We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Western House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at the hotel for a couple of nights and had a wonderful time. From the moment we arrived we were treated with such friendliness and courtesy. I cannot find fault with anything! The staff are so nice and friendly and cannot do enough for you, our room was very spacious and beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. A great choice is offered at breakfast, continental and scottish is offered and mouthwatering food at dinner.

I cannot praise this hotel highly enough and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daytripper9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 810 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2008

Myself and fiance stayed overnight at the western house hotel to attend a close friends wedding.
The wedding itself was breathtaking and well the help of staff went flawlessly.

The room was beautiful clean and spacious with a beautiful ensuite and nice touches such as hot chocolate etc. The wedding meal was beautiful however we did not have breakfast at the hotel but that would have probably have been nice too.

The only downside for me was that the heating seemed to switch itself on in the early hours which made me wake up in a sweltering heat. Also myaelf and fiance misjudged check out time and was an hour late. The staff phoned us to our room and told us very politely about the problem and did not charge us as it states in the small print. Excellent customer service all round!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tristar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Enjoyed a 3-day break here. Room very modern and comfortable, very warm and welcoming and clean. Lovely touches such as the toiletries and hot chocolate and homemade shortbread in the evenings. Breakfast was fantastic, wonderful selection of fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice and huge cooked breakfast. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnoopyPortrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

Just spent three days here - very good value. Helpful staff throughout.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nah3559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Just returned from a 2 day break at the Western House Hotel, Ayr.
We stayed in one of the Courtyard rooms which was lovely, very spacious and comfortable.
The food served in the lounge area was very good. Service excellent.
The breakfast was very good also, a great choice.
Will definately return again sometime and would definately recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAF63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

The hotel doesn't look that fabulous from the outside as it sits on the corner of a couple of busy roads surrounded by the race course, stables and a car park. However, as soon as you walk into the hotel, all this is forgotten. The decor is beautiful and staff are polite and efficient (whilst still making you feel at ease). We had a courtyard room - slightly odd arrangement with high windows and completely overlooked but very comfortable, well equipped and clean. Food was excellent - the Lounge menu particularly represents amazing value for money and there was a great selection for breakfast. We were here for a wedding so had preferential room rates - I'm not sure that the hotel is so amazing that I would have been willing to pay the full rates they advertise, though this is more to do with the location than the hotel itself. It's a shame it doesn't have more outdoor space. That aside, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank |Bodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

I had to write a review to let you know what a fabulous wedding day we had at the Western House hotel, Ayr. Not only is it a beautiful venue, grounds, rooms etc but the food excellent and the staff incredible!
It is the biggest most expensive day of our lives but here at the western house it was worth every penny - we would do it all again and here!
Jane is incredible - our day flowed so well and without her it would still have been good but not fabulous! Jean has you organised to a tee and all the staff are fresh, smart and exactly what you want on the biggest party of your lives - no agency staff in their school shirts here.
So if you are considering having your wedding here then don't take too long its booked out for a while and if your attending a wedding your in for a treat! Its no wonder it won wedding venue of the year!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r19sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
895 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
711 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Address: Western House 66 Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $70 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning 4 Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms. The AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing