We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“p d dempsey”
Review of The Fox & Willow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fox & Willow
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

came across the hotel with family lookingfor lunch we were staying at sundrum castle for the easter weekend lunch on saturday was excellent booked sunday dinner could not fault it excellent service the nicessed meal ever tasted anytime we go to ayr this will be our first stop

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 237 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went there on Easter Sunday with my husband and sister-in law,(who lives in Ayr). We have been before and the menu was just as delicious as then. The staff are very friendly (and no loitering.) the food should suit everybody(unless they are very fussy). Children are catered for too. We will probably be back again in future.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank lesleydougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed for one night while visiting family. Nice room with tea/coffee making facilities. Iron and ironing board in cupboard in room.
Staff welcoming and helpful, didn't eat in restaurant we only had breakfast which was usual full english and other choices, no vegetarian cooked choices unless you eat eggs but there was porridge, cereal etc . Very pleasant lady takes your order.

Very nice bathroom with shower but it was freezing, only small towel rail for heating and single glazing which was draughty. Bedroom was warm in comparison.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melmer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Top quality for a dinner with the wife. Obviously a very telented chef. he bill didn't break the bank either. The staff were excellent and explained how every dish on the menue was both cooked and presented. One of the top eateries in Ayr. Highly recommended. We'll be making this one of the restaurants on our regular circuit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Roystonc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Went here for lunch with 2 friends. Been to their sister restaurant the Blair in Auchentiber and knew they had a gluten free menu, so didn't have to phone ahead.

The meal was fantastic, simple things like having gluten free rolls to go with the soup and not going without bread to dip are nice touches that make the Carrick Lodge and The Blair a great dining experience. The carrot and coriander soup is the best soup I have ever tasted and it got 9/10 from my friend who also ordered it. The Cullen Skink ordered by my other friend was "the best" he was ever tasted and he's a Cullen Skink expert!

For the main course I had the gluten free winter lamb stew with root veg and mash......simply delicious. My friends both ordered panini's and fries and both enjoyed them although one friend did comment she never saw the stew on the "normal menu" or she would have opted for it because it looked fantastic.

Best meal I have had in a long time and very reasonable priced. Marked down as good not excellent, as the waiter did not bring back the change when we paid the bill and obviously "assumed" it was a tip which I thought was a bit cheeky.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemar37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a famaly party in ayr. The hotel was £5 in a taxi away from the centre of town! We got a fantastic reception from the staff who were all very friendly. We stayed in the ailsa Craig room it was very nice great shower and lots of storage space! The breakfast was good as well.

So I bet you are wondering after all that good stuff why it only gets 3/5 well it is the worst sleep I have EVER had! The bed room was a good size so why put a small bed In and I think the mattress was done!

This would have been a 5star stay if only the beds were better!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stopped overnight at this lovely small hotel. Very clean, and tastefully decorated. Good comfortable beds and attention to detail in good quality provisions.

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the restaurant food, which was excellent. The wine too was very good.

Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozymandias57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
897 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
712 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox & Willow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox & Willow

Address: 46 Carrick Road, Ayr KA7 2RE, Scotland (Formerly Carrick Lodge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#5 Family Hotel in Ayr
#8 Business Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $134 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox & Willow 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Fox & Willow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrick Hotel Ayr
The Fox & Willow Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing