We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Prestwick
Certificate of Excellence
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had afternoon tea at the Carlton in Prestwick hoping to repeat our experience of Lochside House Hotel and Spa (last week!).
Mmmm not quite...
It was lovely,but comparing it with Lochside House, I would definately say Lochside has the edge.
The service at the Carlton was not as attentive, and the standard of the home baking was very good but Lochside was excellent.
Lochside was all just a bit more 'polished'.
But in saying all of that,The Carlton was well worth a visit and I would go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent afternoon tea at Carlton Hotel. Feedback is most important to us and we appreciate all feedback.

Hope to see you back in the future,

Kind Regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    201
    44
    20
    13
See reviews for
129
302
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here in an Itison break with dinner, b&b and a bottle of wine on our room on arrival. I would recommend this hotel and was was of the best deals I have experienced. All staff were very friendly, room was a good size and modern. The dinner was excellent and a much better choice to what I was expecting. Breakfast again was very good, I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bren46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving such a great review of your recent stay at the Carlton Hotel, Prestwick.

So nice to read such great feedback, I am delighted to hear how you enjoyed the deal and we hope to see you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We attended a wedding here on Fri and we're satisfied by all that we experienced. There was nothing that we can say that is a negative. We attended the Carlton of old, ten years ago, so was a little apprehensive. This was totally unfounded, what a change in the place. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always great to get such fantastic feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words, we will pass this on to the team at the Carlton Hotel.

Kind Regards,


Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had our wedding here on 20th July 2013. Everything was perfect. Staff are fantastic and nothing is a bother. Highly recommend to anyone wither planning wedding/function or just an overnight stay. Nic who was our wedding co ordinator was brilliant :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsconnelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Congraulations! It is always great to get such fantastic feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words, we will pass this on to Nic and the team at the Carlton Hotel Prestwick.

Kind Regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Bought this as itison deal so was an good deal To be honest won't have paid the full advertised price. Used this hotel as we had a 6am flight next morning.
Comfortable room if a bit on the small size. No air con...ok so in Scotland we rarely need it up during hear wave room was very warm.
Given bott of wine with our deal but told could only drink it in our room or take it away, which we thought was a bit off. It was a beautiful day and it would have been nice to sit out on the bar terrace. Food was good, even with the limited menu offered for our deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCB2GlasgowUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Carlton Hotel Prestwick, Feedback is most important to us and we take all comments on board. I am pleased to hear of how you enjoyed your evening meal.

Hope to see you back in the future,

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland UK
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed and overnight at this hotel last week and found it to be a perfect little getaway. Its a lovely modern hotel with 2 stunning restaurants and a beautiful bar also an oudoor area to sit if its a nice evening. It is very clean and has immaculate grounds. We ate at the carvery restaurant before walking to the local shops and bars in Prestwick main street. In the morning the breakfast was delicious and the staff were so pleasant.
I will deffinately return here again and if I am flying out from Prestwick airport on holiday at any time, I can't think of a nicer place to start by staying here the night before.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lasvegas47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Five star review.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Carlton Hotel Prestwick. Feedback is most important to us it’s great to read such a fantastic review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your evening meal in the carvery and will pass your comments on to Head Chef Ian.

Hope to see you back in the future,

Kind Regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armadale west lothian
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on Sunday 21st and Monday 22nd with my husband. I booked the hotel with itison vouchers and cannot praise the rooms, staff and all the food enough, it was excellent. I have been to several hotels around Scotland on special offers and found the Carlton to be the best. I would definately return to this hotel in the future

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanatdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Five star review.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Carlton Hotel Prestwick. Feedback is most important to us it’s great to read such a fantastic review.

Hope to see you back in the future,

Kind Regards


Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
1.1 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 6 in Prestwick
614 reviews
1.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
189 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Prestwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Prestwick

Property: Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Address: 187 Ayr Road, Prestwick KA9 1TP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Prestwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel Prestwick 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton hotel is ideally situated in Prestwick, Ayrshire. Within close proximity to Prestwick International Airport and only a 45 minute drive from Glasgow Airport this makes The Carlton an ideal base, or stop over for every travel opportunity. The Carlton Hotel combines a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere with a modern streamlined interior. From the public spaces through to the 39 guest rooms the use of bold colour, rich textures and contemporary artwork creates a vibrant ambience throughout. The introduction of LOGANS Bar Restaurant compliments this unique environment, providing a first class experience whatever the occasion. From laid back dining to full on glamour enjoy the finest produce locally sourced with carefully selected wines. The Carvery restaurant situated in the Barony suite remains as popular as ever and welcomes customers old and new. Diners are able to enjoy a fantastic choice of carved meats with a wide choice of alternatives within a relaxed and spacious environment.Owners Robert and Vivien Kyle of the RAD group of hotels are well known for their attention to detail from the standard of service they and their staff provide, to the quality of interiors throughout their establishments. An extensive refurbishment programme at The Carlton Hotel has created a stunning new look to the front of the hotel offering a fantastic banqueting and dining area accommodating up to 220 guests. Whether you are looking for a once in a life time wedding venue, an impressive function suite or a great restaurant, the Carlton Hotel Prestwick will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Carlton Hotel Prestwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Prestwick Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing