We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD TIME HAD BY ALL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ayr
donegal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GOOD TIME HAD BY ALL”
Reviewed April 9, 2010

spent easter in craig tara with my family and really enjoyed it!! except for the first night there was alot of noise coming from another caravan further down from where we were it practically went on all night but next morning the people who caused the racket were thrown off the site. the rest of our break went very well i have to say the staff at the park were very helpful and friendly. we ate in the mash and barrel one of the nights and it was very nice and reasonably priced. we will definatly come back it suits all it can be quiet and relaxing or as busy as you want to make it. Our mobile was perfect for us 3 bedrooms warm and clean etc.. haven holidays get my thumbs up!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonegalFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    558
    295
    222
    343
See reviews for
1,504
105
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
glenrothes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

What can i say a filthy bog. The touring pitches were quite obviously an afterthough it was a run down piece of ground with no drainage whatsoever. The changing room's at the pool were disgusting bins were overflowing with dirty nappies think i'll be staying away from haven in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happycaravaner66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ayr hotels

west lothian
2 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2010

went for week-end and was not dissapointed.
book through sun ang got weekend for £40 each great value.
Caravan was basic but spotless.
toilets spotless and no problems with staff.shower was blocked and phoned reception.maintence man was down within 30 mins and fixed it.
drinks and food reasonably priced .shop a bit more expensive than tesco,but thats to be expected.entertainment was limited at this time but had over 18's karraoke in mash and barrel at night.Have been to chalets with family and would not go to them again.well worth booking caravan.have already booked to go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kassaWestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLERAINE,NORTHERN IRELAND
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Ive been visiting craig tara since may 2006 we went half board then and when i booked they should of seen with young child but when we arrived they had stuck us up stairs with a young 12 month old child and this was the case with other young families as well if it rained the stairs where very slippy. My wee girl had woke up crying and we had settled her but the people next door decided to bang bang bang but when we compliated to the security it was all sorted out with no problems the half board was great back then the only downside is that the food dosent start till 5pm the entertainment opens at 6pm i used to have to rush my dinner in me in order to get a good table for the entertainment because back then u used to have to queue outside the bonga wonga beach club inorder to get a good seat the only downside was that one of the lights in the entertainment during the day burst and lucky enough none of it hit my daugther because then she would of been scared for life because it was like a hot knife slicing through butter but when i compliant to the fun stars they cleaned it up straight away. We booked to go back in may 2007 went half board this time too but stay in an upgrade of accommodation everything was changed the first year we went half board there was a separte kids bit for food which was no longer there it was all under one bit it was then that we decided to change for the following year to self-catering so in 2008 we had booked a self-catering apartment which we requested a downstairs one because of having a young child but when we arrived to the park we were given an upstairs one which i complained about because the stairs were to dangerous if wet i was told they were fully booked till monday which we could changed by that point it was too late because we had arrived on the sat and to wait till the monday was too late the only down side about staying in the apartment was that we couldnt get the outside door open had to go back and forth to reception sereval times then we finally got into to the apartment the only other downside is that there was only one oven dish to cook with! how do they expect u to cook with one oven dish, the shop on the complex is dear but we got the bus into ayr and went to iceland and they delivered it into the park. The apartment next door to ours was being cleaned and i had a noisey there was a fruit bowl in theres, cd player etc which none of these was in ours. The entertainment was brilliant and always have been before we left we booked for 2009 which we went for a caravan superior plus the carvan was clean and tidy the only downside was due to it being april it was freezing also that it was my daughters birthday and we had arrived on her birthday which is 25th of april she was four and we were looking forward to her leading the charcter night time parade to only find out that they dont do that anymore which it had been happening since we had been going to the park since 2006 although the fun star neil was brilliant he went and sorted out for my daughter to go back stage to meet the charcters at such short notice she really enjoyed this Yet again we went self-catering and got our shopping delivered into the park from iceland again which it was the same delivery fella from the previous year. We did eat sereval times in burger king and the mash n barrel which we loved the mash n barrel the food is lovely in there, i wouldnt ever eat out of the turnberry gardens again because of the way the food was back in 2007! We have booked again for april 2010 from the 23-30th of april and we saved 105 plus a free upgrade to a prestige caravan which would of cost 60 quid so im well pleased and cant wait the fun stars every year are brilliant through out and the staff are friendly. we did hire out a go-kart to go around the park on the last full-day before we left which was brilliant to see the sights we have promised our daughter this year to take her to the farm next door which we have heard nething but promising reports about. I must say i did buy the code for the wi-fi to use in the bonga wonga beach club which i was able to use and use again but i was told by an american woman who was on holiday was told by the receponist that the wi-fi was free which was untrue because i had paid £3.00 quid to pay to use the wi-fi so therefore once i had the code i didnt have to pay for it again. Craig tara changes every year for the better my daughter just loves going there every year!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LYNDSEY0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

I must be honest and say that I am not exactly in Haven's target market - I was here with some family, but would normally never choose this type of holiday. With that said, I did visit the park once as a child back in its glory days of the 1980s, so I had some nostalgia towards the place.

We stayed in one of the "Prestige" caravans and found the living area to be quite nice, but the bedrooms were fairly lacking. The main problem is the lack of space and, in particular, the beds, which are so unbelievably small I don't think I can do them justice with a description. Imagine a bed that is exactly the width of your body when lying flat on your back and you have a good idea of what they're like. You literally can't roll or shift your weight to the side at any point during the night or you'll end up on the floor! I expect a caravan to be a little tight for space, but this was just cramming so many beds into the rooms that it became quite intolerable to actually sleep in.

The main problem with Craig Tara, however, is the sheer lack of facilities within the park. The website displays a whole host of activities, but the reality is somewhat different. There's a swimming pool, which is so small that you wouldn't want to use it if you're over the age of 4, an incredibly small funfair, an amusement arcade which is both run down and a rip off, a large hall with outdated modes of cabaret-style entertainment and the rest is largely just a handful of places to eat and drink. There's a small golf course adjacent to the park as well, but if you're in this part of the world and you want to play golf then take a short trip to any of the wonderful Ayrshire golf courses that are nearby and don't waste your time playing glorified pitch and putt on the course here.

I had expected as much before arriving, but I really don't see what the appeal of a holiday park like this is in 2009. If you want a centre parcs type activity park then this is so far away from that notion that it's a nonsense to even compare them. If you want to visit the wonderful countryside, golf courses and tourist sights near the park then you'll get much better accommodation in a regular hotel for the same price. If you want some entertainment for children then you won't find much here other than a tiny swimming pool, some rip off amusements and what is essentially a traveller's funfair.

Overall, the facilities are poor, everything has a rundown/depressing quality to it and there really is little reason for anyone to want to visit such a place. I doubt it can exist in its present form much longer, so catch it while you can (or not).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blank_frackis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, Cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Just got back from a 4 night stay to Haven at Craig Tara. Not without its down points but we had great fun. Arrived a little early and checking went smoothly, also had chance to say hello to Polly Popkins who was there to greet us!! Drove round to the apartments which looked fine from the outside, upon entering the apts our smiles started to fade :-( They were pretty bad, the décor was definitely passed it, it was dirty and the bed was so uncomfortable we didn't sleep for 2 nights. We decided to clean ourselves instead of loading everything back into the car to drive back to reception and wait for someone to come and clean it. Withih half an hour the apartment was just about acceptable. We complained to reception about the mattress and within 20mins we had a new, much comfier bed. At about 5pm that evening we went for tea, which was fine, there was plenty of choice for all the family, including soup, jacket potatoes, fresh salad, chips and lovely "naughty but nice" puddings. Next we went to the entertainment in the bongo wonga bar. The funstars were great and put on a good show. The only downside was having to move to the atlantic bar half way through the night as there was a private function in the Bonga Wonga. Next morning we were up bright and early for breakfast. Again plenty of choice (bacon, sausage, eggs etc., cereal, toast, croissants, fruit, yoghurt etc., etc.) and we were all happy. Went to morning entertainment for kids which again was good. Off to swimming pool in the afternoon. Changing rooms were acceptable but you need a token for locker which you don't get back when you reopen it. The pools were great loads of slides loads of levels and all seemed clean. One thing to note though was the slides and levels weren't all open at the same time and we had to wait until 11am most days for the big slides to open.
During the week we did many fun things including rollerbooting, laser quest, teddy bears picnic, cake decorating, climbing wall, bungee trampolines, meeting all the Zoo Troop, competitions, dressing up, Halloween party and even a morning exercise session.
For the money we paid for this break during the half term holidays it was cheaper than paying for holiday club for the week and I didn't have to do any cooking!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hexgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2009

I can honestly say that the park need to do some serious refurbishment. The chalet we were in was very very cold. The size of the radiatior was about 40". It didn't even cover the corner it was in. I had 2 small children aged 18 months and a 4 year old. We was up all night with the freezing air. We arrived on the monday and due to go home on the friday. We short our holiday short by leaving the park tuesday 11.00a.m. The food was absolutely disgusting. Try eating cold fried egg etc. water heater in the swimming pool was broken down. The shop is expensive. The whole chalet need to be done right up. Like i say the room is very cold. Might not be so bad in the summer months but with 2 children to consider about we did the right thing in coming home. Before we left i paid for a luxury comfort room and i can't believe what the room would be like before i paid for a upgrade. Very dirty and very damp. The only good thing i could say about that place is the managress who was very understanding and kind. We won't be back, we'll stick with butlins.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jammy7315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
3.0 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
474 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
183 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
2.7 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Dunure Road, Ayr KA7 4LB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craig Tara offer a fun filled, action packed family holiday's in an Idyllic rural setting just outside the town of Ayr. We aim to help make Memories that last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig Tara Hotel Ayr
Craig Tara Ayr
Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing