We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite there”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ellisland House Hotel
Ranked #18 of 52 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had an enjoyable 1 night stay at the Ellisland but felt that it needed a few improvements to bring it up to scratch. They really need to update their TVs. Most places have slimline flat screens with improved picture quality - bit out of date here. Leaving one packet of shortbread on the hospitality tray is penny pinching in a double room - come on 1 each please! Lovely big room and bathroom even though looking a bit tired here and there. Go for the food though - superb dinner and nice breakfast too. Oh and traffic noise will problem light sleepers - single glazing

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 200 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Booked suite for my wife and I at £140 b&b. Although spotlesly clean room really dated and with only a small double bed rather than king size, everything with the room was really basic and the wasnt a tv in the bedroom and lighting and mirror placment was terrible. Only one set of towels one biscuit no bath robes and the shower pressure was so bad that we struggled getting the soap out of our hair the bathroom had a lear glass window with no blind. Expected a much better standard from Costley

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phildurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have been going here for years. only missing when I arrived to find the place surrounded by fir engines! Very slick operation, friendly well trained staff, good menu, warm surroundings, and good company. What more can you ask from an evening out. Go there and you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamRose2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We held my Mum's 70th birthday lunch here. The staff were excellent at dealing with our last minute changes. The food great, the room great, staff great. My Mum, her friends and family had a great time. Excellent cost. Excellent all round. Well done to you all!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan1G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Recently held my fathers funeral tea here and from the very first enquiry, we were looked after perfectly. Sharon, the manager was so understanding and helpful during the organising so that the day itself, as difficult as it was for me and my family, was absolutely perfect.
The Ellisland was a favourite dining haunt for my parents, and having sampled the wonderful buffet that was provided for us I can see why.
Totally faultless.

Room Tip: My brother stayed overnight at the hotel and again could not fault the bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night!
Food always excellent, rooms clean but a bit seventies/eighties!
Crappy old tv's with cheap freeview boxes, curtains from a bygone era! You get the feeling that the rooms are an afterthought. Really not much better than a travel lodge but with great food! So £110 with breakfast is just a little steep for what you get!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodacademy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My friend and I stayed for the weekend 26th July,Everything was first class lovely big room food ex staff were very friendly providing five star service.We would return again.With grateful thanks.The gardens are beautiful well manicured and lovely hanging baskets 10 mins walking into town.

Room Tip: Room 2 is the biggest twin beds its on the corner with three windows huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jansun444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,166 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
26 The Crescent
26 The Crescent
#6 of 52 in Ayr
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellisland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellisland House Hotel

Address: 19 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellisland House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Ellisland House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing