We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”
Review of Queens Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queens Guest House
Ranked #28 of 54 Ayr B&B and Inns
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Spur of the moment break got this through Tripadvisor. Excellent, rooms were clean and comfortable,very high standard. Breakfast was great,the owners were friendly and extremely helpful on what to do in Ayr, nothing was a problem. Free parking permit, B & B you can visit in the knowledge that you will not be disappointed, no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Room 4 had a nice view of the sea, but as it is on the top floor no good if you have difficulties cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
12
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We happened upon this B&B one rainy evening and got a very warm welcome. Rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was great. My children were delighted with meeting their lovely little dog too.The owners were friendly and extremely helpful on what to do in Ayr too, directed us to a fantastic ice crem shop.Parking was easy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBMeurou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The owners were very welcoming, Polite and really nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Once in a while you come across a jewel in a crown and this is it. Like another review states this B & B does not rate 22nd and can only be based on the fact that it has only received 13 reviews so far. The new owner took over the property less than 12 months ago and since then she has redecorated to a very modern high standard. The owners could not have been more accommodating and friendly. The rooms are superb in every respect and the breakfast was top class with a good choice of cereal, fruit, yogurts, cheeses etc and a cooked breakfast.

You also have the freedom of a beautiful walled garden and garden furniture to relax in either with a nice cup of tea or glass of wine. At £50 per night this is a B & B you can visit in the knowledge that you will not be disappointed.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Dont think this guest house gets as many reviews as it should and I'd be very surprised if there were 21 better places to stay in Ayr.

We stayed in room 3 on Friday and Saturday night.

The room was much bigger than most hotel rooms tend to be, lots of space even with the double and single beds. The en-suite was fairly large too with a decent shower. There were plenty electrical sockets for charging ipods and ds's etc. The free wifi worked well despite Jackson's reservations and the dvd player was an unexpected bonus as well.

Breakfast was nice and well cooked with lots of tea and toast and there was a fair selection of cereals also.

Must also mention Thai, what a fantastic wee dog.

All in all we had a great stay at the Queens Guest House and we would definitely stay again if we're ever back in Ayr.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigseve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

If I had to pick the best overall accommodation on a recent three-week Scottish trip, it would be the Queens Guest House in Ayr. The location was extremely good, conveniently near both the town centre and the beach, but very quiet. The back-facing room was quite large enough, with an excellent ensuite bathroom, and a very interesting view looking toward the town centre over rows of nineteenth-century walled gardens (see photo). Most important, Eileen and Jackson were wonderful hosts, very friendly and always eager to help us in any way. When we were puzzling about bus transportation to Culzean Castle (see photo), which is in a rural location twelve miles away, our hosts quickly volunteered to provide free transportation. Their son Adam took us to Culzean, and Eileen and Jackson picked us up when we called after our sightseeing. In addition, Jackson (an excellent cook for the very generous breakfasts) is a very talented photographer, and Eileen is an actress and film director, so the conversations were interesting and wide-ranging. "Home away from home" is usually an exaggeration, but not this time. What a delightful experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnDallas_Texas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

A bargain accommodation in a great location==would recommend for a variety of reasons ==good hearted couple with the intention of making you feel right at home. This is a very at-home guest house with a remarkable collection of books==we loved it

Room Tip: In the off-season phone direct for the best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galway1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.5 mi away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
0.8 mi away
Craigie Guest House
Craigie Guest House
#31 of 54 in Ayr
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Burnside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Ardwell Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#5 of 54 in Ayr
327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Guest House

Property: Queens Guest House
Address: 10 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Scottish Welcome awaits you at the Queens Guest House. Come and join Jackson and Eileen at their family-run guest house in Queens Terrace, Ayr providing very comfortable accommodation for your stay in Ayrshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing