We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Package Restaurant”

The Races at Ayr Racecourse
Ranked #8 of 40 things to do in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Silver Package Restaurant”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had the silver package within the restaurant, this included drinks. The Restaurant was overbooked and service was poor, on one occasion I had to ask three times for my drink order to be met. Although there was a choice of menu the first course was served to us and then we was asked if we preferred an alternative ! Shame really as we had been there before and was disappointed as before we had really enjoyed ourselves.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    74
    26
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gee Up”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great Day out and always a great day out take in the special meal offer for a special day then think about your choice of horses and jockeys for the meetings you'll maybe surprise yourself perhaps!!
wow I love it here and there are lots of home jockeys and trainers to think about, the atmosphere can be electric........wil I win or won't I excitement or exhilaration until you're horse passes the post and what about the trainer and his horses give it think yes I'll go there

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely course Friendly People”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

A lovely course that you could see all the way round. Free parking easy access.
Foul weather but it didn't deter us.
The race goers were so friendly spoke to more people on the day than at previous 27 courses all put together.

Will go again

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun day at the races 10th October”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We attended the races for a great day out with our elderly friend. We arrived early and secured a place in the disabled parking right outside the venue door. We chose our table inside facing the winning post. This was a great view point to spend the day. The chairs are wooden and can get uncomfortable if sat on all day for our elderly friend. Next time we will take a cushion.

We had a fab time placing bets once we understood that not every book maker used the same techniques and also one only took £5 or more bets each way!!

We ate at the burger cafe and it was reasonable for what we had. Basic food but filling.

The toilets where lovely and clean with extras including moisturiser. Facilities are good for the price that you pay £15 for a day ticket.

We will return another year.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell Green, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a day!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to be invited to one of the sponsors for the Ayr gold cup boxes! What can we say - WOW! What a great day, the staff were very attentive and very friendly! The food was beautiful! The staff at the tote were great always smiling and ready to help out when needed! The facilities were the best I have come across at a racecourse even outside the boxes! As a seasoned racecourse goer I would reccomend a day at Ayr races

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lady-Ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Races at Ayr Racecourse also viewed

 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Races at Ayr Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing