We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prestwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prestwick Holiday Park
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Basic”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It was most basic caravan park for tourers. Toilet block is frozen cold and doesnt even have a power point or installed hair dryer and you dont know which is ladies and gents as it has nothing on doors to tell you . washing is outside with no cover which is useless for scottish weather.The walk from the front of the house which is where you pitch to toilets at night is on heavy gravel up side of house and is very dark ,,,,really not the best.
Pitching at front ofthe main house on a slope so close to each other is not great. You hear everything from caravan to caravan mmmmm sometimes tooo much.
There is no park for children at all so they get bored in nano time.
I would only use this park as a last resort or stand by , really could do with an update on the touring side of things.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elaine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We bought our first camper van at the weekend and were eager to try it out, so sadly we could only stay for one night due to hubby being back at work - we would have loved to stay longer. We turned up at 9pm without booking, expecting that we would not be able to stay here. We had to call the out of hours number as the reception was closed, but we were given a warm welcome and the guy was very helpful. He told us on the phone where to park, and gave us a knock later on to collect the money and give us the keys for the loos. The facilities were spotless, there was a laundry and an outside drying area, and plenty of room on our pitch to sit out and enjoy the good weather. Prestwick is very close by with lots of shops and cafes, and there are nice walks and views round about. Anyone complaining about the aeroplane noise really needs to think about where the site is situated (right next to the airport which is a slight clue that you'll hear planes!) - our son loved watching them and the noise was only through the day not at night so didn't cause any bother at all. We will definitely be back here, it was £20 well spent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Babycham1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Had a great time in touring caravan(which we are new to)Toilet facilities spotless,good laundry facilities,right on beach,shop for emergencies or you have option of 10 min walk along beach to prestwick wee bar(not open all the time which is not a bad thing)lovely grouinds,staff there if you need them but not in your face overall a very relaxing place to be

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laranurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed at a static caravan for a weekend with our kids. Where the site is nice being near the beach which is good for kids but it was very noisy with planes going over every hour during the day and we got woken up early with a very large cargo plane landing at the nearby airport. We went to reception to ask a question but it was never open and we did ring the number it said to call and spoke to a very unhelpful and rude man whom we take is the site owner. Overall it was not worth the money that we paid and we were not impressed with the attitude of the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pixie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prestwick hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamilton, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We've just a lovely weekend in our touring caravan at this site. The site itself is spotless, very well maintained grounds. The shower/toilet block is dated, but again spotless and well looked after. As we were slightly off season, the shop wasn't open but the small onsite bar was open on the Saturday night. There are lot of statics and seasonal tourer pitches with a walled garden area for touring vans.

You're at the end of Prestwick Airport runway, so my husband and two year old had great fun spotting the occasional airoplane (roughly 10 in total per day).

You can walk into town in about 15-20 mins, 5 minute walk to Prestwick beach, a little further up to Troon beach. On one side of the site is Royal Troon golf courses 8th hole and on the other Prestwick golf course.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonysmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beith
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We booked this Caravan for September weekend. I personally was quoted £120 by the girl over the telephone and on arrival was advised the van was £150.00. As i had two children with me i could not do anything about this as they were exicted about their wee holiday.

On arrival at the "Caravan", it was damp, musty smelling and air fresheners in every room (presumably to disguise the musty , damp smell) there was water leaking from the shower. The children could not be showered as the water was "hot" all the time. On going to "Reception" to complain about this catalogue of events, it appeared to be locked must of the time and, as we had two 4 year olds we could not wait around indefinitely, nor did we want confrontation.

There was also no Gas in the van and my husband had to go to advise the Reception of this, who after a few hours came to attend to this, again, we had two very excited children and could do nothing on arrival to entertain them until we had "Gas".

On the morning of departure the electricity was "off" at 9am, leaving me and my family, especially the children with wet hair, not to mention we could not have a cup of tea/coffee or a proper breakfast with the children. We had to go into Prestwick for a breakfast.

The site itself had a shop, which again, was locked on several occasions when we had the occasion to visit it.

Taking all of the above into consideration, I could not and would not recommend this particular site.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Angry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

lovely family run caravan park very safe,quiet and peaceful..

Helpful?
Thank katiebaby52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
1.2 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 6 in Prestwick
615 reviews
2.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 6 in Prestwick
656 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
6.6 mi away
Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestwick Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestwick Holiday Park

Property: Prestwick Holiday Park
Address: | One mile north of Prestwick Airport, route signposted on left of the A79, Prestwick KA9 1UH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Prestwick
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star Thistle Award Holiday Park. 17 fully serviced touring pitches £20 per night. 3 Hire units and 140 owner occupied Holiday Homes. The Mansion House has two self catering apartments. South Wing with kitchen, family bathroom, King Room, Double Room and a Twin Room. North Wing with kitchen, family bathroom, Double Room and Twin Room. Internal connecting door - apartments can be booked singly or together -Minimum of three nights. The Park Bar is friendly, has coal fire, the Sport on the TV, WIFI and entertainment at the weekend. The Park is set between Old Prestwick and Royal Troon Golf Courses. It is on the cycle path. Has access to Troon beach and Prestwick beach, which are both blonde and sandy, great for walking. Local amenities, sailing, body boarding,walking, cycling, golf. Great local bars and restaurants. Amazing views over the Firth of Clyde to Goatfell and the Island of Arran. Spectacular sun sets and dark skys at night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prestwick Holiday Park Hotel Prestwick
Prestwick Holiday Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing