We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Prestwick
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arrived in evening only to find they had "lost" our reservation. As they had done with the man before us who had confirmed the previous day. After 30 minutes of "faffing around" the manager led us by car to another hotel as an alternative - it was a total flea pit and the owner tried to squeeze a higher charge out of us. Very disappointing.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris7g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 15 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2011

Room was large and clean, was definitely not luxurious but was comfortable for an early morning flight. Would stay again, free parking was excellent! Room only cost £29 for the night.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed for one night because of early flight. I think reading the other reviews that the hotel must have been taken over 'cos it seemed totally the opposite. In fact if I had read the reviews B4 booking I wouldn't have bothered. Small mix up in restaurant when paying the bil as we ordered from the menu in room (Bar Menu - cheaper prices) but this was honured when paying, I think dining options should have been explained on arrival to save embarassment. Staff really friendly and very helpfull. Family room good size, no window to open ( patio doors that opened onto a flat roof locked, obvoiusly for safety ) but fan supplied. only thing didn't like was carpet in bathroom, never a good idea and decor in bathroom a little tired looking. General decor and cleanliness was to a high standard. Would stay again. Pricing structure seems to have changed so now parking is extra. Still a big Thank you to all staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelqueen1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

My partner and i stayed here after returning from a trip to paris.
We booked at the last minute late in the evening without any hassle.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The room was very nice and well appointed.
Bed extremely comfortable.
The next morning they shuttled us to the train station free of charge.
Yes we did have to head up the road to another site to stay but it was the nicest we room with ensuite. Full wall mirrors also a plus!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

Booked here but like other reviewers was shunted on to absolutely dire accomodation (North Beach Hotel I believe - really just a doss house for workers in Indian restaurants). There would appear to be a cartel operating to rip off customers overnighting for the airport. Best use the Travel Lodge I guess

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
1  Thank CorkHibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

Friendly staff, warm welcome.. Stayed in a lovely room with a huge bed, with a massive plasma !! Excellent breakfast before being collected and taked the short drive to Prestwick airport. Lovely Hotel and very convinient.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank homesickscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2007

Family of Five
Booking - DIFFICULT; average; easy
Location - isolated; rural; SUBURBAN; urban
Noise - LOUD; noisy; silent
Safety - dangerous; unsafe; SAFE; secure
Cleanliness - filthy; uncean; CLEAN; immaculate
Water Pressure - LESS THAN DESIRABLE; desirable; high
Reliability - dishonest; UNRELIABLE; reliable; trustworthy
Bathroom - xs; SMALL; medium; large; xl
Breakfast - bad; good; EXCELLENT
Comments - Similar to other reviewers, we didn't receive the room we booked. Booking on line wasn't possible for some reason, and the booking clerk refused to give a confirmation number via telephone (this should've been enough to steer us away). We booked a family room (double and three singles thru the Manor Park Hotel) but were given a double and two singles at the Muir house (" a sister hotel" less than a hundred yards away) upon arrival. The receptionist made no hint of an apology and refused to agree to a discount despite the lesser accommodation and proof of reservation. Would not stay here again and would not recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FamilyOfFiveGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
1.4 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr/Prestwick Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 5 in Prestwick
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
St. Andrews Hotel
St. Andrews Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
63 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
203 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel

Address: Kilmarnock Road | Monkton, Prestwick KA9 2RJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Prestwick
Hotel Class:3 star — Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muirhouse Hotel Country
Muirhouse Lodge Country Hotel Prestwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing