We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prestwick Old Course Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Prestwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've just returned from an overnight stay, and I found the hotel great value for money, Anthony was extremely helpful and I felt like nothing was too much trouble but the poor guy was working from the morning I got there till I left, on his own, I would definitely stay there again but I think another staff member working would be a great help, it takes a while to get served at the bar but that is only because the guy is getting something for someone else so it's no reflection on him, but surely some help would go far

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flcunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 97 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Husband and myself booked this through late rooms and when we arrived to check in we were told they had no record of our booking but not to worry as they had a room - ok we were out of season but if they had been full what would have happened. We were shown to room 4 and all was well, nice room overlooking the golf course but a few things to note - the curtains do not fit the windows so lots of gaps in them. shelf in bathroom slopes so things would fall off it. bathroom light is a pull cord and the bit was missing off the end of it. socket hanging off the wall behind bedside cabinet. Room was clean and tidy and well made up. bar states it is open 12 noon till midnight but on passing it several times there was no one around to serve. Breakfast was great, usual cereals, toast, tea, coffee and a choice of cooked breakfast. Overall we only stayed 1 night and it was comfortable enough. would we stay here again - no probably not

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elenitelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here before leaving, and after returning from holiday flying from Prestwick. The rooms were very spacious, clean, and comfortable, with a nice view over the golf course. Breakfast was " help yourself" to cereal, toast, and coffee, then a choice of four breakfasts was offered. We both had the full Scottish, and it was very good. Considering that you would pay around £25 for a similar ( though not as good) breakfast in the airport, and taking 9 days car parking into account, we felt this was excellent value. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mharie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned from an over night stay and have no complaints ,staff were really friendly and happy to help the room we had was excellant for what we needed and very clean.View over the golf course also good .myself and my husband and 2 daughters had a good time and although the daughters did not want to get up for breakfast it was their loss as breakfast was really good and plenty to choose from.Will be sure to book here again the next time we are looking for affordable accomadation in prestwick.Thank's to all at the old course hotel Prestwick .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack27h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was a one night stay for me and strictly bed and breakfast as I was out of my room on the lash for most of my visit. When booking the room online I was limited to a single room with a shared bathroom. Fair enough, they must be busy I thought. On arrival I was met by Anthony. He was very polite and made me feel welcome. Room was very clean and had everything you would expect. The shared bathroom was right next door. No problems so far. Retired to my bed that evening. Bed was comfy. Woke up early though as I was a bit cold in the room. The shared bathroom was even colder with a bare, tiled floor and no apparent heating. The electric shower was a nightmare and took about 5 minutes of adjusting to get somewhere in between scalding hot or bloody freezing. Even then all I got was a dribble. Breakfast was fine. A good selection of cereals, tea, coffee, juice etc. A TV had BBC News on. Views out the lounge window are very good. It looks right on to the Old Course itself. I went for a cooked breakfast and it was ok. Would have preferred slightly bigger portion and maybe some beans. In the time I was there I only saw one other guest and I got the impression that the hotel was nowhere near booked out. Not sure why I was given the room I was given that being the case. I would use again as It is perfect for my needs. Another plus point is that it is 30 seconds walk from the train station and 2 minutes walk from the main street. Overall, for 37 quid you can't argue.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

stayed here with my gran for a night away. We travelled down on friday evening and were checked in without a fuss. Room was spacious and modern, very nicely decorated. The staff had alsoaccomodated our request for a ground floor room due to my gran's mobility and the heating was on for us arriving. We visited the sister hotel up the road for dinner which was lovely. Providing an Indian meal for a lady in her 80's who doesn't like garli is quite a challenge! We came back to the hotel to have a drink before going to bed. Have to say the drinks very very expensive and service slow considering there was only one other group in. We also felt a bit awkward as they had set up most of the sweet bar and set up for a wedding taking place the next day. This was the same at breakfast- we felt as if we were in the way by having breakfast and the staff had to hunt out a table that wasn't already set up for the reception. Food was tasty and well presented but could have been warmer. Over all we had a lovely time, but wouldn't have a drink in the bar again and would have liked to fel less in the way. Would stay here again though.

Room Tip: ask for a rom at the front of the hotel facing ono the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I picked this hotel because of its closeness to the airport.When we arrived we were told due to an overbooking problem we would be staying in the hotel next door.We were escorted next door and shown our room.A very large room.A VERY VERY COLD room.My husband went to reception to ask if the heating could be addressed and about an hour later a little heat was filling our fridge of a bedroom.We were told when booking breakfast was served from 7.30 am which we thought was great as we would be leaving at 8am for our flight and a good Scottish breakfast sounded ideal to set us on our journey.Unfortunately this was not to be.Breakfast was not going to be served until 8am so a continental breakfast would be sent up to our room(coco-pops,a yogurt and a banana not quite the same)Also our new hotel was over an Indian Restaurant.The smell of Indian cuisine wafting through your bedroom not very appetizing.Consequently the entire stay was a nightmare.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
0.1 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
638 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 5 in Prestwick
687 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
904 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golf View
Golf View
#1 of 17 in Prestwick
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestwick Old Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestwick Old Course Hotel

Address: 13 Links Road, Prestwick KA9 1QG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Prestwick
Price Range: $67 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prestwick Old Course Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prestwick Old Course Hotel has gone through many changes and is now located on 7 Links Road Prestwick,improvements on all rooms are being made. It is situated in the heart of historic Ayrshire, opposite the famous Prestwick Golf Club. Transport links to the Airport and Train Stations are easy accessible. Walking distance to the Airport(no aeroplane noise) and to Prestwick Town Train Station, next stop Prestwick International Airport ending at Glasgow Central Station. Walking distance to the sea front and local High Street shops. There is a selection of quality rooms available to our guests ranging from single, double, triple and family rooms. They provide you with excellent comfort with front facing rooms overlooking the golf course and sea front. Flat screen digital TVs. Free wi-fi internet connection with tea/coffee and biscuits. Free off street parking for residents only, based on staying one night, free parking up to 4 days depending on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Prestwick Old Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestwick Old Course Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing