We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky decor, friendly service and lovely food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murrays

Murrays
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Prestwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quirky decor, friendly service and lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This was my third visit to Murray's and my first since becoming a mum and having a pushchair with me. The cafe is quite small so we folded the pram wheels and left them in the entrance and took the baby into the cafe in his car seat. The owner was really friendly and helpful. We had soup/sandwich, coffees and cake - all very tasty and nicely presented. I love the decor - the vintage china on display, selection of cook books to read and quirky furniture. The staff were really helpful setting up the changing station when I needed to change baby's nappy. Fab cafe - well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PMcG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    15
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not big but BRILLIANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

A small comfortable restaurant that supplies excellent food, served by very helpful staff. The first thing you feel is the welcoming atmosphere and then the smell of freshly baked scones, A welcome from any of the staff and a seat in very quaint surroundings. Nothing is to much trouble and if its not on the menu ask cause if its in the fridge you can have it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't tell too many people.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have visited Murray's probably a dozen times for Lunch/Snack.
The ambience has always been a bit special, you couldn't really be bored as the interesting crockery,collection of Cook Books and general air is bustling and friendly.
What about the food? A choice of usually 4 soups, all sounding and, in our experience, tasting superb with some fairly unusual choices, which we have tried and thoroughly enjoyed.
The other items on the menu are all wholesome and beautifully cooked.
They also have a wide selection of cakes and pastries although we have never had the opportunity to try them as we're always too full up!
The Staff are, without exception, efficient and friendly and seem to get on well with one another which is always a good sign.
Murrays is quite small so try it but don't tell too many people how good it is.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chilledwrinkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch at Murray's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

All the staff were friendly and great hosts. Food was good and the atmosphere was exceptionally complemented by the decor. Great attention to detail.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KateMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quaint & Querky coffee shop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

A small, friendly coffee shop in Prestwick Main Street with a good selection of cakes available.

The location and size of the premises make it sometimes quite crampt inside when busy but this is unfortunately the cross they have to bear in terms of the size of the shop interior. This does not detract from the high quality of the food, particularly the cakes and coffee (which is all we have sampled). The interior is decorated with an eclectic style of vintage / antique furniture and ornaments which seem to suit it perfectly. Not the cheapest in town but excellent quality and good portions.

Well worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kevino8898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murrays also viewed

Prestwick, South Ayrshire
Prestwick, South Ayrshire
 
Prestwick, South Ayrshire
Prestwick, South Ayrshire
 
Prestwick, South Ayrshire
Prestwick, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Murrays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing