We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no frill poor draughty room/ dirty cold shower/bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Craig Holm Guest House
Ranked #21 of 53 Ayr B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“no frill poor draughty room/ dirty cold shower/bathroom”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

location good and breakfast good thats all the good things i can say about this place the room was on the top floor and was very poorly decorated and the shared bathroom was very poor there was nothing enjoyable about this place

Room Tip: my tip would be to try another guest house room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzy018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Right next to the Sea with beautiful seaview rooms, all refurbished and clean, lovely vibe. Fantastic huge breakfast and very friendly and efficient staff.
We got an extra heater in since we hadnt booked before. It is within walking distance to the old town and to supermarkets. One gets a free parking permit from the B&B in front of the house for the entire stay.To Robert Burns Cottage it is only 10 min by car.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraAshleyVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I don't think you can get better on location when staying in Ayr. Just a few minutes from the center of the shops, restaurants and bars, and a wonderful beach on the doorstep.
The rooms were very nice too, we stayed in the Family Room as it had a sea view, this was lovely, the room was very modern.
Breakfast was very good too, with a good choice and nicely cooked hot breakfast.
The owner was very pleasent and welcoming.
The bed wasn't very soft, it was actually quite hard.

Overall it was a delightful stay of high standard.
Great for couples or families.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopReviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Creek, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

The room was clean, and I really liked the location here. Ayr is a beautiful town, and our room had a view to the ocean. Angela was really nice, and her homemade breakfasts were delicious.

There were some really tiny things that gave this place 3 stars for us- there was dirt in the corners of the bathrooms, and the maids made our beds with things in them- and being as we had three beds, there really was no reason for that. I found a book made into the covers of my bed, my fiance found his deodorant, a book, and our three year old found her umbrella made into the bed. It's not a huge issue, but it definitely speaks towards the competence of the cleaning staff if all of us found it. There aren't any top sheets on the beds, so you really have to not be looking to do all of that. The shower wasn't all too clean either, there was hair in the drain.

This hotel could've easily had 5 stars from us for location and service if the cleaning staff were a little bit more on par. There's nothing here that would prevent me from staying again, but they could definitely improve a bit.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kissum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2008

Great place to stay,very convenient for touring,you won't find better.
Near to beach,beautiful sunset,
Can't praise it enough,

Ian Scott

  • Liked — Very helpful and friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iscott1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brechin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We recentely stayed there and my biggest advice would be t bring your own downy because it is freezing! The place it is too cold. they don't have double glazing in the bedrooms or at least in the one we stayed at. They do not offer any baby cots and i was very surprised they don't even have at least one high chair so if you are travelling with children i would reconsider my stay there. The breakfast was good but the juice was fizzy which means was old and the next day the milk was sour and they never even change it after they were told to a new milk or anything. I do appreciate it really gets chaotic when you have so many people staying at the same time but an apology would have been enough. The manager was great a bit nervous her name is Angela. They shoud have more child friendly facilities. I would not go back there only because it is too cold and it is very close to the beach which makes it colder and besides the downies are not thick enough.
I think Ayr is a lovely city. I just wish i have a warmer bedroom for the sake of my children.
The room was clean and the manager was great. The owner should invest a little more money to make child friendly. There are so many cheap stuff in IKEA like high chairs and cots, but obviously they are not interested in people with children.
They don't have like a lounge where everybody could go and have a chat which would be good when big families go in a trip together.

  • Liked — location but there are many nearby
  • Disliked — the spoil milk and orange juice and the bedrooms where freezing cold and there were no highchairs and cots for the wee ones
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veromx75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Our room was very clean and well decorated as was the rest of the house. Angela, our hostess was very friendly and helpfull, we couldn't fault it and would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in a nice quite place with personal service. we hope to be back someday.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank HarleyBiker56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigHolmGuestHouse, Manager at Craig Holm Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2008
Thanks so much for the kind words, it was a pleasure to have you to stay and hope to see you again in the future, Kind Regards Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.1 mi away
The Arrandale Hotel
The Arrandale Hotel
#13 of 17 in Ayr
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beaches Guest House
0.3 mi away
Miller House Guest House
0.6 mi away
No 1 Ayr B&B
No 1 Ayr B&B
#25 of 53 in Ayr
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Holm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Holm Guest House

Property: Craig Holm Guest House
Address: 7 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig Holm Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craig Holm has been fully upgraded and modernized in Autumn 2006. This fine Victorian townhouse; furnished to superior levels, offers excellent and uninterrupted views of the Island of Arran and magnificent sea views of the Firth of Clyde. Set close to Ayr's coastal facilities and great beach walks, Craig Holm; like its sister guest house, Canter Holm, is located close to Ayr town centre, bus and rail terminals, and a mere 15 minutes drive to Prestwick International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Craig Holm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig Holm Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing