We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Rooms and Food - Courtyard rooms basically Travellodge with Room Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Western House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Just back from this hotel. The hotel itself is stunning if not a wee bit stuffy. It could with a bit more contemporary decor but this is my opinion and not a criticism of the room itself. The service was excellent and the food in the restaurant was outstanding.

For me, where the experience fell down was that we stayed in a courtyard room which was basic to say the least. Decor was clinical. The rooms were very clean and functional. TV did not have all channels in the hotel guide. Visitors guide was in a ring binder where everything fell out when I opened it up! Breakfast was delivered to the room which was very nice but would have been nice to have a choice of ketchup or brown sauce and perhaps some salt in the salt pot! Or am I just being picky?

I got a great deal from laterooms.com - paying less than 50% for DB+B. Had I paid the full rate, I would have been very disappointed.

So, in terms of recommending someone to this hotel, it would be a thumbs up, but I would make them aware of the courtyard rooms and what they would get for their money.

Bottom line - very good, friendly, clean hotel. Food and Service Excellent but perhaps a wee bit pricey if you're stuck in a basic Courtyard room.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueian1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 843 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2009

Given the write up, and all the awards that this hotel has received, our expectation was very high. The room was clean, and the bathroom was modern. There were some luxury items such as toiletries, slippers and tea/coffee facilities. However, the room we had was in the courtyard - not in the building pictured on the website, and the location is not great - next to a busy road with the view of a brick wall from one window. On arrival we only had one teabag, and no bathrobes, and although we called reception to request these items, they never appeared. On the plus side, breakfast was excellent, with fresh fruit, pastries, and a variety of cooked items. We paid £49 for the room which was reduced from £120. We would go back to this hotel but wouldn't pay £120 for a night.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjmac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Western House over the Bank Holiday weekend at the end of August 2009 to attend a wedding in the hotel on the Sunday. The cost was £125 per room per night including breakfast.

The hotel is in a very attractive location in the grounds of Ayr Race Course and the main house is stunning. It’s only a five-minute taxi ride from Ayr train station which cost us about £3.50.

Our bedroom was in the ‘courtyard’ and was to a very high standard. Everything was very clean and tidy and the bathroom was well kitted out with lots of luxury toiletries. There were complimentary slippers, as well as a new flat screen TV, mini bar and electronic safe. The bed was big and comfortable and we slept very well. Even though we were the closest room to the main road we couldn’t hear any noise from traffic. Some of our friends also stayed and their rooms were equally as good.

The breakfast spread was fine and the cooked breakfast was tasty. It was definitely better on the Monday morning, but maybe the chef was under pressure on the Sunday. The breakfast room also doubled up as the award-winning Jockey Club Restaurant in the evening. When we ate there on the Saturday night before heading out it was full of locals which was a good start. Our food was excellent and I thought that the price we paid was most reasonable. The waitresses were very friendly and efficient.

The main house has the bar, restaurant and function room. We found that the lobby area / lounge bar is a really comfortable place to sit in at any time of day and there was always a buzz when we were there. But beware, when there’s a wedding on it’s very likely that the guests will dominate!

The wedding we attended was brilliant. The function was in the Cathedral Ballroom which was stunning, with beautiful views over the rear of the house and beyond to the race course. It was clear that the staff were very experienced and combined with how much effort the bride and groom had put into organising their big day everything went like clockwork and was great fun.

Because we were there for a wedding we didn’t go into Ayr but I know the area well and would definitely recommend the Western House as a base if you are exploring Ayrshire or the Greater Glasgow area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luckystrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Travelling for a long weekend to visit family, we decided to book this hotel based on the previous reviews. We paid extra on our first night upon arrival to be upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite which was beautiful, however as it was only available for the one night we had to move the next day. We were incredibly disappointed to be advised that we would be moving out of the Main Hotel Building and into the 2 buildings at the back of the lovely main house. As a warning to other bookers I would strongly advise that unless you can be 100% assured you will get a room in the Main House DO NOT book this hotel. Our room was in the first of the two block buildings next to the Main Hotel on the first floor. Our room overlooked a huge car park, no lift and was incredibly basic despite being rated as a 4*. These two 'add on' hotel buildings remind me of some of the Super 8 style motels you see lining motorways in the USA. Our room was noisy with construction work on the main road and the gardener for the grounds mowing the lawn next to our room at 8.45am in the morning. No view of the racecourse, in fact it seemed as though we were in a completely different hotel all together. Tiny bathroom, two twin beds pushed together to make up our double bed. Please also check if there is a wedding on in the hotel when you book as on our second day we were advised that breakfast would finish at 9.30am (on a bank holiday Monday!) to accommodate the fact that the entire wedding party had booked out a private breakfast room from 9:30am onwards. When I asked for the omlette off the breakfast menu, I was told 5 mins later that the Chef could not make me an omlette as she/he was too busy with preparation for the Wedding guests breakfast. We then waited more than 45 mins for our breakfast only to have it arrive as we were walking out of the restaurant. Poor service and poorly planned breakfast experience. Not an enjoyable stay, certainly not 4* and we will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aussie-in-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

stayed at the western on 22nd may 2009 for colin & katie,s wedding.Everything about the reception was superbly handled,and the bonus was sitting outside in the lovely grounds sipping our pre-dinner champagne.The wedding meal was excellent and the waiting staff super.Every course was served on time and glasses were being constantly topped up.Special mention for the charming young man who checked us in-an asset to the hotel.
Our accomodation was faultless from the ultra modern well equipped bathroom to the beautifully furnished bedroom.Breakfast was served by a cheerful and friendly staff.
The Western is definitely a hotel to which we will return.
Patrick and Margaret Smyth

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patchGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Visited for a weekend with my partner, got a great deal on Laterooms, didnt include meals but the room was fantastic.

Supplied with all the little extras, toiletries, teas (many flavours), DVD player & TV. A little extra was a turndown at night with ot Chocolate & Shortbread left on the pillow was lovely.

The staff were very busy with weddings but nothing was too much trouble for them. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

This is a lovely place to stay. The Courtyard rooms were a great surprise. With comfortable beds, a friendly turndown (complete with mini Scottish shortbread) and a very pleasant meal in the restaurant I was set up for an evening of work on the internet on a very comfortable desk with internet cable.
There wasn't breakfast with my rate, but that suited me fine.
Next time I must try and get a room in the Lodge!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
916 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,137 reviews
1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
735 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
4.8 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Address: Western House 66 Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $62 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning 4 Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms. The AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing