We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ellisland House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 61 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

My first visit and certainly not my last. Cullen Skink was the best I've ever tasted, followed by Trio of Fish which was cooked to perfection. Mum's banana chicken was also amazing - I had to have a taste. Great surroundings, and staff were first class with their prompt and friendly service. I can't wait till my next visit.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiver_Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    37
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
67
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Cullen skink was fantastic, not a single bone in sight. Main courses well presented and delicious, liver though was a bit chewy in parts. Quick efficient service despite the very young staff.

Only criticism is that our table was right in flow of traffic from kitchen and right beside ordering till, so was a bit draughty with constant waiting staff rushing past and not in any way private or romantic.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Couldn't fault the food, enjoyable from 'starter to sweet'. Cullen Skink was the best I have ever tasted, the beef bourguignon mouth wateringly tender, the lemon cheesecake, with raspberry, brandy snap dishes and vanilla icecream deliciously luxurious.
The only critiscism, on arrival the entrance was a little chaotic, waiting for a table meant getting in the way of the ultra efficient waitress who wanted to access the first dinning area(3 in total) and paying on the way out caused a bottle neck.
Grand location, wonderful menu, terrific service, must for all, but not all at the same time, and book a table first to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: Book a table in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Can you guess that we loved staying here? Such a great hotel, incredibly friendly staff who were doing a great job looking after guests.
We had a suite under the eaves so there was a sofa bed for our 3 year old daughter and a massive bed for us in the other room.
Dinner was excellent, the wine list well thought out for the food and the service was quick and unobtrusive from a friendly cheerful waitress.
We want to go back, such good value, nice people

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahdavis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was our fith lunchtime visit to the Ellisland House and we have been impressed on every occasion.
We stopped off at the Ellisland House after a morning's shopping in Ayr. We were greeted as we walked into the Reception.The waitress took our coats at the door and we were shown into a very grand and spacious dining room with a blazing fire in the hearth.We went for the lunch menu which had a good range of hot cooked meals and very reasonably priced at between £7 and £10 per meal. We could have chosen from the full restaurant menu or even from a range of sandwiches and snacks.I chose the burger with camembert cheese. It was a home made beef burger cooked to perfection with lashing of cheese and a portion of hand cut home made chips. Both my companions chose chicken dishes and both enjoyed the food. The service was prompt, the waitresses friendly and the bill for three of us was only twenty six pounds including tea/coffee.

.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seenitdunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I recently had dinner with friends at the Ellisland House Hotel in Ayr and have to say it was the very best eating out experience i have had. From the moment we arrived the staff were very attentive and served us with a selection of dishes each and every one beautifully presented and delicious. I can thoroughly recommend and i hope to return very soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyrshireRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

everything was great except the bed on the first night found it a bit hard but turned the mattress 2nd night was much better went out for dinner and to check out local cinema hotel was within walking distance 15-20 mins 2nd day went sightseeing ended up at culzean castle well worth a visit spectacular as we dont live far away will return again in the future got back to hotel and had a lovely meal spoilt for choice couldnt manage the sweet . all staff including manageress were 101%

Room Tip: request on a suite room stunning rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
0.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
845 reviews
1.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
0.4 mi away
Carrick Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellisland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellisland House Hotel

Property: Ellisland House Hotel
Address: 19 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellisland House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Ellisland House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing