We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality dining and relaxing environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carrick Lodge Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality dining and relaxing environment”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I have been to The Carrick Lodge on several occasions and have never been disappointed by the quality of the food and the warmth of the welcome. Diners are warmly greeted at the door and seated one of many interconnecting rooms that are all tastefully furnished. The food arrived piping hot and beautifully presented and neither of us could fault a mouthful ... except to complain that we'd ate too much!! The meal was finished off with coffee and home baked cookies which were delicious too.

The menu consists of approximately 15 each of starters, mains and desserts so there is enough choice. Service is attentive but never rushed. We were there, to our surprise when we left, for two hours. Prices are reasonable and I've paid higher in other restaurants for food that was far inferior in quality and taste. They also have two and three course specials which are very good value.

I over-heard one of a group of five gents seated at the next table who said to his host upon leaving, "This is a wonderful place, good choice!" And I completely agree with him.

I used to lunch there weekly with the ladies from work when I worked in Ayr and I miss my weekly Cullen Skink that I can highly recommend too.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cordelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    33
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
53
83
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recently returned to Carrick Lodge Hotel for dinner, and as before, it was so good!
Welcome is always warm, and service just tops!
Menu choices are lovely, and so hard to choose from the tempting menu!
We had house wines, and again, just right with our food which was so beautifully presented, and tasted heavenly!
We shall return as soon as we can ! Highly recommend this lovely Hotel.

Room Tip: We are local, so did not stay at Hotel. Lunch menu is terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

came across the hotel with family lookingfor lunch we were staying at sundrum castle for the easter weekend lunch on saturday was excellent booked sunday dinner could not fault it excellent service the nicessed meal ever tasted anytime we go to ayr this will be our first stop

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Went there on Easter Sunday with my husband and sister-in law,(who lives in Ayr). We have been before and the menu was just as delicious as then. The staff are very friendly (and no loitering.) the food should suit everybody(unless they are very fussy). Children are catered for too. We will probably be back again in future.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lesleydougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed for one night while visiting family. Nice room with tea/coffee making facilities. Iron and ironing board in cupboard in room.
Staff welcoming and helpful, didn't eat in restaurant we only had breakfast which was usual full english and other choices, no vegetarian cooked choices unless you eat eggs but there was porridge, cereal etc . Very pleasant lady takes your order.

Very nice bathroom with shower but it was freezing, only small towel rail for heating and single glazing which was draughty. Bedroom was warm in comparison.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melmer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Top quality for a dinner with the wife. Obviously a very telented chef. he bill didn't break the bank either. The staff were excellent and explained how every dish on the menue was both cooked and presented. One of the top eateries in Ayr. Highly recommended. We'll be making this one of the restaurants on our regular circuit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roystonc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Went here for lunch with 2 friends. Been to their sister restaurant the Blair in Auchentiber and knew they had a gluten free menu, so didn't have to phone ahead.

The meal was fantastic, simple things like having gluten free rolls to go with the soup and not going without bread to dip are nice touches that make the Carrick Lodge and The Blair a great dining experience. The carrot and coriander soup is the best soup I have ever tasted and it got 9/10 from my friend who also ordered it. The Cullen Skink ordered by my other friend was "the best" he was ever tasted and he's a Cullen Skink expert!

For the main course I had the gluten free winter lamb stew with root veg and mash......simply delicious. My friends both ordered panini's and fries and both enjoyed them although one friend did comment she never saw the stew on the "normal menu" or she would have opted for it because it looked fantastic.

Best meal I have had in a long time and very reasonable priced. Marked down as good not excellent, as the waiter did not bring back the change when we paid the bill and obviously "assumed" it was a tip which I thought was a bit cheeky.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemar37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
0.9 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrick Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrick Lodge Hotel

Property: Carrick Lodge Hotel
Address: 46 Carrick Road, Ayr KA7 2RE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#5 Family Hotel in Ayr
#8 Business Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrick Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Carrick Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrick Hotel Ayr
Carrick Lodge Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing