We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good value if part of voucher deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Prestwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have stayed at the Carlton many times and originally I would have recommended it unconditionally. However, we stayed there last Sunday night as part of a Groupon deal. Excellent value and you can't fault £65 for dinner, bed and breakfast for 2 plus a bottle of wine.

Overall though, sadly, I fee l the owners have taken their eye off the ball. They have lost the original attention to detail which was very much part of the original set up. The wine, when it finally arrived after 2 requests was unchilled. The breakfast was a bit slapdash, staff seemed like they couldn't much be bothered and, to be honest, the bathroom looked like it could do with a good clean.

The stay was well worth what we paid but we wouldn't go back if we had to pay the advertised price. A shame when it would only take a little bit of management effort to bring it up to previous standard.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and there were no net curtains, so in terms of daylight, it was "al...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binkyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
There are newer reviews for Carlton Hotel Prestwick
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 668 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

We visited on Sunday night on a groupon deal, superb value for money, food was very good, hotels nice. Few bad points, restaurant was like a sauna for dinner and breakfast. Bit of mould in the silicone round the bath, takes 5 mins to sort but happens and isnt fixed in so many hotels! And our room on the ground floor had a really squeaky ceiling every time the people in the room above moved. Fine until your trying to go to sleep.
All in all though a fantastic deal

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Downski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Carlton Hotel, Prestwick. Feedback is most important to us it's great to read that you have a good stay, and your comments will be taken on board.

Hope to see you again soon!


Kind Regards,


Robert Kyle, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited the Carlton on Sunday 21/4/13. The hotel was exceptional for the price. We visited on a Glasgow deals voucher and were worried that given the deal was so good that there might be a compromise on quality, our worries were put to rest the moment we walked into reception, the decor is fresh and modern not only in reception but throughout the hotel.
The receptionists was friendly and helpful and again this was true of all staff from reception to waiting staff to bar staff to breakfast staff in the morning. The food was of high quality and breakfast was of a very high quality a full Scottish breakfast was available with cold meats cheeses and cereals also on ofer

The main bar in the hotel has captured the feeling of a local pub/wine bar but retained the class of a hotel bar we we will defiantly return in the future and would highly recommend the Carlton



Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Great Review! Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay at Carlton Hotel, Prestwick, fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay and would visit again.

Hope to see you soon!


Kind Regards,


Robert Kyle, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Got Married here 27/04/13, we had the best day we couldve imagined!! Staff were amazing & very organised. Great food & service!! Friendly, clean & welcoming hotel.
Could not have asked for a better day, highly recommended & we will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBrown27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Congratulations! It is always great to get such fantastic feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words, we will pass this on to the team at Carlton Hotel, Prestwick.

Kind Regards,


Robert Kyle, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on fri 26/4/13 with my husband daughter son in law and granddaughter on a groupon could not fault the food service and staff and yummy cocktails from the minute we checked in found all staff friendly and wine in room chilling well worth what we paid for it for a wee break away - please hurry and do another one

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannymazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a fantastic review of Carlton Hotel, Prestwick. It is reviews like this that really do make us love our job and motivate us to keep providing such fantastic experiences for our guests.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal in Logans, and I will pass on your comments to Head Chef Ian.

Hope to see you again soon!

Robert Kyle, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

enjoyable saturday night stay thru groupon great value hotel is very nice shame about the water pressure in the shower bed was very comfy apart from irn bru stain on the carpet the room was very nice all staff pleasant food was a bit on the odd side pilau rice potatoes salad with cajun chicken to be honest i thought the chicken ran past the cajun spices the same about beef stroganoff hotels very busy with weddings nice surroundings not far from town ideal

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Hotel very busy - lots of weddings. Free wifi, just not always a great signal strength. Restaurant was not bad. Not far from the city, close to Prestwick airport and coast. Friendly staff. Blankets very thick and no top sheet if too hot. Many outlets in room, kettle, iron, hair dryer, informational book (which led us on a spontaneous trip to the isle of arran)! View from room - roof of hotel and residential area. Was a good night away (especially since it was a groupon deal for 2 - included supper, breakfast, 1 night stay and a bottle of wine for 2!)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanzyHolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving such a lovely review of your recent stay at Carlton Hotel, Prestwick. We hope you enjoyed your trip to Arran!

Hope you see you back in the future!

Kind Regards,


Robert Kyle, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
1.1 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
633 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,092 reviews
1.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,136 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
698 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Prestwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Prestwick

Address: 187 Ayr Road, Prestwick KA9 1TP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Prestwick
Price Range: $77 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel Prestwick 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton hotel is ideally situated in Prestwick, Ayrshire. Within close proximity to Prestwick International Airport and only a 45 minute drive from Glasgow Airport this makes The Carlton an ideal base, or stop over for every travel opportunity. The Carlton Hotel combines a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere with a modern streamlined interior. From the public spaces through to the 39 guest rooms the use of bold colour, rich textures and contemporary artwork creates a vibrant ambience throughout. The introduction of LOGANS Bar Restaurant compliments this unique environment, providing a first class experience whatever the occasion. From laid back dining to full on glamour enjoy the finest produce locally sourced with carefully selected wines. The Carvery restaurant situated in the Barony suite remains as popular as ever and welcomes customers old and new. Diners are able to enjoy a fantastic choice of carved meats with a wide choice of alternatives within a relaxed and spacious environment.Owners Robert and Vivien Kyle of the RAD group of hotels are well known for their attention to detail from the standard of service they and their staff provide, to the quality of interiors throughout their establishments. An extensive refurbishment programme at The Carlton Hotel has created a stunning new look to the front of the hotel offering a fantastic banqueting and dining area accommodating up to 220 guests. Whether you are looking for a once in a life time wedding venue, an impressive function suite or a great restaurant, the Carlton Hotel Prestwick will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Hotel Prestwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Prestwick Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing