We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than just a caravan holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ayr
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“More than just a caravan holiday”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our Monday to Friday break at Craig Tara was amazing. We had been to this site before but it was many years ago and oh how things have changed gladly for the better. Our caravan was close to the complex but we had no ptoblem with noise either from the complex or the passers by. The accomadation was in good order, clean and laid out well. Ours was a two bedroom superior whilst my Daughter and her family had a three bedroom standard. The cost between the two was not much more but the layout in the standard van was better.
The facilities were well staffed and there was no problem getting seats for eight of us in the 'Bonga Wonga' beach club though we did go early to make sure. The prices in the bar were much the same as we pay at home possibly slightly more if I'm honest but you don't go on holiday to sit in the caravan all week.
Entertainment was very well planned, lots for the kids early on and dancing for the grown ups later. Even though it was Halloween when we visited and the site was fully booked we were happy with the live band on the Thursday night and the prize bingo for all the family. Lovers of traditional cash bingo will not be disapointed as in the other room the games were held in peace and quiet without children running around.
The pool complex is dated but clean and well staffed the showers were poor but only because they trickled rather than showered. The pool itself is built to keep the kids occupied with long slides for the bigger children and shorter ones for the younger kids (and adults) it's built on three levels which is good because every time you visit it seems it has changed.
Plenty of outdoor parks and even a fun fair the go karts are worth a go but we never got round to those, shame.
The beach although not a great in width it's big enough to walk and enjoy the views.
The Spar store and it's bakery are fairly reasonable but again it's your holiday do what you will, we went to Morrisons in Ayr for some essentials but nearer to the park is a Co-operative supermarket.
We found that eating on site was expensive but the value and quality was worth it. Brigs of Ayr is the main restaurant with a large amount of seating on multi-levels and a complete glazed wall to give you an amazing view of the coast. The service is good once you decide whatyou would like to eat simply go to the bar to order and within a short time your meal is there piping hot and very tasty. We ate there every night and sometimes in the morning for breakfast, they are especially good we found, they serve breakfast from a buffet counter though you can't help yourself the portions are excellent and worth the money.
We did not stray far from the site within our four days but we went to Ayr twice as it's the nearest town from the camp. It is a very nice compact area with lots of shops and centres to keep the ladies and children happy and good pubs and a rather spectacular railway station to explore if you like that kind of thing.
It's quite strange that the first time we went to Craig Tara, my children were about 10-13 years and Haven had not long bought the site it had originally been a Buttlins holiday park but we travelled by coach as we don't drive but we had a fantastic time then as now even though our children have their own families now they do drive which make the experience that much better knowing all your luggage goes from door to door and there is wandering accross the park looking for your caravan. Great holiday thank you Haven.

Room Tip: The best Caravan's are the three room standard They have a better layout and a bigger body givin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tynesidejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you were able to enjoy a fun packed holiday and keep the kids and "the big kids" entertained with the wide range of activities available to you and your family. We have great food choices available to all whether its fast food a snack or a family sit down meal, we have it all.

I hope to welcome you again to Craig Tara in the near future.

Kind Regards


Scott Walmsley
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    545
    287
    219
    334
See reviews for
1,460
96
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived excited about our family holiday, this was the 6th Sun voucher holiday of the year, after wonderful experiences in Great Yarmouth, Kessingland, Caister, at various Parks this would be a week spent with 3 families together. BUT our accommodation was filthy, stinking and shabby, we complained, repairs were done to improve the static vans we were in, 3 of them, we ourselves were moved to a cleaner van but still shabby. Craig Tara facilities,?we spent alot of money on extra activities even though I had paid for the entertainment passes; swimming lessons were good and worth the money, rock climbing, laser combat, archery etc. Good fun, good instructors. The toys for the kids in the show bar are expensive I think at £5+ each for 4 grandchildren that's £20, alot of money I think! You also have to pay extra for the fun fair and karting. My grandson won the fancy dress comp and received a certificate! They took part in the art activities...we really got the most out of our time there. The location near Ayr is good, it is a shame they don't clean up the beach to make the most of it. Ayr is a lovely traditional town, I would go there again but not to Craig Tara. This is the opinion of the 3 families with varying ages from 3years up to 65years.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hi,

We do like our cleaners to ensure the accommodation is cleaned to a very high standard, in addition to this the maintenance team work hard to provide a service to all of our guests.

I am sorry that on this occasion your accommodation was not to the usual standard that we provide at Craig Tara, although we would always want to ensure your accommodation is cleaned and maintained to a very high standard for your arrival.

We will always return to any accommodation or provide alternative should you still be unhappy with the accommodation you are originally allocated in. We are continuously working hard to improve the quality of accommodation we have on offer.

I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed the facilities and attractions available here at Craig Tara.

I would like to hope that you will return in the near future and fully enjoy a much improved accommodation which is cleaned and maintained to a higher standard.

Kind Regards,

Scott Walmsley
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I wasn't looking forward to this holiday after reading so many bad reviews, but for the price we paid I was happy.

We stayed October half term (26th Oct - 2nd Nov)

We stayed in standard accommodation, the caravan although basic was nice, with typical supplies (enough plates, glasses etc) and rather impressed we had a flat screen TV (I've upgraded at previous sites & had CRT TV) it was also clean enough.
Caravan smelt of cigarettes although that's not Haven's fault, they could have sprayed some fabreeze (or equivalent) to help neutralize the smell. I ended up buying a bottle and it did help.

We didn't really bother with evening entertainment, it's always to busy (not enough tables) and on the first evening taking a stroll around the complex this Haven site was the same.

The pool was good, we all loved the slides and splash zone - we found going first thing in the morning was best as got busier the later it got. Again it was clean and well maintained.

I gave 3 out of 5 for this holiday as it is very good value for money, but not 5* accommodation. It was perfect for my family and I as a cheap half term get away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil-lynds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for leaving your feedback, we like to ensure that your first impressions count. We are investing a lot of time and money to improve the quality of service and accommodation on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Scott Walmsley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Been to Craig Tara lots of times, all facilities really good but shop and bar quite pricey. If prices were lower there would be no need to go into Ayr for supplies. It won't stop me going though as have been visiting this park through its various names for the last twenty years .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazandiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your holiday here at Craig Tara. We are extremely proud of the accommodation and facilities we have on offer. We appreciate your comments, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Scott Walmsley
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We arrived on Friday 01-11-13 about an hour before check-in time and decided to take the kids over to the soft play area for a bit. I went into the Spar shop on site and ordered a couple of hot chocolates while the kids played, The soft play area was grubby to say the least and the tables although plastic were stained and dirty, but that was nothing compared to the mens toilet facilities, disgusting is an understatement !! They didn't look as though they had been cleaned in over a month, there was dust sat on everything, no hand soap and they stank! my wife on the other hand said the laddie's W.C was even worse. luckily we had some hand sanitiser in her hand bag or god only knows what we may have caught!

Any way check in time came and we got to look at our caravan bearing in mind this was supposed to be a Prestige, Where do i begin?

1) There were 3 knobs missing off the cooker so you couldn't tell if gas was on or off - severe health and saftey issue.
2) No drinking glasses
3) Missing pillow cases
4) No handle for the grill pan
5) Not one single pan provided
6) They don't provide remotes for the T.V's??? i assume they suspect everyone of being thieves?
7) Furniture was torn
8) Sofa cushions where dirty
9) The kitchen sink didn't drain properly and took roughly 5 mins to drain a full sink.
10) I would have expected a carpet sweeper or mop or even a brush but there was nothing. I had to pick everything up by hand like crisp crumbs and wipe the lino floors by hand with my own wipes as it was raining and lots of muddy foot prints throughout when you came in.

All the above problems should have been picked up and reported by the cleaning staff and we should never have been allowed to stop in a caravan that had such safety issues regards the gas cooker despite all the other issues

We complained and eventually got 4 glasses one of which was chipped...2 saucepans and a frying pan that was only fit for the bin... and a grill pan that didn't even fit the oven.

Later that day there had been some knobs fitted to the cooker when we returned but as soon as you touched them they fell off again.

Well that was the caravan problems.

In the Bonga Wonga beach bar (where the kids entertainment is) there was no children's soft drinks at the bar nor was there any snacks!!! i had to go the shop to get my kids drinks, it was like they had run all the stock down and were not replacing it as they were getting ready to shut down for the season. Many of the machines in the amusements where broken or just didn't work due to lack of maintenance. The place was in desperate need of a good clean and i dont mean just inside, the external was just as bad and didnt look maintained at all.

Half of the health hazzard pool was closed due to whatever reasons, the fun fair was closed, the boating lake was closed, the Mash and Barrel smelt like a sewer.

As we were leaving the site it all finally clicked into place as we noticed a tractor outside of the caravan we were stopping in getting the towing bar ready....THE CARAVAN WE STOPPED IN WAS BEING TAKEN AWAY. i should have realised when we were the only one without the decking outside though you could see where it had been prior to our arrival. They must have just shoved us in that caravan knowing the caravan was due to be moved and wasn't up to "Prestige standard" it was probably off to be down graded.

If it had not been for the Funstars (kids entertainers) and their hard work and entertainment they provided the holiday would have been a complete write off. I shall never return to Craig Tara...EVER!

Though i can recommend Haven at Lakeland and Weymouth.

I will also be righting a letter of complaint to Havens head office about this experience as it was not up to standard by any stretch!

Save your money and go elsewhere there are many many other places to go that are cheaper and better. This site could be amazing and would have been when it was first opened its huge and has pretty much everything (if your lucky and its open or working) such a shame it appears to be unkempt and run down, Come on Haven pull your finger out I've been to your other sites and this one is in need of help!

Room Tip: Ummm Stop somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GavinG1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ayr hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the other reviews I was a little apprehensive about this trip. But there was no reason to be. We had a thoroughly enjoyable family break. The welcome upon arrival was great and within a couple of minutes we were on our way to our accommodation. We had booked a standard apartment as we took the dogs. No problems here. The apartment was clean and presentable. No signs of previous occupants as has been mentioned. The apartment was a little tired looking but it was a standard apartment and the price was fantastic so we really can't complain. We did have a problem with our freezer but this was soon dealt with once reported to reception. The site itself was clean and well maintained. The evening entertainment was great and the Funstars go that extra mile to make sure the kids enjoyed themselves. The Halloween show was fantastic. The bar was reasonably priced although the shop on site was a bit expensive but ok for bits and bobs.
I really can't see what the complaints are about and we had a great time. We will be going again next year.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelostshoe1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for feedback. I am delighted to hear you and your family had a fantastic holiday here at Craig Tara. We always ensure our holiday makers enjoy all the facilities and attractions available and really appreciate your comments.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards,

Scott Walmsley
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked a half term break 26th October to 2nd November in a Superior Plus Caravan.Check in was 45 mins early and on arrival at the van there were no complaints,very clean and tidy and everything in good order.Upholstery was a bit grubby but as it was the end of season I suppose that is to be expected. Our base was in Alloway Village which was very clean and tidy but needs a bit more street lighting at night.

We did not go out every night as the "Bonga Wonga" seemed to be the only venue open most of the week,our children are 13 & 15 and we did not want to go out at 5.30 just to bag a seat,,on previous October visits both venues were open all through the week-the park seemed very busy so thought the demand would be there.We preferred the Brigs of Ayr for an early evening drink and there has been great improvements in there...a lovely venue with good comfy seating.

I have to mention the excellent service from Tegan in The Main Showbar,very courteous and friendly with a smile for everyone,great band called Storm as well on the Friday night,they came all the way from West Yorkshire and were great fun and interacted well with the audience..

Overall enjoyed the break and as you can only give an opinion on your own experiences I feel happy at the cost of the holiday for what we received,perhaps a little more outside entertainment but that's just my opinion

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshireman186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, Manager at Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the accommodation and entertainment here at Craig Tara.

Throughout the season, only one venue is open during the week. The only occasion that both venues are open is during peak season.

I will ensure your comments are passed to Tegan and the entertainments team.

We look forward to welcoming back soon.

Kind Regards,

Scott Walmsley
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
2.8 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Arrandale Hotel
The Arrandale Hotel
#13 of 17 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Dunure Road, Ayr KA7 4LB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, We started out a few years ago by buying a caravan at Craig Tara. To help finance the site fees & expenses we decided to rent out our caravan privately. We are not a normal singular Holiday Rental we are a HOTEL structured business selling each of our Holiday Homes as individual rooms ensuring, that you are given the best prices on site we are running as a partnership between the underdogs on site, but we are running together to be seen as our brand across the sites that we hope to provide to ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig Tara Hotel Ayr
Craig Tara Ayr
Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing