We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great service, friendly staff, would stay again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prestwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel
Save
You added Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Prestwick
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service, friendly staff, would stay again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed for one night because of early flight. I think reading the other reviews that the hotel must have been taken over 'cos it seemed totally the opposite. In fact if I had read the reviews B4 booking I wouldn't have bothered. Small mix up in restaurant when paying the bil as we ordered from the menu in room (Bar Menu - cheaper prices) but this was honured when paying, I think dining options should have been explained on arrival to save embarassment. Staff really friendly and very helpfull. Family room good size, no window to open ( patio doors that opened onto a flat roof locked, obvoiusly for safety ) but fan supplied. only thing didn't like was carpet in bathroom, never a good idea and decor in bathroom a little tired looking. General decor and cleanliness was to a high standard. Would stay again. Pricing structure seems to have changed so now parking is extra. Still a big Thank you to all staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelqueen1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    1
    2
    7
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

My partner and i stayed here after returning from a trip to paris.
We booked at the last minute late in the evening without any hassle.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The room was very nice and well appointed.
Bed extremely comfortable.
The next morning they shuttled us to the train station free of charge.
Yes we did have to head up the road to another site to stay but it was the nicest we room with ensuite. Full wall mirrors also a plus!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

Booked here but like other reviewers was shunted on to absolutely dire accomodation (North Beach Hotel I believe - really just a doss house for workers in Indian restaurants). There would appear to be a cartel operating to rip off customers overnighting for the airport. Best use the Travel Lodge I guess

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkHibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prestwick hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
st marten
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

Friendly staff, warm welcome.. Stayed in a lovely room with a huge bed, with a massive plasma !! Excellent breakfast before being collected and taked the short drive to Prestwick airport. Lovely Hotel and very convinient.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank homesickscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

Family of Five
Booking - DIFFICULT; average; easy
Location - isolated; rural; SUBURBAN; urban
Noise - LOUD; noisy; silent
Safety - dangerous; unsafe; SAFE; secure
Cleanliness - filthy; uncean; CLEAN; immaculate
Water Pressure - LESS THAN DESIRABLE; desirable; high
Reliability - dishonest; UNRELIABLE; reliable; trustworthy
Bathroom - xs; SMALL; medium; large; xl
Breakfast - bad; good; EXCELLENT
Comments - Similar to other reviewers, we didn't receive the room we booked. Booking on line wasn't possible for some reason, and the booking clerk refused to give a confirmation number via telephone (this should've been enough to steer us away). We booked a family room (double and three singles thru the Manor Park Hotel) but were given a double and two singles at the Muir house (" a sister hotel" less than a hundred yards away) upon arrival. The receptionist made no hint of an apology and refused to agree to a discount despite the lesser accommodation and proof of reservation. Would not stay here again and would not recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyOfFiveGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

Like most other customers of this hotel, we booked a room for a one night stay prior to our flight from Prestwick Airport early the next day.

The website gave the impression that all accommodation was in the hotel but when we arrived we were told that we were booked into the Manor Park, a sister hotel across the road.

When we got to the Manor Park we were told that it was full and we would be staying in the Old Course Hotel in Prestwick. However, we were told that we had to leave our car at Manor Park becasue the Old Course wasn't part of the same hotel group.

By the time we got to the Old Course the restaurant had closed and no food was available.

We found out that our experience was fairly typical and we were the second family to be moved around that evening.

The man on reception at Manor Park was pleasant and smiled thoughout the time that he gave us the bad news.

We felt conned by the website and we didn't get the service that we paid for.

Take my advice, use the Travel Lodge up the road.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go there
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeHarperAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

I made a booking in Muirhouse Lodge by telephone. On arrival, we were informed that rooms were not available, and we were booked into another hotel 30 minutes drive away. As this did not suit us, we refused the booking and went elsewhere. However, when I received my American Express statement, I discovered not only that my account had been debited, but that the date of the debit was ONE WEEK BEFORE our intended stay at the Lodge. Although I tried to contact Mr McKnight by telephone numerous times, he was never available, and did not return my calls.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank DOBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr/Prestwick Airport Hotel
1.4 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 7 in Prestwick
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 7 in Prestwick
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
3.6 mi away
Western House Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel

Property: Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel
Address: Kilmarnock Road | Monkton, Prestwick KA9 2RJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Prestwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Muirhouse Hotel Country
Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel Prestwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing