We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed was awful. Don't stay if a wedding is on.”
Review of Parkstone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkstone
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Prestwick
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bed was awful. Don't stay if a wedding is on.”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed on a Saturday night and there was a wedding reception. We were placed in a room away from the function suite which was thoughtful.
However, the room was right over the exit, where leaving guests were shouting, swearing and arguing.
In addition to that I could feel every spring in the very well worn bed. Terrible night's sleep.
On departure we weren't asked about our stay, so I didn't complain, but we won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosshf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    164
    38
    8
    12
See reviews for
80
373
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Golfing weekend and received a warm welcome from the staff. Rooms are clean and well presented but the ones in the new wing/refurbished part are slightly more spacious and generally a bit better than in the original part. Good breakfast again served by friendly staff. Standard was very good and considering location and time of year rooms were well priced. On the subject of price - the beer was dear !! but at least it was taken on the hotels wee beer garden which overlooks the long sandy beach

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crossman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Lovely location on the sea and near Prestwick Golf Course. Food was fantastic. Rooms were lovely.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marg154996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

i used to come here as a child inthe 60s and i didnt know what to expect,we came on the 10th and 11th of june for my husbands birthday and we were very pleased.the room was lovely as was the food in the restaurant.the staff very very helpfull and the owner couldnt have been nicer,we would definately come again. there was a wedding while we were there but unlike other hotels it was were organised and didnt interfere with the enjoyment of the other guests.if i had a complaint i would say we would have liked more comfortable seats in the room but when we mentioned this they gave us another chair
jackie

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaconholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I felt like I was stepping back into the 60s or 70s -- in a good way. A relaxed, small water-front boutique hotel that excelled in service and wonderful solitude. From the soft music of the 70s playing in the backgound in the lounge to the muffled sounds of the waves flowing through the open doors and windows, I truly was in heaven. Beautiful landscaped courtyards in front and behind the hotel.
The staff went out of their way to offer suggestions for sights to see and places to eat, although the restaurant on the premises looked charming (we ate in town instead).
Two small issues. Like most European boutique hotels (this one dating to 1933) the rooms were small, and the corridors could be noisy, especially when the housekeeping staff gather to converse outside your room. It seems to me that despite having small rooms, the experience could be enhanced with upgraded bedding and and linens. In this regard, this truly was a 60s experience .
But all-in-all, a remarkable place. This is the 12th property I've stayed at this year, and was clearly my favorite.

Room Tip: Must ask for a seaside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy8550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I'm always welcomed and happy to stay at the Parkstone. I've long-established family connections there, but I'm now welcomed as a regular business guest. I don't really use too many of the facilities - I usually eat out with family and I don't have breakfast. But the rooms - especially looking over the Firth of Clyde towards Arran are great; wi-fi is just fine, bedlinen and towels are first class. Stewart's staff are all excellent. I'll book again soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol_boyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Another excellent stay at the Parkstone. This is a traditional, family-run hotel with all of the personal charm that this entails, but without being stuffy or muddled. Room was a great size and superb views of Arran as the sun goes down. Wi-fi is free, fast and simple to use. Overall, it is a very pleasant and efficient place to stay if you have business in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has views to Arran
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJF000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
1.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 5 in Prestwick
659 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,068 reviews
2.3 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
684 reviews
3.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkstone

Property: Parkstone
Address: 6-8 Ardayre Road | Central Esplanade, Prestwick KA9 1QN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Prestwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkstone 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seafront location; adjacent to Prestwick Golf Club and St Nicholas Golf Club. The Hotel has 30 ensuite bedrooms, restaurant, bar and caters for early morning departures or late arrivals. The Hotel is 2 minutes from Prestwick Town rail station and a five minute walk to the centre of town. Prestwick International Airport is two minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Parkstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkstone Hotel Prestwick
Parkstone Prestwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing