We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant place to stay in Ayr, with welcoming and caring hosts”
Review of Greenan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenan Lodge
Ranked #31 of 53 Ayr B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in Ayr for one night to break up our journey from the Scottish highlands back home to Bristol, and to explore a part of Scotland we'd not been to before. Greenan Lodge is a very well run guest house. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The internal decor in the hotel is a quite an unusual and individual style. The hosts were very congenial and we were made to feel very welcome. The breakfasts were of a good standard. Dogs are welcome. There is off street parking and the hotel is well placed to explore the coastline south of Ayr. One of us had a health mishap while staying here and we were very touched by the concern shown to us. We would recommend Greenan Lodge to other travellers staying in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_and_Martyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 59 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

Greenan Lodge in Doonfoot (by Ayr) is a destination B&B--come to Scotland just to stay here. Located in the heart of Robert Burns' country, Helen and Howard will make your stay comfortable and memorable. Greenan is only a five minute drive away from the Burns Birthhouse and new Burns' Museum. The house is lovely and the room we had was huge--actually a suite. There is a large guest lounge as well. Breakfast was very well done and we spent an extra hour over breakfast talking golf with Howard. Put this one on your list for your next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed a 2 day break here on 11th and 12th september,the rooms were so very tastefully decorated as was the whole property, Helen was wonderful and could have done more to make our stay most perfect, My husband and i were accompaniede by my 78 year old mother who has partial vision and limited mobility, well she slept like a log and was more than comfortable, (Helen did offer my mum a choice of 2 rooms, for her needs, this was exceptional and thankyou.)
Breakkie was on the mark with a full varity of cereals, fruit, including strawberries, watermelon and plums amongst others, also yoghurts.The main course was a traditional Brtish breakfast, with a potato cake/scone, really enjoyable and no grease in sight.
I would 100% recommend Greenan lodge for an exceptional break.Thanks Helen

Room Tip: We had room no 3 it was the business
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobble0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We visited the Greenan Lodge for 3 nights in July as we were attending a family wedding at the Brig O Doon hotel which was close by.
Helen was lovely and gave us a much needed cup of tea and some cake on arrival which was a lovely touch (wouldn't get that at Premier Inn!).
The rooms we had were spacious and homely and had everything we needed.
We were very impressed that we were able to pick what we wanted for a cooked breakfast. Helen and Alan made us feel at home and we felt very relaxed here.
I was especially impressed when Helen phoned me at home to tell me we had left a few items behind and she very kindly posted these to us.
Overall, a lovely stay and we would definitely recommend very highly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyTash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here after attending a wedding at Brig O Doon. We had a great time at the wedding and Helen and Allan proved themselves to be great hosts. We had a lovely welcome on arrival and the room was very nice and clean.
A really decent sleep and a pleasant breakfast. Allan even went out of his way a ran me round to the hotel to collect my car.
Would look forward to staying here again and would recommend Greenan Lodge to others

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnw046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed for two days and found literary everything first class.

Room Tip: Just book it and enjoy your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed at Greenan Lodge to attend a family wedding in the Brig o' Doon and had a fantastic time.
Helen and Alan are the perfect hosts, so much so that we were made to feel like part of the family.
We arrived late on a wet Friday night and were welcomed with a smile and treated to tea and biscuits in the sumptuous guests lounge.
Rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable, warm and well appointed.
Delicious cooked breakfast with unlimited tea and coffee (fruit juice, cereals, yoghurt etc. also available).
If we were to visit Ayr again, we would definitely make the Greenan Lodge our 1st port of call.
Congratulations and well done to Helen and Alan for your outstanding service and facilities... Faultless 
Pam, John & Molly - North Wales

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly_denbigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
2.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#8 of 17 in Ayr
237 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ayrs & Graces
Ayrs & Graces
#13 of 53 in Ayr
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Coila Guest House
Coila Guest House
#9 of 53 in Ayr
242 reviews
2.1 mi away
Miller House Guest House
2.1 mi away
Rosemount House
Rosemount House
#10 of 53 in Ayr
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenan Lodge

Address: 39 Dunure Road | Doonfoot, Ayr KA7 4HR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenan Hotel Ayr
Greenan Lodge Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing