We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite Place to eat”
Review of Brig O Doon Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brig O Doon Hotel
Ranked #17 of 54 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Place to eat”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Whenever we are back in the area we always make an effort to come here for either lunch or dinner. The food, staff, location, value, are all superb, just wish we had a Costley south of the border. The set 2 course menu is great value for money, plenty of choice and wonderful puddings.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taratupps2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    38
    23
    8
    13
See reviews for
70
83
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights in the gables cottage and had a fantastic time. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the accommodation was first class. Great food, reasonably priced and served by friendly staff. All of that and the location is stunning. We were at a wedding and by all accounts the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Will be back.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayDave300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We celebrated Gran's 80th birthday with a trip to the Brig O Doon for dinner, bed and breakfast. What a good choice! From the minute we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by friendly staff and a roaring fire. If anything the place was slightly too warm! The rooms are different from the current pictures on this review page - they now have darker colours, with curtains at each side of the bed giving a four poster effect. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious with large bathrooms, finished to a high standard and in keeping with the traditional ambience that you would expect from this historic area. The only teeny tiny thing I could find fault with was that there were only 2 hangers in the closet, a few more wouldn't go astray.

We had a fantastic meal with a wonderful circular table which was ideal for chatting across. I was very impressed with the wine, we ordered both red and white from Argentina and NZ respectivly and it was a perfect complement to our meal. The food menu was extensive with something to suit everyone, difficult to do when there are ten people. Presentation was perfect and portions generous. What really made it special though was the service. Throughout the night we met four different members of staff, all excellently trained and attentive as well as cheery and chatty.

This morning breakfast was served by another member of staff who was excellent and had us all laughing before our porridge. Again the breakfast menu caters for all tastes and the portions are hearty, with no shortage of tea/coffee and toast.

We enjoyed our stay so much we came back for tea and scones after a walk around the village and a visit to the craft fair at the Rabbie Burns Museum. I just loved the cream and jam option!

Thank you Brig O Doon for a wonderful treat!

Room Tip: Since we took up all five rooms, we got to see them all. In my opinion room 2 was the nicest with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marybeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Had a lovely overnight stay with dinner and breakfast ,every part of the experience was 5 star .The staff are wonderful too,cant wait to go back . For anyone visiting the West of Scotland it is a must to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a four poster bed -beautiful:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fangio11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Popped in here for lunch before visiting the Burns Centre. Wow.... great food, massive portions and excellent prices. The 2 course menu also looked great. I'll be back to try that. We ordered panini and club sandwich which would easily have fed 2 people.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed one night in a huge suite with the Burns Monument right across the street. The decor is traditional Scottish and the service efficient and friendly. We had drinks and an excellent dinner there. The breakfast next day was excellent (the best smoked salmon ever). My "Very Good" rating is due to lack of wi-fi in our room and the glaring floodlight outside (which the staff promised to check and rectify). I left a bracelet in my room and the staff contacted me and mailed it back to me in the US immediately - much appreciated.

Room Tip: Unless the floodlight problem has been fixed, ask for a room away from Room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasannie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here earlier in the year and as the hotel was full we opted for a cottage across the road from the venue.
We were absolutely disappointed with the accommodation and with the couldn't care less attitude of the staff on duty.
The bedcover was badly stained,the curtain in the cottage was hanging off the rail and there was an air of a general lack of attention to detail.
The bathroom was huge but the faux flowers dusty and when using the bathroom,it became apparent that the heating was inadequate for the size of the room.
Although there was a separate kitchen,there were very sparse provisions and certainly no extras like a biscuit. What you may expect of budget accommodation.
We had to ask on three occasions for extra pillows and given there was no telephone in the cottage this meant we had to go over to the hotel or use our mobile phone.Incredible in this day and age .
We had a deal which included dinner.The food was mediocre to say the least but when I settled my bill in the morning there was an additional fee added to the bill not because of any extras but because of our menu selection.
This was not mentioned on the menu itself but was in very small print on the confirmation letter.

When I did complain I was met with what can only be described as a very cavalier couldn't care less attitude.
We used to visit this establishment twice monthly for meals but standards have fallen drastically and we have never returned to this establishment or any other Costley establishment since this incident.I certainly would not buy into a company which did not hold customer service and satisfaction as an essential prerequisite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 90Marina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
2.9 mi away
Western House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
7.1 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brig O Doon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brig O Doon Hotel

Property: Brig O Doon Hotel
Address: Alloway, Ayr KA7 4PQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Brig O Doon Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing