We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverlea Guest House
Ranked #2 of 53 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent value and lovely staff”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A really nice guest house. Simple but very comfortable and welcoming. The hosts are attentive and the table service from Max (aged 7) was exemplary.

Best cooked breakfast I've had for a long time - and I'm very picky about breakfast.... It was all beautifully presented and the black pudding was particularly delicious..! First class coffee as well, so 10/10 for that.

We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harpendenpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
163
207
42
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Gastor, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed one evening at the Inverlea Guest House and we had a wonderful stay. Liz was an amazing host and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. We would highly recommend the Inverlea Guest House and we hope to be back to stay again in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room and it was very spacious and extremely comfortable. We are quite sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aejae212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Liz came picked peter sandra up train station made feel very welcome our stay was 1st class room where so fresh clean bed was so comfomtable shower room was top class breakfast couldnt fault beautifull price was great we have booked again to go back again it was 4star liz douglas lovley couple to stay with

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Thank you so much liz i loved the hotel it was so clean and the breakfast was amazing and i really do wish i come again and u always had a lovly smnile on your face ill see you again some time i really did enjoy my stay xxx

Room Tip: choose the inverlea xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ria t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

In the summer of 2012 I and a team of friends undertook a John O'Groats to Lands End bike ride where we'd designated Ayr as a stopover for the 3rd night. There were 8 cyclists plus two support crew to accommodate and a significant amount of kit, not least the bikes, that comes with a trip like this.

With my Granny living up the road in Glasgow I'd also arranged for her to meet us there to say hello. Due to a few hold ups on that days ride when we arrived my Granny had been waiting for a couple of hours to meet us. The landlady was absolutely superb and had looked after her brilliantly with free tea and put up with her conversation until we arrived, for this I can't thank her enough.

When we did turn up and explode with kit into her delightful and well kept guest house not an eyelid was batted as she kindly arranged for us to have extra beds in the rooms, wash out kit from the day and secure the bikes safely in her garage.

Granted we were tired after a long day on the bikes but the sleep was fantastic on particularly comfy beds and the breakfast in the morning was perfect for the long day ahead with specially prepared porridge as well as some real Scottish fare.

To roll into and then out of a place in one night was a big ask for the guest house but they were wonderfully supportive of our endeavour.

Nothing was too much trouble.

The only downsides I could note is that there wasn't a facility to pay by card and the only areas to relax were the rooms as there wasn't a living room / bar area but this wouldn't put me off recommending this to any other travelling groups or individuals who want to be warmly embraced by a host who cares.

We will be back... hopefully not on bikes this time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nedra_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tayside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Found this little gem online so icould stay whilst visiting my son at University, from the moment i walked into this guest house i found myself having the same feeling i get when i have stayed in a 5 star hotel, the attention to detail was wonderful, great ambience, comfortable bed, lovely bedding, sweet smelling candles lit in the evening in the lobby area.I slept like a log and Woke up to a lovely Scottish breakfast . I wouldn't hesitate booking this Guest house again, Thank you again for your wonderful hospitality Liz.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishlady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Finding Inverlea Guest House was like finding a hidden gem with all the delight of discovery. Good food- great attention to detail- lovely warm welcome -spacious rooms -it really was a joy. We spent 3 days in Ayr just "chilling out" and coming back to the warm welcoming room made our stay in Ayr very pleasant indeed. My thanks to everyone at the Inverlea. We will certainly be back again in the summer

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77rosemary77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
877 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Beaches Guest House
0.5 mi away
Miller House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlea Guest House

Property: Inverlea Guest House
Address: 42 Carrick Road, Ayr KA7 2RB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverlea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inverlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlea Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing