We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anise "Ah the spice of life"”
Review of Anise Indian Kitchen - CLOSED

Anise Indian Kitchen
Price range: $25 - $74
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A new modern and stylish addition to Prestwick, providing authentic and fresh Indian cuisine.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Anise "Ah the spice of life"”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a great wee curry house. It's very well run and serves mouthwatering dishes. My only fault is that it's just a wee touch pricey and short on portion size but, the quality is excellent. Well worth a booking.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    43
    10
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unassuming, and under-rated?”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed an early evening meal for two. Genuinely friendly welcome and attentive service throughout. Interesting to be offered daily specials in addition to the traditional Indian dishes on the menu. Some nods to Scotland on the menu too, though we didn't try the haggis pakora. The food was served promptly even though some care had gone in to the presentation. Ingredients seemed to be good quality, crisp dry poppadoms, fresh chicken tikka starter and minty onion bahjis. We had a couple of chicken and lamb dishes for mains, both of which were very satisfying. Rich, warming flavours without being too firey. A really enjoyable meal. All in all it just felt like someone cared a bit more than usual and had made an effort. We will definitely go back. And for anyone used to Dublin prices, you will find Anise to be amazingly good value!

Helpful?
Thank theHoolit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Perfect Saturday evening”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had dinner last night here and it was superb! Food was great, staff attentive and so very pleasant. So much on the menu to choose from so definitely a return visit is on the cards. Great value for money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjs1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We visited this restaurant for the first time last night following a recommendation from a friend. It is a beautifully decorated, clean restaurant. The staff were very efficient and pleasant. The food was quality rather than quantity, but plenty (we could not eat it all) and very nicely presented. A meal including 2 starters, 2 main courses with rice and 2 drinks cost under £40. The only downside is that parking can be a problem as the restaurant is on the main street.
I would recommend this restaurant and will certainly visit again in the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lolalayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
“good”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Having gone to the taj for many years, we decided to try Anise for a change. IT IS AMAZING! From the food to the decor! We had a look in the kitchen too, it was immaculate! Will not be back at the taj, even the kids loved it! 10/10 Anise! Oh and Mac is lovely too! Infact the waiter and pretty waitress were fab as well. X

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shabir a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anise Indian Kitchen also viewed

Prestwick, South Ayrshire
Prestwick, South Ayrshire
 
Prestwick, South Ayrshire
Prestwick, South Ayrshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing