We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$101
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ayr(Ayr)(Great Value!)
$45
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Western House Hotel(Ayr)
$80
$78
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Ayr)(Great Value!)
$82
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$71
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
57
59
27
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
59
27
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe next doorstatue squarewee pubhotel bartrain stationno liftgreat showerfish and chipssingle roomtown centrepubs and restaurantsbit datedpleasant staythis lovely hotelbusiness tripnice roomenjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 168 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2011

i ended up at this hotel late on a Saturday night, as the previous hotel i had booked into was a complete disgrace(ayr station ).brilliantly situated as its just across from the station.bedroom and bathroom were spotless and all in good condition .the LCD TV with free view was a nice surprise.the dinner in the bar was great.and thanks to the night porter who was so kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunworshipper012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This small hotel is in the centre of Ayr, very convenient for the railway station and shops, cafes and restaurants. This is a small hotel, so there is no lift, which might be a problem for some.
The room was clean and comfortable, with a nice spacious bathroom. The decor is rather old fashioned (a bit of white paint around windows and doors would work wonders), but not oppressive. Bed was comfortable, and unlike some reviewers, we had no problems with street noise, although it was a Saturday night. One huge relief here was being able to open the window properly - unlike many hotel chains which now deny their guests this basic right to fresh air. The only thing I didn't like was the music playing at the bottom of the staircase - you couldn't hear it in the room, but why have it at all?

Check in was excellent - the staff were really welcoming and efficient.

Breakfast is in the cafe next door - lovely coffee, nice service, lovely muesli with fresh strawberries and blueberries, but the traditional breakfast only ok (potato scone tasted as if it had been cooked in lard, sausage not great, 'multigrain' bread toast rather dry). However, there were vegetarian and continental options. But why oh why is it impossible to find any hotel in Scotland offering kippers for breakfast? Kippers are a Scottish speciality, they are delicious, so why no kippers?

Overall a good choice for one or two nights in Ayr.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poussis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

the a&g is at top of town centre,therefore it is a busy part of town ,with shops ,pubs etc in the vicinity.It is a good base to start from ,though the car park is on the small side but it is limited for space.For what you pay rooms are adequate and clean although a bit old fashioned.Could perhaps upgrade tv,s as they are a bit on the old side but all in all a comfortable stay.We have stayed over night on a few occassions and would always book here first.Have never had problems with noise ,seagulls, or feisty receptionists!!!! Saying that it is a hotel in a busy town centre so if you dont want noise there are plenty other options in ayr where you will undoubtably pay more for that privelage.So all in all a nice family hotel which could do with a little upgrading in certain areas,would certainly book her e again.

Room Tip: fantastic shower,tv a bit on the old side but comfortable and clean no complaints
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cygnusdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Visited Ayr for a race meeting and booked this hotel for location.... good find! Very friendly receptionist, nice clean rooms, comfy beds and great shower! 2 mins walk from train station, very central. An ideal base for your stay in
Ayr.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We decided to try here seeing as our previous favourite restaurant, the Hollybush Inn, had stopped serving 10oz Fillet steaks and we had noticed the very same advertised on their menu. On arrival there were very few diners but we surmised that perhaps it got busier later. The place looked tired but we are not fussy so long as the food is good. There was a bell to ring for service and after a few tries we summoned the surliest waitress in town. We asked for a table for 2 and were curtly told to 'sit anywhere & I'll get you in a minute'. The drinks arrived - the wine was awful and my husband had ordered a large fresh orange - what was slammed down was a baby bottle with the explanation 'that's all we've got' - no offer to double it up or exchange for something warranting more than a mouthful. We ordered and the starters arrived in decent time. I had goats cheese which tasted fine but my husband had the prawn cocktail and discovered that it was still frozen! I don't have a problem with restaurants defrosting prawns to order but when the chef can serve lumps of ice in a prawn cocktail without either noticing or caring then you wonder what is happening to your £25 steak main behind the scenes. With that in mind we decided that if the quality of the starter reflected the care given in meal preparation then we were not willing to part with almost £100 for a meal here and advised the waitress of the problem. She glared at us and told us 'it would only have been a mistake' - yes, it certainly was a mistake, surely no chef sends out frozen food knowingly, but obviously nobody in this place has the experience to train the staff that under those circumstances you apologise profusely and make sure that the rest of the customers' experience is nothing short of brilliant. They just don't seem to care here. We told her we would pay for the drinks and go elsewhere. We ended up with a lovely meal at another local place. This restaurant looks great from outside and on it's website, but be warned - this could easily be the worst restaurant in Ayr......go anywhere but here to spend your money and your evening. It gets one star in this review simply because there's no option to give zero!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracy6167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews