We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Western House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Western House Hotel over a weekend in September whilst attending a wedding elsewhere in Ayr.

On arrival, the main building of the hotel was stunning from the exterior, and the gardens were immaculate, however, we were directed over to our room in a separate building opposite the main hotel which were terribly dated and run down looking from the outside (courtyard rooms they call them). The view from our room window was an iron fence, topped with barbed wire, which was absolutely dismal, so we had to keep the curtains closed for the entire stay which was less than ideal. Overall the facilities in the room itself were okay, with a hospitality tray and a small bowl of sweets which was a nice touch. Additionally they left out hot chocolate sachets and some biscuits which were a welcome treat.

The staff that we interacted with were great, very pleasant and helpful. Considering the hotel was busy all weekend with weddings, this appeared not to impact on level of service.

It is fairly close to the Ayr town centre, and is right beside the race course. I would probably use this hotel again if I was visiting the area, but would make sure to pay that bit extra and go for a room in the main building.

Room Tip: Opt for a room in the main building, rather than the courtyard, if your budget allows it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JACQUELINE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time write your review. I am sorry you found our 4 star courtyard rooms to be less than what you anticipated but you found the room itself to be of a suitable standard but the view less so.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and service and I hope that you do come and stay with us again.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 827 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Western House was the perfect venue for a Wedding with great staff, lovely rooms and beautiful grounds. We held our full wedding here starting from the Thursday night when myself, the bridesmaids and my mum booked rooms (2 in the courtyard and one in the main house) and enjoyed a relaxing pre-wedding night. From our arrival, the staff were very friendly and were happy to help no matter what we needed. Our bags were taken to the rooms along with the dresses and wedding items by a very friendly member of staff, then we enjoyed a lovely room service dinner at night. On the morning of the wedding, we all got ready in one of the Main House rooms (5 women and 2 young girls and there was ample space) and had room service breakfast where there was a large selection to choose from, all of which was lovely. Throughout the day, the wedding coordinator (Laura) and the other staff were amazing, ensuring that everything ran according to plan and if anyone needed anything then they were happy to help (even when we needed milk at 5am for coffee). The wedding meal and buffet were enjoyed by all guests and received many compliments throughout the day/night.
There is not one thing I could fault or say needs improved, we had the most amazing day and we thank all the staff for there help!

Room Tip: All the courtyard rooms at Western House are well decorated with large comfortable beds, modern bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Gill

Thank you for such a comprehensive and glowing reflection on your wedding experience here at Western House Hotel, we appreciate the time and trouble you have gone to write this review. It is our staff that make the difference here at Western House Hotel where we believe friendliness and quality of service is paramount and I am glad to read this has been achieved in every department that you came into contact with.
I do hope we have the pleasure of you returning in the near future even if just to pop in for coffee or lunch.

Thank you again

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Ayr racecourse / Western House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We've just returned home from having our wedding at the western house and cannot praise all the staff at the hotel enough, beautiful venue, superb service and outstanding day. From the initial booking to checking out yesterday it's been a pleasure to deal with everyone, Jean, Laura and Kieran do an outstanding job and our day was so special, would recommend it to anyone considering having their wedding there, massive thank you to everyone at the Hotel, we will def be returning to celebrate our first anniversary if not sooner,
Nicola & Michael Collins x

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75Nic75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Nicola and Michael.

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your wedding here at Western House Hotel. I have passed your comments onto the staff , Jean and Laura.
I am glad you found all to be perfect for your day as this is indeed the standard that our team set themselves to ensure all weddings are perfect. We pride ourselves in the standards we set and we are very grateful you have taken the time and trouble to submit this review.
I do hope we have the pleasure of you returning in the near future to Western House Hotel.

Kind regards


Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Ayr Racecourse / Western House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were here mid September for a wedding reception, everything was fabulous. The service during the meal, waiters etc were on hand all the time, constantly filling up the water jugs (never needing to be asked). The food was exceptional, beautifully presented and very tasty. This is a beautiful place for a wedding reception and is enhanced by the sunshine. Not a lot of noise either.

We staying in one of the Courtyard rooms, which was very comfortable, slippers and dressing gowns included in the room, along with shortbread, hot chocolate before bedtime. Lovely bathroom smellies and added extras which you may just forget, cotton buds, nail file etc. The room had everything you could ever need, especially the lovely little fruity/minty sweets. The only disappointment is the guest(s) who had been in the room before must have had a sneaky cigarette out of the window as the ash was in the window ledge (it blew in when the window was opened) and there was a slight smoky smell in the room, but nothing to dampen our view of this place. Well worth a stay over.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IM2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us and that you found our facilities, standards of service and quality of food to be excellent. It is very pleasing to read you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming which is our key objective here at Western House Hotel.
I am sorry you found that the previous guest had been smoking in the room prior to your stay this unfortunately is out with our control but we do try to ensure this does not happen I am glad this did not spoil your stay with us.
I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us in the future.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Ayr racecourse / Western House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

What a nice friendly hotel set in nice grounds only 10mins walk from Ayr town centre next to the race course. Hotel room was fully equipped with everything from hot water bottle to trouser press large king size beds and large bedrooms furnished to very high standard. Had dinner both nights in hotel included in the price of the break. The three course dinner was selected from the first class a la carte menu (no restrictions or supplements) service and presentation of food was very professional and would recommend a visit for the food alone overseen by a very competent head waiter. Would certainly stay here again on a return visit to Ayr.

Room Tip: Would not worry about the choice of room as they are all to the same standard we stayed in the court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewart e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a positive response, I am glad you found not only the bedrooms to be first class but you found our two AA rosette restaurant and service to be the same.

I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish

General Manager.
Western House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had an amazing stay here. Staff were so on the ball and very accommodating. Our room was very spacious, clean, warm and didn't want to leave :( We had an amazing meal in the restaurant, once we found it! Will definitely be back for longer next time, slippers and dressing gowns a lovely touch! So many little touches in the room to make it extra special. Thank you!! :) :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane_copeland71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay I am glad you found that we made the Birthday celebrations extra special.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to let us know this
I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Ayr Racecourse / Western House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I were in Ayr for a wedding and stayed in this clean and comfortable hotel for a couple of nights. Staff were welcoming , warm and very helpful. Breakfast and dinner were delicious. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have lifts to their respective floor so if you have a few bags or are not good wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us and I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again in the near future.

Kind regards


Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Western House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
904 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,122 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
716 reviews
1.0 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Address: Western House 66 Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range: $69 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning 4 Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms. The AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing