We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Meal; Convenient to Hotel; Wine List++”

Martins Bar & Grill
Ranked #45 of 184 Restaurants in Ayr
Price range: $25 - $49
Cuisines: International, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Marion, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal; Convenient to Hotel; Wine List++”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This modern glass restaurant is the perfect counterpoint to the old-world Fairfield House. Open, airy, and with panoramic views of the Firth of Clyde and sunset over Arron Isle. Started with the local smoked salmon with blinis, creme fraisch, and caviar-which was wonderful! I chose the aged fillet of beef, with a perfect peppercorn sauce, and finished with our favorite; sticky toffee pudding with vanilla ice cream. An absolutely delicious meal. My cousin chose a bright and refreshing white wine, from Martin's extensive wine list, and reported that it accompanied her fresh fish entree perfectly. The service was superior, and the guests were a lively mix of hotel guests, local regulars, and festive travelers. We thoroughly enjoyed our gourmet dinner at Martin's Grill, at the Fairfield House Hotel, in Ayr, Scotland!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Were we in the same restaurant”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked this restaurant based on all the previous great reviews. We started with the Indian combo which was dire, we are not comparing it with combos from Indian restaurants, it did not even come close to combos available in many supermarkets. Our mains were halibut which was tasty but the sirloin which was supposed to be medium was over done. The onion rings were cold and it did not help matters that this course was served on a cold wooden chopping board. There would have to be many changes before we would ever consider going back. Ditch the combo and the chopping boards and purchase plates and a thermometer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the adjoining hotel and ate here for lunch and dinner it was excellent food if al a carte. The meat and fish used were the best quality local produce found in the area and well presented. Only problem was the price of drinks which were excessive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol080959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Food excellence”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Martins grill , fairfield tower burger. Is the best in the world. I have been in 22 countries and its the best ever. Well done for looking after the hungry traveler. Love it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsharp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1st class dining experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

this restaurant has an intimate atmosphere with a stunning view over to Arran, the staff are great, have been here a few times and have never been disappointed. My steak was done to a perfect medium rare but my favourite was the game

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 360aye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martins Bar & Grill also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Martins Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing