We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The wee gem of Ayr”

Langley Bank Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langley Bank Guest House
Ranked #32 of 54 Ayr B&B and Inns
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The wee gem of Ayr”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend in Ayr and enjoyed a relaxing time in the Langley bank guest house. If your looking for a square box room like any other chain hotel then don't come here. However if you wish to stay in a beautiful old house, fantasticaly decorated with high ceilings and hosts that take the time to make sure everything is ok for you then this is the place to come. To make sure you are ready for a days sightseeing the breakfast is big enough to satisfy any appetite and delicious to boot. We could not have enjoyed our stay more so if your going to ayr try this place you will not be disapointed.

Room Tip: Joking about the swimming pool there is not one - however it did rain a lot the weekend we where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Roper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    6
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
19
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ormiston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Booked here after being let down by another establishment in Ayr and am now glad they did. We arrived in the evening and were welcomed by Bob who instantly made us feel welcome and arranged a table at a nearby hotel with a 10% discount on your bill. We stayed in room 1. It is a large room with a huge en suite spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast comprises of a excellent selection of cereals, juices and fresh fruit which would put many of the supposedly top hotels to shame. The full Scottish breakfast is to die for beautifully cooked to order. Full the breakfast was and so was I. What a start to the day.
Thank you Bob & Morna for looking after us. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a night on a business trip and found this place to be one of the nicest hotels I have visited. The manager (Bob) gave a warm welcome on arrival. Was recommended a great place to eat in the evening, which was perfect (ask Bob and he will arrange 10% discount). The room was fantastic, had a ground floor room which was really clean and lovely. Breakfast in the morning was wow! Perfect for setting you up for the day, really enjoyed the potato scone they made me. I would definitely book this place again! Thanks for a lovely stay. Vimel

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vimel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungloe, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here one night in May when we were touring Scotland on our motorbike. I have to say it is a beautiful guest house with very comfy beds which you really need after a long bike ride. The owners were lovely and the breakfast was delicious. Would I recommend this guest house to any weary travellers, absolutely!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We arrived very late following our flight into Glasgow, and were met by our wonderful cheerful host. The room was lovely, quiet and very clean and confortable and the ensuite bathroom was excellent. Breakfast was fantastic, and while we did not partake in the full english breakfast, our scrambled eggs were perfect. Our host also recommended dinner at Carrick hotel, just across the road, and it was one of the best meals we have had in the Uk. We would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim-Boz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Very nice place, superbly maintained and decorated in keeping with the fine style of the building. Accommodating and welcoming hosts, who provided an excellent breakfast. The fresh fruit mixture was exceptional. Had a good night's sleep on an extra-firm mattress. The location is ultra-convenient with the town centre a short walk along the road, but far enough away not to be noisy. I think the bathroom was newly fitted-out, and as everywhere else was immaculately decorated. The lack of a full flush on the wc meant two flushes necessary for solids, with long filling time between, but sure this was merely a teething problem.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwylasbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed here one night with husband and an 11mth old infant.
The BB is family run and the owners couldn't do enough for us.
Rooms spotless and we liked the decor.
Breakfast was just lovely with plenty to eat and to choose from.
Town centre is a 5min walk away.
The owners were very accommodating. For example, I had initially booked the wrong night and had to call to ask for a change which was done no problem.




  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
0.4 mi away
Coila Guest House
Coila Guest House
#5 of 54 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Craggallan Guest House
0.3 mi away
26 The Crescent
26 The Crescent
#6 of 54 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langley Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Bank Guest House

Property: Langley Bank Guest House
Address: 39 Carrick Road, Ayr KA7 2RD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Hotel Class:4 star — Langley Bank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Langley Bank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langley Bank Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing