We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very family friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martins Bar & Grill

Martins Bar & Grill
Ranked #45 of 184 Restaurants in Ayr
Price range: $25 - $49
Cuisines: International, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very family friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stumbled into Martin's Bar today off the beach with two tired three year olds and a baby - what a lucky find. The food was delicious and fresh, the service great and the attention to detail for the kids brilliant. I've never eaten out anywhere before where we've been given super kid friendly cups with built in straws and special colourful children's cutlery. I was very impressed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrJoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Quiet and not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited here for our anniversary and didn't stay for our full meal. It was delivered to our table by a very pleasant young lady but was unfortunately cold. We sent it back only to have it returned a few minutes later still cold. Very disappointed

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AyrshireGirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“what a lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

the food was second to none our family and ourselves were bowled over with the quality and presentation also the staff were excellent we are definetly going back

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hgmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“NIce but very quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was a nice dinner, I had the Thai curry and my girlfriend had the burger. The curry was nice but didnt really taste like a thai curry. The staff were very helpful and nice. The only thing which I thought was strange is that the restaurant was very quiet when all the other restaurants were really busy

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamesrichardskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mixed review ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I went for a family lunch . I have been wanting to go for a long time to try the food here as you read reviews and think you will have a lovely meal .
I say a mixed review becouse who said their lunch was nice and others said it was average .
My starter was very salty I think they over done with the soya and I was lucky I had one noodle on the plate . I was not the only person who thought that .
The meals were not that hot when they came out . As it was not busy you would expect nice hot meals and plates , food cooked there and then. .
My friend who had a caesare salad asked without the capers said rather than tasting of chicken it was very fishy .
So did the capers get picked out !!!
For the standard of restaurant you would think a salad would be freshly made .
My uncle who had a shepherd pie said he is still looking for the meat that was suppose to be in it .
At the end of our meal we all had teas and coffee . A bit over priced for a small cup of tea £2.95 each . 3 people had tea they came with a pot of tea poured out the tea and took the pot away . A bit much nearly £9 for a small cup of tea . They could have left the pot at that price .

The restaurant is lovely inside .

The staff friendly but the lunch a bit disappointing .

Helpful?
Thank cats68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martins Bar & Grill also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Martins Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing