We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Clydesdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clydesdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hamilton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the room was compact but cute and the breakfast was good. I would definitely stay there again!
Less than 5 mins walk from the university.
Also had dinner there which I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy_travel37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    34
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
19
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Our usual hotels were fully booked due to an event so we had to take what was available but were sorely disappointed.

On going up to the room the numbers were scrawled on pieces of paper and sellotaped to the doors.

In the rooms we opened the wardrobe to find it was general dumping ground rather than space for the obligatory spare blanket.

Old tv brackets were left on the walls as well as an arial hanging dubiously from a corner.

Pulling back our net curtains we weren't expecting an exceptional view but equally neither were we expecting the can of lager from a previous resident...!

Room dated and could be much improved. Definitely would stay at the cheaper premier inn or such as much cleaner and better value!!! Would never book again.

On a positive note, the food was to a high standard and the people running the show were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lemons21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I have just had Christmas lunch at this hotel. I have not stayed here but those I have referred to this hotel have given it nothing but praise. The lunch was exactly as I expect from this hotel fresh, wholesome and very appetising. I have never had a bad experience at this hotel. The portions are definitely not meagre. Everytime I go, I am 4 ft 10 ins and I get a meal that would satisfy a 6ft person. What is especialy good though is the 3ft price. Seriously though the meals have very generous portions and are very reasonably priced. The service is very good. Usually a little wait for the main course but that is because your meal is freshly cooked after you place your order and brought immediately to your table. Well worth the wait. The staff are very pleasant with a good sense of humour. I would certainly go back and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If you are in Hamilton - this is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I was to start a new contract with the Council and the Council building is literally across the road from the hotel. Stayed here for a week till I moved in my apartment.
I had initially booked the room for 5 days but was given 2 days extension at the same cost without any hassle.
Breakfast: Great, lots of cereal variety, served hot eggs (omelette, sunny side up) prepared fresh on order.
Dinner: Good options, chef's specialty - lentil&herb soup was a winner. Chicken goujons tasted great.
Entrance to the rooms is via the pub & restaurant, but rooms are absolutely quiet. All rooms are no smoking, clean with well maintained bathrooms and towels + bed linen provided.

It was my first visit to Scotland and the week long stay was hassle free and lovely.
Hotel is quite near to the town center (Cab takes 5 mins & 3 quids), to McDonalds, Hamilton West Station (3 mins walk), other eating options across the Council building and the motorway.

I will recommend this hotel to all visitors :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BipulShukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Good location and very friendly welcome. The Hotel provided me with a half way stop over and had all I needed for the stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night & found the room was clean & looked like it had been newly decorated. The staff were nice & friendly.The breakfast was very nice & had plenty of everything, there was a choice of cereals & a cooked breakfast. The only complaint was that the walls must be paper thin as i was woken at 1.30am by the noises of an amorous couple next door. But for £39 its worth it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKARLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Staff were very friendly & helpful.
Food is excellent & great value.
Location good, 2min walk from train station & 5mins off the M74.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arena1875Ayrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
221 reviews
1.6 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
430 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clydesdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydesdale Hotel

Property: Clydesdale Hotel
Address: 12 Clydesdale Street | South Lanarkshire, Hamilton ML3 0DP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clydesdale Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Run Hotel where guests are made to feel welcome. Ideal location for both motorway links and public transport. Few minutes walk to UWS and Hamilton Park Racecourse. On the same street as Hamilton West Train Station. Retail Park, Pubs and Restaurants all a few minutes walk from Hotel. Ideal for visiting Strathclyde Country Park, Hamilton Museum, Chaterlerhault Country Park etc. If you would like to shop in Glasgow but stay somewhere quieter our hotel is the ideal location. You are only 20 minutes by train to Glasgow City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Clydesdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clydesdale Hotel Hamilton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing