We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Previous Reviews Are Correct!----First Class B&B”
Review of Dormie House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dormie House
Ranked #3 of 17 Prestwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Previous Reviews Are Correct!----First Class B&B”
Reviewed November 16, 2007

Stayed for two nights attending a wedding in Troon.Bedroom was excellent clean ,comfortable bed ,fresh decor also very good ensuite with strong shower Guest lounge also of a very high standard spacious with good quality furniture Sky tv/dvd and access to a laptop and bar furniture.Breakfast was of a similar high standard.The owners were also very helpful and friendly without being obtrusive Even provided transport to and from the wedding.All in all it would be very hard to better this B&B

  • Liked — Very high standards achieved by owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank true bleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
65
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

We can't fault our one night here, and would encourage people to stay longer! Peter & Marilyn were kindness itself and everything [including a computer for guests' sole use] has been thought of, from a welcoming pot of tea to transport from the station and to the airport. It's quiet, even though in the middle of town, extremely comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Goodness knows what you'd pay for a hotel like this.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Jeanbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

From the moment we were picked up, to the moment we were dropped off at the airport, the service we received from our hosts Peter and Marilyn was first class. We arrived to coffee being served in there lovely lounge room and from that moment knew we were in for a treat. Our room with a lovely en-suite was 5 STAR material, the breakfasts served up by Marilyn were exceptional with such a great choice. Peter's enthusiasm for golf and knowledge of the local area made our first trip to Scotland that more enjoyable. All in all, we came back with nothing but positives from our stay at the Dormie House in Prestwick and I am sure we will return at some point in the future.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Simm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dindad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2007

The owner, Peter, was happy to meet us at the railway station (or Prestwick Airport, if we had arrived that way). At the guest house we met Marilyn who made us feel quite at home and settled us into our room which was bright and fresh and more than comfortable.
Marilyn and Peter helped us find a restaurant for our evening meal and plan our itinerary for the following day, including a round of golf at Troon. We were really spoilt for choice in both areas.
Since they were so accomodating, for us, the pressure was off and we wereable to enjoy our break to the full.
I cant rate The Dormie House highly enough.

  • Liked — We were really made to feel at home and, since there are only a few rooms, we felt that we were looked after as individuals without being intruded upon. And the breakfast was great.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything anoying.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwch , Norfolk, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2007

My daughter was playing in a tennis tournament and we booked at The Dormie House as it is immediately next to the tennis centre . Well, what a find . This is a newly opened guest house (B&B ) with everything in pristine condition with all you could reasonably hope for guest comfort , including a guest lounge with Sky television , computer access , games, and small pool /snooker table . There was an excellent breakfast and the hosts , Peter and his wife , we helpful and attentive without being intrusive .The premises are set back away from the road and therefore very quiet. It was certainly good value for money and we would definately stay there again if returning to that area . Although we went for tennis , it was obviously geared up for golfers as well.

  • Liked — The quality of the accomodation and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolmpartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
0.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 6 in Prestwick
651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 6 in Prestwick
608 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormie House

Property: Dormie House
Address: 1A Mansfield Road, Prestwick KA9 2DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Prestwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormie House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful modern, bright 4 star B&B with ample private parking, in peaceful location 10 mins walk from High St restaurants. All rooms are twins/doubles, and fully en suite and tastefully decorated. Wifi throughout, self-serve Bar facility, snooker/pool. Local Transport available. Perfect base for small touring parties of 2-6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Dormie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormie House Prestwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing