We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An asset to Prestwick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Prestwick
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
1 review
“An asset to Prestwick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

Stayed at the Carlton in January for 2 nights for my father's funeral. 12 of us stayed from Canada, Norway, Sussex and the Midlands. Although it was a sad occasion for us all, the staff bent over backwards to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The rooms were very well finished, as was the bar and reception. The Carlton's main asset however has to be their staff. Special thanks to Colin behind the bar and also to the owner who spoke to us and told us all about the future plans for the hotel. A special thanks also to the lovely lady who cleaned the rooms, and let my teenage daughter have a very late checkout! Currently arranging a family get together later in the year so watch out Prestwick!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidgetGem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    192
    43
    19
    13
See reviews for
124
295
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

Recently visited the hotel for a couple of nights , got a fab rate that included Dinner and Breakfast from their own website.
Hotel has recently undergone a major refurb and is completing more, very modern restaurant whish serves gorgeous food.
Reception staff are very pleasant, friendly and helpful, as are the bar staff who make lovely cocktails!!
Will be back, thank you

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights before flying off to the Lanzarote from PIK and found it to be a great wee place. We had a long drive down from Inverness but we were soon checked in by the charming receptionist and had a lovely meal in the new restaurant. Its got a nice bar which stayed open late for guests ( cos we like a dram ) with very polite and warming staff. There is a bit of refurbishment going on as the new owners are upgrading but the rooms,toilets and restuarant are all top notch. We will be staying here again next time the racing is on at Ayr or we decide to run to the sun again.Brrrrr !!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggerrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

Warm pleasant and friendly staff at check in/out. Room lovely, warm, clean and comfortable. Food available all day and prices very reasonable. Breakfast nice as were staff.
Only complaint I had was about other guests. Early flight passengers no regard for other guests sleeping as everyone of them banged their bedroom doors on leaving. I'll definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donalddbhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

Myself and 3 friends stayed at this hotel for one night having booked it for a Christmas party/get-together. The rooms were absolutely great. Super comfortable beds and lovely crisp linens. The room was only set with towels for one but they arrived within seconds when we reported this to the reception.
The breakfast was lovely and the staff were exceptionally friendly. Only one tiny complaint was that the breakfast waitress had obviously just had a cigarette and you could smell smoke.
Overall, we had a great stay and I would recommend this hotel highly for comfort and value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binkyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. very nice decor and interior. All staff were very friendly and helpful. naming names is not necessary but the petit receptionist with glasses who unfortunetly i have forgotten her name is an asset to the hotel, very bubbly and always smiling. we had a meal in logans restaurant and it was very nice. highly recommended and will be visiting again next year

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmitch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardbeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

my self and my wife were looking foward to a nice wee break away which has unfortunetly turned in to a disaster when we arrived at the hotel our recepionist was busy on her mobile phone and when we tryed to get her attention were met with 2 mins im busy unfortunetly for my self my wife cand abide rudeness and asked to speake to a manager and was told she was talking to the reservation manager `bonie` eventuly getting cheaked in the decor was very nice and modern and you could see a recent refubishment but on entering our room we almost froze we mentioned this to reception who told us that is imposseble as the heat gets turned on before guests arrive but no one came up to cheak unfortuenetly i could go on but lets just say nice hotel that needs staff training or replacements!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truth_teller_ardbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
1.1 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 6 in Prestwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
16.9 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Prestwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Prestwick

Property: Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Address: 187 Ayr Road, Prestwick KA9 1TP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Prestwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel Prestwick 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton hotel is ideally situated in Prestwick, Ayrshire. Within close proximity to Prestwick International Airport and only a 45 minute drive from Glasgow Airport this makes The Carlton an ideal base, or stop over for every travel opportunity. The Carlton Hotel combines a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere with a modern streamlined interior. From the public spaces through to the 39 guest rooms the use of bold colour, rich textures and contemporary artwork creates a vibrant ambience throughout. The introduction of LOGANS Bar Restaurant compliments this unique environment, providing a first class experience whatever the occasion. From laid back dining to full on glamour enjoy the finest produce locally sourced with carefully selected wines. The Carvery restaurant situated in the Barony suite remains as popular as ever and welcomes customers old and new. Diners are able to enjoy a fantastic choice of carved meats with a wide choice of alternatives within a relaxed and spacious environment.Owners Robert and Vivien Kyle of the RAD group of hotels are well known for their attention to detail from the standard of service they and their staff provide, to the quality of interiors throughout their establishments. An extensive refurbishment programme at The Carlton Hotel has created a stunning new look to the front of the hotel offering a fantastic banqueting and dining area accommodating up to 220 guests. Whether you are looking for a once in a life time wedding venue, an impressive function suite or a great restaurant, the Carlton Hotel Prestwick will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Prestwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Prestwick Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing