We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A relaxing stay in the snow - and hot tub!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ExburyOx
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay in the snow - and hot tub!”
Reviewed February 20, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Looking for a base south of Glasgow we felt we had hit the jackpot when we discovered the Swan Bothy online. The Bothy lived up to and exceeded our expectations, with the hot tub a real highlight for William, aged 13. We had a little snow, and it was magical sitting in the tub with the snow falling, but also watching the stars appear on cloudless nights. We were happy to explore the Burns Trail around Ayrshire and the Electric Brae (didn't work for us!), and also use the Bothy as a base for trips into Glasgow to visit the Clyde Ship Museum and Kelvingrove Gallery. But the Bothy offered too much to head out every day - the relaxing and secluded nature of the site was ideal for playing games, watching DVDs, eating and drinking. Great to have a real fire, fresh eggs from the hens and Swan Bothy honey! And yes, there were swans too, on the Loch, and flying in formation, skimming the surface at dusk.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2018
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I am so glad you had s fabulous stay with us. Look forward to seeing you all hopefully in the future.

Warm regards
Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoggieMay
2 reviews
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Almost don't want to write a review. Would like to keep this place all to myself. The cottage is set in the most amazing location, surrounded by the wonders of nature. It is homely and the owners friendliness and little extra treats as mentioned in other reviews make it feel very special. A lot of thought has gone into making this a perfect place for both adults and children . Even as four adults we found the troll and fairy trails magical. The relaxing hot tub looking at the stars was amazing and was just what we needed for our weekend away. Just loved it here and wish we had had booked for longer. Hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We are thrilled you had a lovely break and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroledal...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed February 11, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Just back from fab anniversary weekend here. It's perfect and has the most fabulous hot tub with stunning views of the loch. Love it. Diane and William are great and go the extra mile with lots of thoughtful little touches. Can't wait to go back again. Perfect place to relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It’s greatly appreciated. We look forward to your return.
Thank you
Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcknightk...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem that you will want to return to over and over”
Reviewed November 12, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

For a relaxing escape you need to look no further than Swan Bothy! We booked a weekend stay as a group of five friends to celebrate special birthdays and were blown away by the five star thoughtful touches provided by Diane and William. Everything you need is provided and a whole lot more - well equipped kitchen, spacious rooms, towels, bath robes, welcome pack .... the list goes on and that's before we mention the hot tub, summer house, views, hens roaming freely, tranquility.
For some people the lack of internet access might be a gripe but for us it meant we enjoyed a weekend not being distracted by FB etc. Instead we chatted, played games, ate, drank, relaxed, laughed and enjoyed each others' company in beautiful, homely surroundings. We agreed a date to return together next year while we sipped champagne in the hot tub under the stars. Cannot praise William, Diane and Swan Bothy highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2017
Thanks to all you lovely ladies, was a pleasure to help make your birthday celebrations special. We look forward to seeing you all again.
Till next time Diane & William
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuffty998
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional stay + a little bit extra”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

On first enquiring about the availability of Swan Bothy through to completion of my booking Diane was always quick to reply to any of my queries.
The description of Swan Bothy doesn't do it justice....it offers more than is described.
When we arrived we had a warm welcome from Diane followed by some simple well needed tuition on how to use the hot-tub. Moving onto the Bothy the use of the thermorstat, washing machine ,dryer, and dishwasher were explained. As soon as I stepped into the Bothy I felt relaxed and at ease. Not only is it sparkly clean it is very roomy and the layout lets you move around comfortably.There were welcome treats to be enjoyed my favourite had to be the tunnocks teacakes followed by homemade bread.
The chickens run free and they are a joy to watch as are the swans on the loch, its so peacefull and in idylic surroundings .The attention to detail to ensure whatever your age its geared up for your enjoyment and it is so well thought out BBQ, FirePIt, Summer House
Ayr is about 4miles away and that was my chosen place to do our big grocery shopping however, Coylton is 2 miles away and they have a well stocked Spar and an amazing fish and chip shop.
Swan Bothy will be our retreat from here on in and we are very much looking forward to returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Thanks so so much for your kind words. We are thrilled with your review and look forward to meeting you again soon.
Take care Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superwing...
Livingston, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Brilliant beyond brilliance.”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I'm not quite sure where to begin. Ok, just go there! How's that?
My wonderful wife booked us a wonderful weekend break at this wonderful hidden gem of a wonderful cottage. We had a wonderful time - needless to say!

A Tardis like cottage the like of which, as we do, you'd love to own. Huge kitchen, huge family living room and an equally spacious master bedroom this property offers everything you'd ever need for a break away. A secluded and quiet loch side dwelling with views over a Scottish Site of Special Interest water way - the like of which will draw you to want to stay forever - this cottage is as idyllic as they come.

Hens fussing around, birds feasting eagerly on the feed table and swans gliding majestically across Martnaham Loch just epitomise what this location has to offer. There's a Fairy Trail, a Troll Trail, table tennis and a fire pit, oh yeah, and a roasting hot spa too.

You'll arrive to a kitchen of local produce. Eggs, milk, fresh fruit, some bubbly and marshmallows to toast on the open fire in the living room. Ayr town centre is only five miles away if you don't fancy eating in.

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night break here and already planning to return early next year. If you don't enjoy your time here then I'm afraid it's your own fault!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Wow thank you so much for your spectacular review it’s much appreciated.

Look forwards to seeing you both next year.
Thank you Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect relaxing and luxurious cottage in beautiful rural location”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The cottage is perfect for a relaxing break with so many added extras thoughtfully provided by Diane and William to make your stay even more memorable. Beautiful loch-side setting with abundant wildlife. Hens and bees for eggs and honey and garden produce also available. Amazing hot tub!
The cottage is close to Ayr for provisions and it is easy to reach so many places of interest such as Dumfries House, Culzean Castle, Brig o Doon, the coast, across to Arran or over to Glasgow. Many places to eat out nearby.
We had a fabulous holiday and will be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Dear guests

Many thanks for your fabulous review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your holiday and honeymoon. Look forward to meeting you again.
Diane and William
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing