $76 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clydesdale Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Run Hotel where guests are made to feel welcome. Ideal location for both motorway links and public transport. Few minutes walk to UWS and Hamilton Park Racecourse. On the same street as Hamilton West Train Station. Retail Park, Pubs and Restaurants all a few minutes walk from Hotel. Ideal for visiting Strathclyde Country Park, Hamilton Museum, Chaterlerhault Country Park etc. If you would like to shop in Glasgow but stay somewhere quieter our hotel is the ideal location. You are only 20 minutes by train to Glasgow City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Clydesdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clydesdale Hotel Hamilton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing