We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Two Day Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Western House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
falkirk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Short Two Day Break”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

What a nice friendly hotel set in nice grounds only 10mins walk from Ayr town centre next to the race course. Hotel room was fully equipped with everything from hot water bottle to trouser press large king size beds and large bedrooms furnished to very high standard. Had dinner both nights in hotel included in the price of the break. The three course dinner was selected from the first class a la carte menu (no restrictions or supplements) service and presentation of food was very professional and would recommend a visit for the food alone overseen by a very competent head waiter. Would certainly stay here again on a return visit to Ayr.

Room Tip: Would not worry about the choice of room as they are all to the same standard we stayed in the court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewart e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a positive response, I am glad you found not only the bedrooms to be first class but you found our two AA rosette restaurant and service to be the same.

I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish

General Manager.
Western House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    168
    49
    22
    14
See reviews for
153
360
8
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had an amazing stay here. Staff were so on the ball and very accommodating. Our room was very spacious, clean, warm and didn't want to leave :( We had an amazing meal in the restaurant, once we found it! Will definitely be back for longer next time, slippers and dressing gowns a lovely touch! So many little touches in the room to make it extra special. Thank you!! :) :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane_copeland71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay I am glad you found that we made the Birthday celebrations extra special.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to let us know this
I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Ayr Racecourse / Western House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I were in Ayr for a wedding and stayed in this clean and comfortable hotel for a couple of nights. Staff were welcoming , warm and very helpful. Breakfast and dinner were delicious. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have lifts to their respective floor so if you have a few bags or are not good wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us and I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again in the near future.

Kind regards


Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Western House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here early this year room was very warm and comfortable, would definitely book again prices were very reason able, I have paid more for a travellodge .well worth visiting and ideal if travelling to airport or just going to a show.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you or your kind comments regarding your stay here with us, I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again in the near future.

Kind regards


Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Western House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
187 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Our visit to Ayr was wonderful, due in a large part to the Western House Hotel and staff. We had dinner and breakfast in their dining room and enjoyed it as well. My rack of lamb was excellent. An enjoyable experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VancouverIslanders41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay here at Western House Hotel .
I am glad you found our staff to be warm and friendly and the food to the highest of standards. I hope we have the pleasure of you staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards


Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Ayr Racecourse / Western House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skye
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Stay here often on business, as I said to the managers, this is on of the best hotels in Scotland that I stay in. Food great, nice menu, great breakfast, well served, nice staff all doing a great job. Well recommend this hotel.

Never a flaw

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SkyeBluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your continued stay with us here at Western House Hotel. I am glad that you find our service to be consistent every time you stay with us and we look forward to you staying with us again.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Ayr Racecourse / Western House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We attended wedding here last week and the hotel was amazing, knew as soon as served coffee in lounge on arrival that was going to be good as several little touches when youbjust know they go the extra and as day went on just got better and better, we stayed over and the rooms were brilliant, lots of little extra touches, staff very friendly and food excellent. Wedding ceremony outside and beautiful day in very well kept gardens would certainly love to go back for a weekend

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is always appreciated that you have taken the time and trouble to write about your experience here at Western House Hotel. I hope we have the pleasure in you returning to the hotel.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Western House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayr
1.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Property: Western House Hotel
Address: Western House 66 Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning 4 Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms. The AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing