We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIce but very quiet”

Martins Bar & Grill
Ranked #44 of 185 Restaurants in Ayr
Price range: $25 - $49
Cuisines: International, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“NIce but very quiet”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was a nice dinner, I had the Thai curry and my girlfriend had the burger. The curry was nice but didnt really taste like a thai curry. The staff were very helpful and nice. The only thing which I thought was strange is that the restaurant was very quiet when all the other restaurants were really busy

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamesrichardskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Mixed review ”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I went for a family lunch . I have been wanting to go for a long time to try the food here as you read reviews and think you will have a lovely meal .
I say a mixed review becouse who said their lunch was nice and others said it was average .
My starter was very salty I think they over done with the soya and I was lucky I had one noodle on the plate . I was not the only person who thought that .
The meals were not that hot when they came out . As it was not busy you would expect nice hot meals and plates , food cooked there and then. .
My friend who had a caesare salad asked without the capers said rather than tasting of chicken it was very fishy .
So did the capers get picked out !!!
For the standard of restaurant you would think a salad would be freshly made .
My uncle who had a shepherd pie said he is still looking for the meat that was suppose to be in it .
At the end of our meal we all had teas and coffee . A bit over priced for a small cup of tea £2.95 each . 3 people had tea they came with a pot of tea poured out the tea and took the pot away . A bit much nearly £9 for a small cup of tea . They could have left the pot at that price .

The restaurant is lovely inside .

The staff friendly but the lunch a bit disappointing .

Helpful?
Thank cats68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic...”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Food was fantastic and waiting staff very good although a bit quiet. The restaurant it's self sits in a beautiful building. Will definitely be back...

Helpful?
Thank Sleepwalker75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

we were guests at the Fairfield hotel and we found the food and service at Martins Bar and Grill so wonderful that we dined there nearly every night of our stay in Ayr. fabulous food - presentation and taste were totally wonderful. lovely friendly staff both at the bar and the grill. definitely will go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank stormchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Excellent standard of food from both the main menu and rosette menu. Caesar Salad starter more like a main course in terms of portion size.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doonhamer_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martins Bar & Grill also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Martins Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing