We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Prestwick
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed on a Friday night after a long week at work. Check in was fast and efficient. The room was clean, warm, attractive and everything we needed for our overnight stay.When we had phoned to book the previous week we had been advised to book a table for dinner in advance as the restaurant was busy. Good advice! Logans, the restaurant was a real treat indeed. The dessert menu was one that we had to look over several times, and beware, the sundaes are huge! Very attentive and helpful staff too. After a comfortable and refreshing nights sleep we were looking forward to breakfast. Service was again efficient, there were cereals, fruit, toast on offer. We both ordered the full cooked breakfast, this is where we were disappointed. There was everything that you might want, bacon, sausage, black pudding, tattie scone, egg etc but none of them were cooked nearly enough. All was pale and limp and had appeared to have been warmed in the microwave. A real shame as it was a waste of what might have been a hearty meal. That aside we had a lovely time in this hotel and would return for a meal but would avoid the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rem2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    199
    44
    20
    13
See reviews for
128
301
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We are just back from an over night at this great hotel, we managed to get a deal on Groupon, over night B&B and 2 course meal....£65..

We arrived around 12 and sat in the bar until we were able to book in around 2pm. The bar staff were great a good bit of banter with them. The bar itself was gorgeous all fully refurbed and very reasonable prices for a Hotel.

We got into our room and (215) and it was also of high quality, very comfortable and of a good size.

We went into Prestwick (£3 in a taxi) and had went to some lovely wee pubs, plenty to choose from and got back to the hotel in time to get ready for our dinner.

I am really fussy eater and was dreading the dinner selection (as it was a groupon deal) but we had at least 7 starters to choose from and around 10 main meals. Our dinner was of also a very high quality and very tasty indeed, well worth it even if we were paying for it in full. We stayed in the bar that night and although no entertainment on that night ( they have tribute nights on some weekend) there was a great atmosphere in the bar and once again the staff were excellent and service was second to none.

Our breakfast in the morning had a great choice of Meats, yogurts cereal and cheeses followed by a fried breakfast that was served to you by the waitresses again very good quality of food.

Our booking out was 11am, perfect time as breakfast finished at 10.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone as everything was truly first class.

Can I also mention the reception staff who were very pleasant and very helfull in anything we asked them .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendylennon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

After visiting Prestwick and the Prestwick Golf Club, my husband and I needed a room for the night. Luckily, we found the Carlton! It is a great value, good location, and it has a very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are spacious and have all the amenities. The full Scottish breakfast was also an added treat. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We purchased this deal as have previously stayed at the hotel before it was taken over.
We found check in smooth and quick. Our room was clean tidy and warm. Plenty toiletries and tea facilities. We had dinner and breakfast and enjoyed both staff were attentive even though the hotel was busy. We enjoyed our stay and will return. We will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokieFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

As a result of a deal voucher site offer, I stayed an overnight here recently. Room was largely generic in layout and uninspiring - the large double beds others have referred to were in fact (in our room) simply two single beds pushed together.

Arriving in the dining room (bar), we were offered a table and seated quickly, the bar staff brought the menus to our attention and as they were leaving turned and announced, oh you guys are on the XXXX deal, a different menu applies for that one. Fair enough - a single sided piece of paper was presented. To be honest, this menu choice was OK, we decided what to order and it arrived quickly and was pleasant enough.

Heading for breakfast, there was various cheeses and some cold gammon, fruits and juice however the hot items had to be ordered - I found that kind of strange as most establishments these days have a buffet style breakfast which would seem to suit most hotel guests as a better breakfasting arrangement.

All in, it was OK for the price (£65).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0hreally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Owner at Carlton Hotel Prestwick, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest.
The Carlton hotel Prestwick strive to deliver high levels of customer experience, as such we welcome all feedback as it allows us to continually improve our service.

Firstly I would like to apologise for your double being made up of two singles, it is not unusual for hotels to push together the beds in twin rooms to accommodate the dates of a guest. We hope that this in no way affected your sleep.

You are correct in stating that guests staying through Groupon dine off of a specially selected Chefs menu, we ensured that this was highlighted when the Groupon deal was live so not to mislead any customers. Although given a the specially selected Chefs menu, the majority of our guests find the menu choices extensive and we are sincerely sorry if this was not to your individual tastes.

While most establishments opt for a buffet style breakfast, the Carlton Hotel Prestwick, where possible opt to stick with made to order breakfast service. This ensures that all of our guests get a delicious freshly cooked breakfast.

Once again thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. If you would like to discuss any of your issues you can email me directly at Robert@rad.ltd.uk.

Robert Kyle.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed for two nights from 22nd to 24th Feb and overall our break was very enjoyable, room was a fair size and the bed was extremely comfortable, the service of the waiting staff was fantastic and the food was top notch, sadly the carverey was closed on both nights because they had functions going on in there which was very disappointing as we had read some great reviews, had a couple of queries at reception and the staff were very helpful and cheery which was nice, the only criticism I have is the bathroom could have been cleaner, soap scum round the shower control's and at the bottom of the shower screen, dust on the last few rungs of the towel rail, also in the hallway at the top of the stairs there was a fire extinguisher with what looked like months of dust on it, these were only minor things and may not seem important but its the attention to detail that makes the difference, I would say tho all in all a good break would defo recommend

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtm1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Got a great Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Deal at the Carlton - wasn't disappointed. The room was excellent with a huge double bed, clean, modern with a bottle of wine chilling waiting for us. The food was to die for and the staff were so helpful and friendly. Will definitely be back. Breakfast was also fantastic with a great selection of fresh fruit, cheeses, cold meat, cereals, fruit juices and the usual full scottish treats such as bacon, links, black pudding and potato scones to name a few. Can't wait till we go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lornashug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
1.1 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 6 in Prestwick
608 reviews
1.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Prestwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Prestwick

Property: Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Address: 187 Ayr Road, Prestwick KA9 1TP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Prestwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel Prestwick 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton hotel is ideally situated in Prestwick, Ayrshire. Within close proximity to Prestwick International Airport and only a 45 minute drive from Glasgow Airport this makes The Carlton an ideal base, or stop over for every travel opportunity. The Carlton Hotel combines a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere with a modern streamlined interior. From the public spaces through to the 39 guest rooms the use of bold colour, rich textures and contemporary artwork creates a vibrant ambience throughout. The introduction of LOGANS Bar Restaurant compliments this unique environment, providing a first class experience whatever the occasion. From laid back dining to full on glamour enjoy the finest produce locally sourced with carefully selected wines. The Carvery restaurant situated in the Barony suite remains as popular as ever and welcomes customers old and new. Diners are able to enjoy a fantastic choice of carved meats with a wide choice of alternatives within a relaxed and spacious environment.Owners Robert and Vivien Kyle of the RAD group of hotels are well known for their attention to detail from the standard of service they and their staff provide, to the quality of interiors throughout their establishments. An extensive refurbishment programme at The Carlton Hotel has created a stunning new look to the front of the hotel offering a fantastic banqueting and dining area accommodating up to 220 guests. Whether you are looking for a once in a life time wedding venue, an impressive function suite or a great restaurant, the Carlton Hotel Prestwick will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carlton Hotel Prestwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Prestwick Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing