We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Western House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in both the main hotel and the courtyard rooms they are both flawless but for that special occasion I would recommend the main hotel it only consists of 12 rooms so ideal for the wow factor staff are a pleasure to deal with and service is perfect hence I have stayed here a few times

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertmcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, General Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your return

Thank you again.

Kind regards

Malcolm Balish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    169
    49
    22
    14
See reviews for
156
362
9
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Recently stayed in this hotel for 2 nights was in a courtyard room. After reading the reviews i was concerned that the rooms were going to be small but this is not the case at all. The room was a perfect size huge bed and lovely bathroom. Plenty of storage space as there is mirrored wardrobes and also a cabinet and dressing table. The hotel was immaculate could not fault it in any way. We ordered room service one night and the food was lovely. The staff were very friendly especially the girl at the reception (unfortunately don't know her name). All in all a wonderful stay i would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the great review. I am pleased that your appreciated the size of the rooms in the Courtyard. We like to treat everyone as if they are our friends and look after our guests the way we would liked to be looked after.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Gary White
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Managed to get this hotel at a really silly rate so was wondering what sort of room I would end up with.
The hotel itself is set adjoining the racecourse and in fact if I had been any closer I would have been on the final furlong. I understand from the staff that the racecourse own the hotel which would explain a lot!
I was staying in the courtyard rooms...a huge clean room with everything you would need. Tea, coffee, digital tv, bathrobes, slippers, trouser press and so on. Homemade Biscuits were a delight.
The ensuite had a powerful shower, toiletries and again all essential were there.
A very large and comfy bed with a selection of pillows ensure a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was a combination of hot and cold with waitress service for the hot stuff. All nicely presented with a smile to boot.
You should not be scared of previous reviews when staying in the courtyard, they are not even 15mtrs away from the main house and are as reviewed above.
My one disappointment was not eating in the hotel restaurant in the evening, it would have been nice to try.
Overall a gem of a hotel in Ayr and one that will now be busy up until September with weddings and races. I hope that they can squeeze me in though when I need to return and return I will.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Spongegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the wonderful review. I don't know how they do it, but the breakfast team are always chirpy and have great smiles in the morning. We appreciate that all the wee things in life make a huge difference and so we like to put homemade biscuits and shortbread into the rooms for our guests to enjoy along with other various services on request like your pillows.

I am sure we will find space for you between now and September. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards

Gary White
Operations Manager
Ayr Racecourse & Western House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have family in Ayr and stay at this hotel every time we visit and it never fails to be an excellent stay.
The breakfasts are delicious and offer something for everyone.
The rooms are big enough to accommodate z beds for our 2 children and leave plenty of room for it not to feel like a squeeze.
The room we were given in the main house once was huge and overlooked the racecourse - was brilliant.

Every time we have stayed at the hotel, there has been a wedding on and that would usually put you off booking but we have never ever been disturbed with noise or people walking through corridors.

Staff are really friendly and great with the kids. They even got an easter egg each this time!

We will certainly be back when we next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kphilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased to see that we are consistent, and provide you with great surroundings and friendly staff.

Well look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Gary White
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel having attended a wedding in the hotel. We had a great stay with everything you could need for your stay. The hotel is immaculate and the staff attentive.

We stayed in the main hotel and therefore I cannot comment on the courtyard rooms however I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a touch of luxury.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voniwoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words. It's great to hear that our guys looked after you and that you enjoyed your stay.

We will hopefully see you in the future.

Kind regards,

Gary White
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently stayed at this Hotel and it was a wonderful experience. From the moment we stepped in to the hotel to the moment we left, the service was first class. Our room, which was in the main part of the hotel so I can't vouch for the hotels in the courtyard annexe, was so luxurious and catered for our every need and more. It really was so comfortable and inviting. The bar area was very pleasant, prices were reasonable, and there was a nice log/coal fire to sit in front of there.
The Dining Room, although fairly small and intimate, was lovely and the food was up there with the best I've ever tasted. The evening dinner was really something special and there was even an extensive breakfast menu.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing or needing to stay in Ayr.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soopytwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. There is nothing nicer than sitting down in front of the fire with a night cap. I will pass on your comments regarding the service and food to all of our staff.

Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Gary White
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, the rooms were lovely everything you need and more is there. The staff are lovely in all areas of the hotel. We decided to eat in house and were not disappointed the prices were very good and standard of food was excellent. Some others hotels should be sending their staff here to see how it should be done and take a leaf out of their book. Thank you Western House for a great stay. Will be back soon.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell they do not appear to have any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternHouse014, Manager at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for noticing how much customer service and good quality matters to us. I will pass you kind words onto the staff, and we hope to see you again shortly.

Kind regards
Gary White
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
856 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
664 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#8 of 17 in Ayr
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Property: Western House Hotel
Address: Western House 66 Craigie Road, Ayr KA8 0HA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ayr
#4 Family Hotel in Ayr
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Western House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning 4 Star hotel located in Ayrshire, 5 minutes drive from Prestwick International Airport and with easy links by rail and road to Glasgow and Edinburgh city centre. The hotel, set in mature landscaped gardens, offers executive bedrooms and suites in the main house, and well appointed modern courtyard rooms. The AA rosette Jockey Club Restaurant offers an excellent dining experience using a high quality local produce prepared by our executive head chef.The hotel is an excellent venue for Meetings & Events and is the ideal base for both business and leisure guests. With free on site parking for over 250 cars and complimentary wifi.Western House is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas with many shops and golf courses nearby. Burns Country, Culzean Castle, and the Isle of Arran are within easy travelling distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Ayr
Western House Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing