We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - once again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fernbank Guest House
Ranked #1 of 17 Prestwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here and for good reason, it is an excellent bed & breakfast, rooms are very clean and there is a large choice for breakfast whether you prefer hot, cold or both! Linda & Dave were as welcoming as the last time we stayed and welcomed us back as if we were old friends, they also gave us tips for the best places to visit and to eat out If we visit Scotland again then this will be the place where we would stay, would not consider anywhere else

Room Tip: Room 8 is our favourite as you do not have to enter the main guest house, access is through a patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babytrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 223 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Booked the Fernbank as an overnight stay when returning on a late night flight from our hoilday in June...This guest house is a real gem. The bedroom was imacculate with an ensuite, the bed was so comfortable didn't expect this comfort for the price we paid. Arrived late so Linda advised us beforehand how to enter the guest house. In the morning we were very warmly greated by Linda & David with an amazing full breakfast.

The dining area was compact but very well laid out and I enjoyed listening to the other guests thanking the proprioters for their stay or getting directions from the owners on how to get to places. All in all I would definately recommend Fernbank and would book again without hesitation so much so I've already recommended Fernbank.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifesforvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

We are delighted that your stay was so comfortable and that we were able to help with your late arrival. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I travel extensively throughout the UK on business and typically stop in guest houses. I have been a guest at Fernbank on over 20 occasions over the last 6 years which in itself is an obvious recommendation.
Your hosts, Linda and David, are always cheerful and welcoming and a mine of local information.
The guest house always appears freshly decorated and is immaculately clean. The rooms contain high quality furniture and particular mention of the excellent linen and towels should be made.
I always have the cooked breakfast which is perfectly cooked with obvious quality ingredients. Lots of other options are available with cereals, yogurts, fruit and juices etc available.
There is a car park at the rear of the house and a small pleasant garden equipped with seating.
Prestwick’s varied selection of restaurants, bars and multitude of independent shops are all on the doorstep. The locals are always friendly and welcoming. The seafront is a short stroll of approx 300 metres away.
I have stopped at maybe several hundred guest houses throughout the UK. Fernbank is undoubtedly the best of these. It is truly a home from home for me and comes with my highest recommendations.

Room Tip: The 2 ground floor rooms with direct access to the garden are my personal favourites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dean,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoy your time at Fernbank and look forward to seeing you again soon. For the record, you are a 5 star guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I admit it, I'm fussy and hard to please and not much gets past me when eating out or staying somewhere. I am pleased to say that I had a pleasant stay at Fernbank recently. Everything was spotless, the bed was very comfortable (which can often not be the case in B&Bs), nice en suite bathroom with decent shower, a very good breakfast served by a very pleasant host and all for under £30 a night. I would have no hesitation in recommending Fernbank and will stay again.

Room Tip: I booked the de-luxe at a little extra but I would say that all the rooms are of a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013
Google Translation

La ringrazio molto per i gentili. Siamo anche stati felici con voi e mi piacerebbe vedere di nuovo in futuro.

Sorry for the rough translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was our first trip to Prestwick for a family wedding. We were warmly welcomed to Fernbank and stayed in a lovely, spacious room. The decor was imaginative and elegant and facilities excellent. The guest house represents very good value for money. We would not hesitate to book again. Prestwick is a charming little town with good restaurants and pubs. We particularly liked the Pinewood restaurant, almost opposite the hotel. The airport is a convenient 5 minutes drive away but we noticed no aircraft noise at all. Super breakfast. Thank you to our hosts.

Room Tip: The large room on the ground floor at the front of the house was very spacious with a lovely comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have worked in travel and tourism for many years, specialising in the personal touch and have visited many hotels and guest houses.
Linda and David your Guest House is on par with quality hotels I have visited in the past, Clean, Comfortable and the breakfast was very enjoyable, and you both are great hosts. We are looking forward to a return visit. Elaine Murphy

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had a short but enjoyable stay here. I was finishing my holiday in Scotland and I was getting an early ferry from Troon so I used it for the night before. The rooms were clean and more than adequate (indeed they were better than a lot of hotels I stayed in). The Hosts were very friendly and helpful, recommending local eateries and gentle walks for afterwards.

Breakfast was a large affair. There was a good choice, with plenty of food on the plate. I was asked did I want an early breakfast, rather than I asking for it. There was plenty of parking at the rear of the Guest House.

I would recommend this Guest House.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanFromCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prestwick hotels
0.4 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Firhill Bed and Breakfast
Firhill Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 17 in Prestwick
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golf View
Golf View
#2 of 17 in Prestwick
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prestwick Old Course Hotel
Prestwick Old Course Hotel
#6 of 17 in Prestwick
97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 5 in Prestwick
692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbey Cottage
Abbey Cottage
#5 of 17 in Prestwick
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernbank Guest House

Address: 213 Main Street, Prestwick KA9 1LH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Prestwick
Price Range: $67 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great, family run Guest house just 1.5 Km from Prestwick Airport. All rooms have power shower/WC, freeview TV, free Superfast Wi-Fi and tea/coffee. Close to Prestwick's many excellent restaurants, bars and cafes and superbly placed for all Ayrshires great golf courses. Arrive as Guests - Depart as Friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fernbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernbank Guest House Prestwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing