We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveler rating
593
186
51
22
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
186
51
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard roommain buildingjockey clubayr racecourserace coursewedding guestswedding meallovely hotelfirst classwedding receptionhot chocolateevery member of stafflittle extrashuge bedchecking outwould highly recommend this hotelattending a wedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
505 - 510 of 867 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel is wonderful, lovely garden views, great staff who work well together to create a very relaxed atmosphere.

All the rooms are modern and decorated to a very high standard. Would definitely recommend the Jockey Club restaurant. The evening dining was a gastronomical delight. Food was well presented, and cooked to perfection. Breakfast is also outstanding. Hazel our waitress was lovely and couldn't do enough.

Marina the Housekeeping manager was very friendly, informative about the hotel and made us feel special. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review and highlighting some members of our team here at Western House Hotel . I have passed on your comments and hope you return to us in the near future.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Can see why this hotel has won the title for top wedding receptions. Attended a wedding here in May the staff were very welcoming, the venue was top class, The meal was first class also. Accomodation at the courtyard not as nice as hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the hotel much superior
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and your kind words regarding the wedding the staff and service.

I am sorry you did not find the Courtyard rooms as nice as the main house rooms , it is a very difficult balance regarding the rooms as the courtyard rooms are four star gold standard rooms and the Main House rooms are 5 star rooms and priced accordingly.

I hope we have the pleasure of you returning and hopefully staying in the main house where I am sure we will meet all your expectations.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here for a night to break up a long journey. The room and bathroom where exceptionally clean and well equipped. The beds where comfortable and the welcome short bread was delicious. The full Scottish breakfast the next morning was very filling and very tasty. We also had dinner in the restaurant and a few drinks in the bar. The staff are attentive and helpful, the dinner was fantastic and very reasonable considering the quality. You'll pay a lot more for lesser quality elsewhere. The sat nav had a bit of bother finding the place, but that's hardly the hotels fault. Follow signs for the race course and you can't miss it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baronation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your very kind review and we are glad you decided to break up your journey with us.
We try very hard to ensure we have the very highest of cleaning standards and our team here are glad you found this to be the case.

Sorry about the Sat Nav and we are trying to resolve this issue as it is be very annoying for all concerned

I hope you come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

we stayed here for one night on a dinner bed and breakfast bases. the room was large with a queen bed, which was very comfortable, the bathroom was also a good size immaculate with the option of a bath or shower.
dinner in the hotel was great no restrictions or supplements were applied. Glutton free diet was catered for
the service was excellent.
breakfast was also extremely good and fresh. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we were in the courtroom 323 it had a lovely view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esther913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Western House Hotel .

We hope we have the pleasure of your return visit soon.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Couldn't agree more with all the previous positive reviews of this fabulous hotel especially regarding the super staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them for example bringing softer pillows or to filling the ice bucket. I can honestly say I have never been treated as well as we were on our 2 night break. Loved the comfortable stylish lounge especially the fireplace! On a very wet Saturday evening this was most welcoming! Dinner and breakfast were great value and beautifully presented. We look forward to returning, next time we will upgrade to the plush executive rooms although the courtyard room we had no326 was spacious and had everything you could need. Very well done to the team at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: no 326 end room with stairwell so no neighbours or executive room
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kin review of Western House Hotel and the staff that work here. We take a great pride in the hotel and i am glad you felt this coming through from all our staff.
I hope you come and stay with us again and that the rain stays away for your next visit.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews