We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, beautiful & fabulous hosts!”
Review of Greenan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenan Lodge
Ranked #31 of 54 Ayr B&B and Inns
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, beautiful & fabulous hosts!”
Reviewed May 22, 2008

My partner and I stayed here over a weekend to attend a party which was being held in Ayrshire. Stumbled across the website when browsing the internet and thought the place looked a lot more inviting than many of the faceless 'travelodge' type hotels which were on offer in the area.

I was initially a little wary about booking when I read the one negative review on tripadvisor, but having stayed here I find that it couldn't be further from the truth!

The hosts Alan and Helen couldn't be more helpful - even running us to the party on the Friday night (we never even asked!). The room was spotless and beautifully decorated without a hint of the pink which I was expecting from the other review.

The breakfast was wonderful too - freshly prepared and not at all greasy. All local produce too which is often hard to find when get your breakfast in a hotel. I'm not sure how Helen made the grilled tomatoes which came with the breakfast but I've never tasted anything as good before or since!

My partner and I have already decided to take some time out to visit again just to get away for a weekend - the walks along the shore are heavenly!

I just wish every hotel provided the same level of hospitality when visiting - a pleasure to stay!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stimpy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
37
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Redhill
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We stayed here just after easter, on the recommendation of friends who have been coming here for the last 5 years. We did not regret it! From the minute we arrived we were looked after by the hosts as if we were one of the family. Nothing was too much bother ..... including a lift to the local restaurant one rainy night!
The rooms are beautiful with many lovely touches and the one we had actually was a suite with a lovely bathroom. We slept like logs each night. The place is spotlessly clean. Breakfast was first-class and better than we have had in some posh hotels. All-in-all it was a great break for us in one of the best places we have ever stayed. Worth every one of its 4 stars...and more!!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank emmasarnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2008

I stayed here recently with my partner for a weekend while visiting friends in the area, and I must say it is one of the best establishments we have ever stayed at.

The room was beautifully done and we slept like a log!

Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice.

We were looked after very well, and made to feel very much at home. We will be going back in the summer to play some golf and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Liked — Very classy!
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Stayed here for a couple of nights when we attended a friend's wedding. The room was okay - clean but small - but the decor was vile. In fact it would be hard to imagine a more ugly combination of colours, patterns and nasty furniture.

The owner was friendly but very inflexible and would only serve breakfast at 8.30 despite our request to eat 30 minutes earlier as we had to leave for our wedding. We managed to get breakfast the day after but it was gross. Cheap fatty sausages and bacon, over-cooked eggs and thin watery beans. The hideous pink frilly theme continues in the dining room.

Credit cards aren't accepted - only cash or cheques.

Sadly this place is like most B&Bs I've been to in the UK and it's not surprising that the budget hotel chains are taking over. If only they made their environment a little more welcoming and stopped trying to save every last penny by serving inedible breakfasts, the British B&B industry would be the envy of the world.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.8 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
862 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
0.0 mi away
Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Ayrs & Graces
Ayrs & Graces
#14 of 54 in Ayr
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenan Lodge

Property: Greenan Lodge
Address: 39 Dunure Road | Doonfoot, Ayr KA7 4HR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Greenan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenan Hotel Ayr
Greenan Lodge Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing