We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverlea Guest House
Ranked #2 of 53 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

By far the most helpful and nice hotel manager who accommodated all our requests and makes the most amazing breakfast - especially great as we still got a full English breakfast despite being vegetarian. We were in a twin shared room but it was so lovely and spacious it hardly felt like it. Managing to combine very professional service with a lovely, friendly atmosphere I would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
There are newer reviews for Inverlea Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 608 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

The welcome, the ambience and décor, the cleanliness, the comfort and even the garden are all well above the standards expected in a B&B. I have booked my second stay for this month with Liz and Douglas and Max. It is number one in my top three places to stay in Scotland. Sheila

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaC914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

this is the second time we have stayed at the Inverlea, we visit Ayr on a regular basis to see our elderly Aunt and have stayed in various Guest houses in Ayr. We can honestly say that Liz keeps a beautiful guest house, cooks a lovely breakfast and makes you feel so welcome. We will definitely book again. Thanks Liz

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We recently visited Ayr for a family occasion and booked 3 rooms at the Inverlea Guest House. Liz, the owner, could not be more accommodating, from my first phone call to book the rooms, greeting us and showing us to our rooms when we arrived at midnight, we could not fault her hospitality for the duration of our stay. The rooms were lovely - clean, bright, large and comfortable rooms. Breakfasts were delicious with lots of choice for all tastes - even my fussy 10 year old son was impressed! The owners really understand the meaning of good customer service which is becoming a rarity in this day and age. This guest house can rival any hotel in terms of comfort and service, and I have no hesitation in recommending the Inverlea to anyone looking for a friendly, comfortable and convenient stay in Ayr.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

As you can see from our other reviews, we normally stay only in hotels (we have had some really bad experiences of B&B accomodation), but seeing the reviews for the Inverlea we chose to stay there for one night on our way to Dalry.
What a find!

I don't know whether Liz (the owner) would want me to say this, but the Inverlea is moving away from being a 'B&B', in our eyes it's now approaching small boutique hotel status.
Situated close by the Coastal Route, in a really quiet, upmarket area of Ayr, close to both the sea and the town centre, the Inverlea is an imposing detached house sitting in its own immaculate gardens and is easy to find once you negotiate Ayr's one way system.
On our arrival we were met in an immaculate hall/reception area, and shown up a huge imposing staircase to a very spacious, modern, tastefully decorated twin room which had a double and a single bed (both with comfy mattresses and immaculate cotton bedding) .
Everything we have come to expect from a high class hotel was included, coffee and tea making facilities, and an LCD t.v. (which had great channel selection). The equally spacious en suite bathroom had a bath and a really effective shower also.
Breakfast is served in the Inverlea's dedicated dining room, with a selection of cereals, yoghurts and fruit, followed by a breakfast tailored to your choice. I chose a full Scottish breakfast, and Lin had poached eggs on toast with bacon - both were perfectly prepared and were with us within three or four minutes of ordering them.
As for your other meals elsewhere, right next door to the Inverlea sits a large hotel/restaurant where you can have an lunch or an evening meal (you will definitely need to book at weekends - they couldn't find us a table for two hours they were so busy on the Saturday evening we tried), It also doesn't have a bar area, but that being said, you will only be a two minute drive or ten minute walk from Ayr town centre and it's many bars and restaurants.
We chose to drive away from the centre of Ayr and found the Balgarth Pines restaurant and bar about five minutes drive away (very happy, left a review of the evening elsewhere on TA). It was everything we needed.
As I mentioned at the start of the review, we only stayed there for one night, but the Inverlea is comfortable enough for a much longer stay, you can come and go much as you would in any hotel and that was perfect for us.
Would we stay with the Inverlea again? Without doubt - we visit this area of Scotland five or six times a year, and we will stay nowhere else from now on.
Would we recommend it to you?
Wholeheartedly.
The Inverlea is as good as it gets. in our experience B&B's this classy and this affordable are rare and hard to find.
Book to stay at the Inverlea with confidence, you won't be disappointed.
Honestly.

Hope this helped.

Room Tip: Book as soon as you know your travel dates and make sure of your room - word's getting around ho...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We just stayed at the Inverlea for a midweek break with our young son and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good friendly and spotless place to stay while in Ayr. Everyone is so friendly and nice. The room we had was spotless and really nicely decorated with a tv and free wi-fi connection. The breakfasts were great and Liz and Roseina (Sorry if i spelled the name wrong) went out of their way to make sure we were well catered for. The Inverlea is only 5 minutes walk from the main shopping center pubs and restaurants etc... and is situated in a nice quiet area. The bus for Heads of Ayr animal park (Recommended for a good family day out if you have kids) runs right past the Inverlea (The bus number 361) and the park is only a 10 minute journey away. We would like to thank all at Inverlea Guest House for making our stay a relaxed and pleasant one. We would definitely stay at the Inverlea again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmcneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This has to be one of the very best B&B's in the UK. Nothing could be faulted. The staff are welcoming and friendly, the rooms generous and spotless, the breakfast exactly as requested, and its great value for money. We have stayed there 3 times now and will go out of our way to stay there again. Perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
890 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beaches Guest House
0.5 mi away
Miller House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlea Guest House

Address: 42 Carrick Road, Ayr KA7 2RB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range: $71 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverlea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inverlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlea Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing