We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Topper of a Restraunt ”
Review of Brig O Doon Hotel

Brig O Doon Hotel
Ranked #19 of 186 Restaurants in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $52
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Topper of a Restraunt ”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Brig o doon hotel has to be one of the most beautiful little hotels in the whole of Scotland. Located in a very historical part of the country. We ate at the restaurant and the food was magnificent. From the moment we walked in we were welcomed by the staff who took our coats and showed us to our seats. The food was served in a professional manner and tasted amazing. If you are ever near the small town of alloway, go to the brig o doon for lunch. You won't be disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    82
    28
    31
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Strathaven
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had dinner in the hotel restaurant on 26 October (party of four). The staff were excellent and service was outstanding from the minute we walked in the door. This hotel caters for many weddings especially at the weekend and there was one reception taking place while we ate in the brasserie. My fears of noise were totally unfounded and we enjoyed our meal in perfect peace. Food was excellent although the portions could have been slightly larger - maybe dependent on us asking for side orders; however the size of the excellent sundaes made up for that and we were quite satisfied after consuming these.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveStrathaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were most disappointed by our recent experience in the restaurant. We have eaten there many times before and the food is always excellent and to be fair it was this time also. But the service was dreadful. We booked a table late and it became clear early on that the hotel should not have taken our booking as the restaurant was clearly too busy for the staff to handle. We were met in the foyer and we asked if we could have a pre meal drink in the holding bar. We sat there for 15 minutes waiting for someone to appear behind the bar and it then took another 5 minutes to bring our drinks. We were the only people in the bar!

The service in the restaurant was woefully slow. The wait was entertaining though as we watched a party of 6 complaining about the fact that two of the main courses arrived and 10 minutes later the others were still not there, nor were the sides!

The food, when it came to us was excellent but spoiled by the wait.

The restaurant needs to staff up!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidW_Ayr_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous service and food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I recently had my birthday meal at the Brig O Doon House hotel and was delighted and thrilled with the attentive staff and delicious meal. The chef surprised and delighted us by writing "Happy Birthday" in chocolate around the plate of my desert. It was a lovely touch and completely took us by surprise. I eat out at a lot of restaurants and the Brig O' Doon is not only reasonably priced but is also located at a wonderful romantic setting of Robert Burns Gardens with an excellent chef and super attentive staff to boot. Perfect for weddings and or family functions or just an intimate meal - a real gem of a find, I will certainly be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caledonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in lovely setting”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The setting, exterior and interior of this hotel is picture perfect and this extends to the restaurant where we enjoyed an excellent evening meal. The meal, ambience and service were so good that a stay in the hotel is being planned.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DickieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brig O Doon Hotel also viewed

 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Brig O Doon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing