We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Burnside Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
238
13
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bpacked breakfastscrambled eggs and smoked salmonplace to stayparking permitan excellent hosttraditional scottish breakfastrestaurants and pubssingle roomlovely guesthousewarm welcomefirst classwonderful stayayr beachbreakfast was excellentvisiting ayrfull scottish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 253 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Liz the owner was so helpful and friendly, really couldn't do enough to help. The rooms were pristine and very comfortable. The beds were so comfortable would have taken it home with me if i could have. Breakfast was second to none. Fresh and locally resourced. If we are staying in the area again wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Lovely place to stay and Liz the owner was very freindly and made us feel very welcome. Good cooked breafast in the morning as well as cereals and some lovely fresh fruit salad. Just 2 mins from the beach and about 5 mins to some local shops and bars. Weather was not great so we intend to back again in the summer. All in all a great wee place to stay. Thanks Liz x

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

From the 23rd to the 25th October, I had the pleasure of staying at The Burnside Guest House. I honestly wished I had booked for a week or more, but due to travel arrangements already in place, I could not. Liz, is a warm, welcoming and very receptive host who takes great care in the well being of her guests. I had a single room which was well appointed and had an immaculately clean en-suite. Elegant décor with lots of period pieces that adds to the homely atmosphere of the place. Breakfast is pre-ordered the night before, which in my opinion, is a great idea so all guests are not kept waiting and it is easier on the host. It was served in a lovely room and guests can interact with one another. What a great way to meet people over a scrumptious breakfast. The produce was first class, coupled with homemade bread and jams. I have stayed at many B&B's throughout Britain over the years and can honestly say that The Burnside Guest House is up there on the top of my list. If people are looking for a quiet, relaxed, comfortable stay with a really great host, then this establishment offers that, and more. I have marked "excellent" to all the boxes for that is how my experience was. Thank you Liz for having me in your home and all that you did for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faraway_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed with Liz at the Burnside Guest House.We were very happy after our first (flying) visit.
This time around we stopped for 2 nights and so we were able to enjoy the quality of Liz's breakfast cooking twice. Once again we were not disappointed.
If you are a planning a trip to this part of Scotland then I cannot speak highly enough of the Burnside Guest House.
Do yourself a favour and leave space for the full Scottish Breakfast!
Simon & Fiona

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

we stopped at the burnside guesthouse with our family recently and couldn't ask for more, we were made to feel at home from the minute we arrived, the rooms were very nice clean comfy and spacious, liz is just lovely and when it comes to breakfast you just couldn't ask for more. cant wait to go back and great value for money

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews